wazua Sun, May 5, 2024

5 Pages«<2345>
Riots in Kibera, sorry, Ferguson Missouri!
#61 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 12:20:41 PM

kiash wrote:
Kiash are any Kenyans living in Baltimore affected by the ongoing riots and protests there? Why don't all the blacks in America seek secession of Louisiana,Mississippi,Arkansas, Alaska, Georgia,Florida,South and North Carolina to form the united states of Black America?

The last time i checked i was in Europe Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

But you are the representative of all kiashes here in wazua, including the kiashes in south sudan and rongai
Alba
#62 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 3:24:37 PM

Most of the rioters in Baltimore are young people between 15-18. The brazenness of these chaps is amazing as they confront police. On woman was so angry at her son that he accosted him and beat him in public.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VRlmCf1Kj2o
symbols
#63 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 5:42:54 PM

Alba
#64 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 6:24:26 PM

@Symbols
The person in that video you posted is a complete clown. I could only bear watching the 2st two minutes of his easily debunkable nonsense.
symbols
#65 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 6:30:33 PM

Alba wrote:
@Symbols
The person in that video you posted is a complete clown. I could only bear watching the 2st two minutes of his easily debunkable nonsense.

I was interested in the "black lives matter" part.Does it matter when blacks take their own lives or when whites take the lives of blacks?
Alba
#66 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 6:55:46 PM

symbols wrote:
Alba wrote:
@Symbols

I was interested in the "black lives matter" part.Does it matter when blacks take their own lives or when whites take the lives of blacks?

I did not watch that part.
But as I pointed out above, police are supposed to be held to a higher standard than criminals. So comparing the two is silly.

Secondly Black people can effect change in law enforcement via protesting. In fact blacks in America have always effected changes via peaceful protests going back to the 1960s.

But When it comes to gangs and the like, protests do not work. There are numerous other methods that are being used to dissuade black youths from joining gangs. Such as link
Al Sharpton has made several high profile visits to Chicago to address gang violence. There are numerous initiatives taking place in black neighbourhoods to dissuade youth from joining gangs.

The other issue that should be discussed is lax gun control laws that make it easy for even criminals to buy guns. In Harlem, black crime is low because it is very difficult to buy guns in New York. In Chicago crime is high in black neighbourhoods because Indiana is right next door and Indiana has very lax gun control laws.

Unfortunately people are confused and bedazzled by the constant barrage of subtle propaganda from conservative outlets.
symbols
#67 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 8:55:13 PM

Alba wrote:
symbols wrote:
Alba wrote:
@Symbols

I did not watch that part.
But as I pointed out above, police are supposed to be held to a higher standard than criminals. So comparing the two is silly.

Secondly Black people can effect change in law enforcement via protesting. In fact blacks in America have always effected changes via peaceful protests going back to the 1960s.

But When it comes to gangs and the like, protests do not work. There are numerous other methods that are being used to dissuade black youths from joining gangs. Such as link
Al Sharpton has made several high profile visits to Chicago to address gang violence. There are numerous initiatives taking place in black neighbourhoods to dissuade youth from joining gangs.

The other issue that should be discussed is lax gun control laws that make it easy for even criminals to buy guns. In Harlem, black crime is low because it is very difficult to buy guns in New York. In Chicago crime is high in black neighbourhoods because Indiana is right next door and Indiana has very lax gun control laws.

Unfortunately people are confused and bedazzled by the constant barrage of subtle propaganda from conservative outlets.

Are the riots/protests about race,law enforcement or that all lives matter?
Alba
#68 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 9:00:46 PM

@symbols
There are several different agendas

1. Some rioters are just anarchists who hate the police and want to fight police and damage buildings.
2. The looters many of whom came from places very far from Baltimore just want to steal for the thrill of it or to sell the merchandize for money
3. It matters when blacks take their own lives. But I have already explained that protesting black crime does not help. Criminals do not pay attention to protests. There are other measures being taken to dissuade blacks from joining gangs.
4. Police do not value the life of a black person. This has been true for hundreds of years and is still true now. That is what most people are protesting.
#69 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2015 10:56:39 PM

Alba
#70 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 3:25:03 PM

Tokyo wrote:
Until black Americans believe in hardwork ,embrace family values and yearn for knowledge, they will forever remain at the bottom of the food chain. You only need to live in a black neighbourhood to realise how disconnected they are with reality despite being the most privileged among all black race under the sun.

Too many of us Baafrigha look down on African Americans yet we have our own set of issues.
An AA looking at Kenyans would wonder
- why we are prone to corruption, greed and impunity,
- why we are such tribal sycophants that we defend mediocrity if the mediocre leader is from our tribe,
- why cant we vote on real issues like security instead of tribal affiliation,
- why are we so quick to turn on each other with pangas,
- why do we put incompetent people in leadership positions.

Like you he would then conclude and say "No wonder Africa is a black hole. They will never progress until they get their act together"
#71 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 3:27:22 PM

the first 2 police don't have guns and in the last one more white people are actually killed by cops than black
Alba
#72 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 3:28:15 PM

kiash wrote:
I think the only way to end this is not by peaceful protest but with violence. Blacks in US have always held these processions since ML king and then expect things will work. I saw (on TV ) a white in a white restaurant showing an old booklet with photos of the police officers who served around Ferguson , all white. The guy was saying things were good then. The neighborhood was white only. Now its black and the whites live in a well maintained eastate .A couple was saying they do not even have black friends. Until this peaceful protests turn violent, i think blacks will never be respected in their own country.

