wazua Mon, May 20, 2024

6 Pages<1234>»
Of poor and lazy Agikuyu's kitchen skills
#21 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 9:56:58 AM

I like Mukimo from a certain restaurant hapo Dagorretti corner, the one mealI cannot understand why normal people eat is stones aka Githeri

Now that of restaurants' one is never mukimo. The green you see is color, real mukimo will be some traditional leaves called nyeni. Then its boiled.
wilyum
#22 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:23:45 AM

I like Mukimo from a certain restaurant hapo Dagorretti corner, the one mealI cannot understand why normal people eat is stones aka Githeri

Now that of restaurants' one is never mukimo. The green you see is color, real mukimo will be some traditional leaves called nyeni. Then its boiled.

talking of nyeni,reminds me when i once took my cousin who had just reported to the city to a restaurant and he ordeded, "ngima na nyeni", you should have seen the waiters look.d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Dangi
#23 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:31:41 AM

Ok...thanks for thisLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ,Its officially friday.

wilyum wrote:

talking of nyeni,reminds me when i once took my cousin who had just reported to the city to a restaurant and he ordeded, "ngima na nyeni", you should have seen the waiters look.d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Take care of the penny & the shilling will take care of itself
#24 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:35:05 AM

you still here? let me order some serious mukimo for lunch.
#25 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:35:18 AM

wilyum wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Yet in shags that is a straight forward order. Lol.
#26 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:36:04 AM

kollabo wrote:
I don't understand why Kikuyu's have to put carrots in everything.

In fish..add carrots & potatoes, in chicken...add carrots & potatoes. Carrots is like their traditional magic ingredient.

Carrots not only provide the essential vitamins but also add 'colour'/garnish the food making it visually appealing.

Muriel
#27 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:39:42 AM

Mimi sijaongea wala kunong'oneza chochote.
#28 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:44:38 AM

Dangi wrote:
Ok...thanks for thisLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ,Its officially friday.

wilyum wrote:

Don't joke with lack of exposure or masomo.
Mine opened a tea bag and poured the content in the Tea solution then went ahead to ask the waiters for a sieve. The akili ndogo in me advised me to walk out in shame and come back after the sieving exercise is over.
#29 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:50:29 AM

Worst is eating githeri without escort! smile smile smile

Githeri is also nice. Lots of protein (beans) and carbohydrates (maize). You only need to add some veges to make it balanced diet. You can even throw in some nyama.

#30 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:50:37 AM

For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate.

Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria.

hiding.Anxious
#31 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:51:42 AM

Muriel wrote:

Mimi sijaongea wala kunong'oneza chochote.

I have already placed her order
#32 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 10:55:57 AM

For fear of recriminations I will not talk about the mix of rice,meat, potatoes, spinach, carrots (yes carrots), ndoma and cabbages served usually every day except bad chapati days. It usually looks like you have one big ugali in your plate.

Woe unto you if you get served last and you have to taste that dark mix of the burnt sufuria.

hiding.Anxious

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Pilau Njeri!!! Have any of you ever eaten "ngunja matu". Yaani, potatoes and greens and anything else possible put in a sufuria, boiled nicely then add unga and mix as if its ugali. Woooiiii...
#33 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:19:14 AM

hiding.Anxious

Dont even try to mix kikuyu-woman and chapati in one sentence, or even a whole paragraph!

I know a kikuyu wife who COOKED (yes she cooked chapos instead of preparing them) and the results were thick and burnt things that tasted and looked much like dried cow dung!
You know what, she threw out all the chapos before the huzzy came back from job, now the house was still smelling chapoz when the huzzy arrived...the huzzy asked where are the chapos...its a loooong story but it was ended with a landing; for the night!

#34 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:25:45 AM

hiding.Anxious

Dont even try to mix kikuyu-woman and chapati in one sentence, or even a whole paragraph!

I know a kikuyu wife who COOKED (yes she cooked chapos instead of preparing them) and the results were thick and burnt things that tasted and looked much like dried cow dung!
You know what, she threw out all the chapos before the huzzy came back from job, now the house was still smelling chapoz when the huzzy arrived...the huzzy asked where are the chapos...its a loooong story but it was ended with a landing; for the night!

When it comes to cooking Chapos wacha tuseme the problem is bigger than just Kikuyu women, most of our women don't know how to prepare chapos....infact the best i've taken zimepikwa na wanaume.
Atalaku
#35 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:26:18 AM

"Some of their other lazy inventions include tumbukiza: Simply you cut 2 kilograms of beef steak, deep it in salted water and let it boil, boil,boil, booooooooil. At some point bring a 2 kilogram cabbage or 20 leaves of uncut spinach and throw in. Serve while hot…"

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You kill meLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly No stress at all... lakini inatokea vizuriLaughing out loudly
bebeto
#36 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:37:13 AM

hiding.Anxious

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Pilau Njeri!!! Have any of you ever eaten "ngunja matu". Yaani, potatoes and greens and anything else possible put in a sufuria, boiled nicely then add unga and mix as if its ugali. Woooiiii...

Lol
Nguja matu was one of our favourites back then.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
sheri
#37 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:45:17 AM

wilyum wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Where is the like button
#38 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:50:52 AM

hiding.Anxious

When it comes to cooking Chapos wacha tuseme the problem is bigger than just Kikuyu women, most of our women don't know how to prepare chapos....infact the best i've taken zimepikwa na wanaume.

I cant agree more, but kikuyu women are lead from the back in this field.
I pity Kikuyu husbands!
Sad Sad

#39 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:53:08 AM

Which chapos are we talking about?
#40 Posted : Friday, October 24, 2014 11:53:26 AM

kollabo wrote:
I don't understand why Kikuyu's have to put carrots in everything.

In fish..add carrots & potatoes, in chicken...add carrots & potatoes. Carrots is like their traditional magic ingredient.

Carrots not only provide the essential vitamins but also add 'colour'/garnish the food making it visually appealing

not if they are overcooked!