wazua Sat, Apr 20, 2024
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Starting farming
ulemsee
#1 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 2:12:50 PM

Hi Kenyans,

I intend to begin farming in a few weeks time. I hope to grow onions somewhere on a farm that is close to a river.

What are the first things that I need to take into consideration before starting? Part of what I have been thinking about is erecting a mabati structure for the farmhand.

Also advise on how to go about getting this license from the government to allow me pump water from the river onto my shamba.
Some people see the glass half full. Others see it half empty.
I see a glass that's twice as big as it needs to be.
― George Carlin
its2013
#2 Posted : Friday, September 05, 2014 4:32:09 PM

Hi, @ulemsee, I'm also a novice like you as I started earlier this year. Onions are part of what I am doing. My advice is that input from agricultural professionals such as extension workers from the ministry of agriculture or amiran etc is invaluable and if you can get such contacts in your area they can really help. They will guide you on every step of the crop cycle.

Before starting out the following would be great to do

-Budgetting. Like for any venture make a comprehensive budget with allowance for emergencies.
-Soil testing. From this you will get a comprehensive report and advice on the amount of manure and fertilizer to use on the farm. If there are diseases/pests in the soil you may also be required to fumigate before planting.
-Market research. Research where and how you will sell your harvest before you plant. Plant as per the market demands.
-It is good to house the farmhand. Getting the right employee was a challenge I initially faced as my first employee was lazy and eventually absconded work causing me a major setback but I luckily got another who is much more reliable.