wazua Tue, May 7, 2024

Nairobi's Skyline
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 5:45:03 PM

Im unable to identify this area. Its been a while since I set foot in Nairobi. Glad to see the private sector playing their part in nation building.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 5:50:25 PM

Stop and ask anybody where you are....unless you are in the air!..lol!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 5:59:59 PM

Stop and ask anybody where you are....unless you are in the air!..lol!

Ni kuzeeka. Seems people are outdoing themselves in Upperhill. I gather it's a beehive of activity as people attempt to build offices in the heavens....
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 6:35:20 PM

Skyscrapers but no roads...the "development" of Kenya LOOOOOL.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 6:44:36 PM

Tendering process for 10k km roads already underway, Im not too pessimistic.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 6:50:07 PM

Tendering for a job where there's a contractor on site, who's been paid, but isn't doing anything? Wow, Upperhill will have double roods soon.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 6:53:25 PM

Tendering for a job where there's a contractor on site, who's been paid, but isn't doing anything? Wow, Upperhill will have double roods soon.

Huyo Matan ama sijui ni matako contractors,its almost three years.The sad part is that alichimba barabara zote za upperhill
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 6:55:25 PM

Every occurance has a story behind it. The SGR, the Southern bypass, the ORR have all had numerous huddles. Hiyo ya upperhill has been in the media on a daily basis, byt I dont know the story behind the delays.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 6:56:56 PM

Huyo Matan ama sijui ni matako contractors,its almost three years.The sad part is that alichimba barabara zote za upperhill

Damn! Maybe he was pulling contracts his way........the Kenya we want!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 7:00:54 PM

Apparently he was awarded the tender just before elections. He panicked that once there was regime change, he would not get the rest so went ahead and dug up the whole area. Now he doesn't have the capacity to finish the job. It was supposed to be ready on 25th August 2014.

Who owns Mattan?
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 7:07:08 PM

Apparently he was awarded the tender just before elections. He panicked that once there was regime change, he would not get the rest so went ahead and dug up the whole area. Now he doesn't have the capacity to finish the job. It was supposed to be ready on 25th August 2014.

Who owns Mattan?

^^^Looks like some work in progress, ama?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 7:09:50 PM

3 years for that? LOOOOOOOl, obviously your expectations are very low.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 7:11:27 PM

I always thank God for small mercies. Have you been to Outer Ring of late? Nasikia ni chamba.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 7:21:03 PM

Who owns Mattan?

One thing I know is that he is going to be paid a tidy sum if the contract is terminated...ain't it some local somali guy...
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 7:23:06 PM

Who owns Mattan?

One thing I know is that he is going to be paid a tidy sum if the contract is terminated...ain't it some local somali guy...

Kwani these construction contracts dont have time performance limits, quality and delivery period?
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 7:40:47 PM

Who owns Mattan?

Kwani these construction contracts dont have time performance limits, quality and delivery period?

LOOOOL, who will enforce? No 1 is busy ducking shoes, no 2 is busy...
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 09, 2014 9:04:26 PM

Who owns Mattan?

They do,but his first reason for delay was that he was being owed money...which was paid up but still no progress on the road...Powerful people behind this guy...
#18 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 9:31:20 AM

They do,but his first reason for delay was that he was being owed money...which was paid up but still no progress on the road...Powerful people behind this guy...

Hogwash if I ever heard any...

I work in UpperHill and walking to go do an MPESA transaction is a nightmare...one goes back to the office looking like they've been tarmacking the whole day. Your car gets dirty as it dries up from any of the numerous car wash facilities. DP said we should give local jobs to local contractors - well now we can see how competent they are. 3 years down and only some shoddy bullshit progress to see. I can assure you those roads in UpperHill once complete will be the worst piece of garbage work ever seen
#19 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 9:48:55 AM

I always thank God for small mercies. Have you been to Outer Ring of late? Nasikia ni chamba.

The shainese did the 50km thika rd in 3yrs.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 10:08:45 AM

The shainese did the 50km thika rd in 3yrs.

But hiyo ya upperhill ni mchezo! Upperhill is now officially part of Nairobi CBD if my memory serves me right! Thika rd involved massive earth works so it is understandable. ORR will take 3 years (13km).