wazua Thu, Jun 25, 2026

Biometric registration
#1 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 12:37:57 PM

Jubilee faces west.........Is this a good or a bad thing? Is it more acceptable now that it will be implemented by Kasin's firm?

Interior secretary Joseph ole Lenku Thursday said Kenya is negotiating with American firm Richmar and Associates for the supply of Biometric Identification Cards and portable data centre technology that will hold an individual’s biometrics including voice – helping to monitor all types of information exchange among citizens.

The initiative includes issuance of new IDs, ePassports and driving licences. All Kenyan citizens will be required to register afresh and acquire digital IDs during phase one of the project. The government plans to use data gathered during the registration to establish a national digital registry.

The initiative is expected to limit the number of documents each Kenyan holds to a maximum of three, an ID, e-Driving Licence and e-Passport.

Biometric data capture will begin at the age of 12 and by the time the person celebrates his or her 18 birthday they will not have to apply afresh for an ID, but will instead be called to collect it.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/12wpkrcz/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 1:19:05 PM

Yaani hamna maoni ama ni kuboeka? I thought this affects all of us in the next few months??
#3 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 1:21:23 PM

Yaani hamna maoni ama ni kuboeka? I thought this affects all of us in the next few months??

We are middle class, we complain after, not before.

#4 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 1:24:28 PM

Iko hapo chini 'mulika mwizi' ...... we know it wont work!
#5 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 1:28:09 PM

Tendering? Someone will still halt it at the court.
#6 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 2:12:19 PM

OP has done it again!d'oh! d'oh! Hijacked the digital registry initiative from newly appointed acting DG for the KCFNMS Mwende Gatabaki. This had happen sooner than later given the budget allocated for this project. Tenderprenuers on the prawl.
#7 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 2:24:58 PM

Angel hapo sijakupata.....as in it is destined to fail? How? I was expecting to see the ugly DL sent to the dustbin! And what is e-passport?
#8 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 2:32:51 PM

Angel hapo sijakupata.....as in it is destined to fail? How? I was expecting to see the ugly DL sent to the dustbin! And what is e-passport?

Nilikuwa naogopa kuuliza but really what are these e-things? Is it just some number or what?
#9 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 2:43:47 PM

bkismat wrote:

Nilikuwa naogopa kuuliza but really what are these e-things? Is it just some number or what?

I think from the issues of I-Tax and the recently launched financail management something something that was suppose to support procurement but has been misbehaving (part of design was obvious copy paste), i think guys dont think our digital gava is that digital!
PeterReborn
#10 Posted : Monday, August 18, 2014 2:49:07 PM

bkismat wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly e means electronic.
The idea is good to have all the information consolidated rather that carrying-ID card,Voters card,NSSF card,NHIF card,Beba pay,ATMS,credit cards,Shopping cards,Birth Certs,Passports we have only one document that carries all this information.
The first challenge is identity theft meaning someone can completely destroy your life if he gets access to all this information.
The other challenge will be our politics.Chubilee inataka kuiba Kura.
The other challenge is our religion.Hii ni mambo ya 666.Yesu kweli anarudi
Hii ni mambo ya devo worship shetani anataka kupiga muhuri wafuasi wake.
Consistency is better than intensity