Peaceful demonstrations are what gave black Americans the freedom they have today. When kina MLK were demonstrating, they were criticized by everyone including fellow blacks and even white moderates. But it worked. They got the voting rights act because of it.

One thing you should know is that in America, if you are black, the police think your life is worth nothing.
Alba
#73 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2015 3:37:23 PM

the first 2 police don't have guns and in the last one more white people are actually killed by cops than black

People who mention this stat always conveniently forget to mention that blacks are only 12% of the population and whites are 63%. Therefore if you look per capita, you will see that blacks are killed by cops at a rate that is over 3 times higher than whites.

Another key statistic is how many unarmed people are killed. How many cases of police brutality are there against whites? When was the last time you saw a white man running away being shot?
Alba
#74 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2015 3:16:23 PM

If you listen to the right wing media they will tell you eti African Americans are just lazy and crime prone which is why they do not prosper.

However life is not that simple. There are a number of factors holding AAs back some of which are self inflicted and some inflicted by society and some by the government.

One of the issues not often discussed is mass incarceration for minor offences. Politicians who want to be seen as "tough on crime" create stupid laws that send poor minorities to prison for relatively minor offences like being caught with 3 ounces of marijuana.

The net results is that American jails are full of AAs who were arrested for offences that most white people do not even get arrested for. And once a person goes to jail, the arrest remains on his record and it becomes impossible to find a job because most employers do background checks.

If a person cannot get a job, chances are he will go to hard crime to earn a living. Also being in prison for a long time turns peopple into hardened criminals.

And it takes grown men away from their children which means the children who no longer have parental guidance are also likely to stray into crime. A classic vicious cycle.

America is screwed up when it comes to mass incaceration. It has the highest prison population in the world and also by far the highest per capita.

Kenya has a high crime rate yet America sends people to prison at a rate that is 7 times higher than Kenya.

This is going to be a campaign issue in 2016 and Hillary Clinton has already broached the subject

Here is Hill Clinton on the subject : link
Alba
#75 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2015 3:22:43 PM

With regard to the post above, there is a wikipedia page that compares incaceration rates per 100,000 population

Link

Compare Kenya to Cote'd Ivoire then compare Kenya to USA. Those numbers are amazing when you consider how high the crime rate in Kenya is compared to Stateside.

The USA has 25% of the world's prison population !
Thats staggering and sobering
#76 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2015 7:09:53 PM

Alba wrote:
If you listen to the right wing media they will tell you eti African Americans are just lazy and crime prone which is why they do not prosper.

However life is not that simple. There are a number of factors holding AAs back some of which are self inflicted and some inflicted by society and some by the government.

One of the issues not often discussed is mass incarceration for minor offences. Politicians who want to be seen as "tough on crime" create stupid laws that send poor minorities to prison for relatively minor offences like being caught with 3 ounces of marijuana.

The net results is that American jails are full of AAs who were arrested for offences that most white people do not even get arrested for. And once a person goes to jail, the arrest remains on his record and it becomes impossible to find a job because most employers do background checks.

If a person cannot get a job, chances are he will go to hard crime to earn a living. Also being in prison for a long time turns peopple into hardened criminals.

And it takes grown men away from their children which means the children who no longer have parental guidance are also likely to stray into crime. A classic vicious cycle.

America is screwed up when it comes to mass incaceration. It has the highest prison population in the world and also by far the highest per capita.

Kenya has a high crime rate yet America sends people to prison at a rate that is 7 times higher than Kenya.

This is going to be a campaign issue in 2016 and Hillary Clinton has already broached the subject

Great points @ Alba. Not forgetting the inequality in jail terms for similar crimes which is tied to the ability to hire good lawyers = Money.
Tokyo
#77 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2015 9:30:49 PM

Not true
work to prosper
#78 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2015 4:56:26 AM

Alba wrote:
kiash wrote:
I think the only way to end this is not by peaceful protest but with violence. Blacks in US have always held these processions since ML king and then expect things will work. I saw (on TV ) a white in a white restaurant showing an old booklet with photos of the police officers who served around Ferguson , all white. The guy was saying things were good then. The neighborhood was white only. Now its black and the whites live in a well maintained eastate .A couple was saying they do not even have black friends. Until this peaceful protests turn violent, i think blacks will never be respected in their own country.

Peaceful demonstrations are what gave black Americans the freedom they have today. When kina MLK were demonstrating, they were criticized by everyone including fellow blacks and even white moderates. But it worked. They got the voting rights act because of it.

One thing you should know is that in America, if you are black, the police think your life is worth nothing.

Haiya @kiash!!

Alba, good points.
kiash
#79 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2015 11:35:35 AM

Alba wrote:

Why do you call this minor offence? if you know very well that the leaders(white) that the black majority have voted for have made funny laws that will land you in prison, then forget the marijuana kwani its tea !!!
There is no excuse for this.There is a school in those far sides of Nanyuki that used to hold American spoilt kids .They used to be kitu 12 to 15 hivi. They should do stuff like that take some of those spoilt blacks to places like Sierra Leone and see real poverty. Once they get home they will start with their kids and 15 years from now things will be different.Some one told me that AAs are so violent even in their language compared to other Africans they will do anything to get attention, yell at whites even in the underground metros for nothing .
All the same in all these deaths, hizi tu peaceful protests will not work. Its time they took up arms and demanded their respect hata wakiangusha army.Kwani one can't storm a gunshop and get several AK za huko ?,
whiteowl
#80 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2015 1:34:03 PM

Alba wrote:

That is a campaign gimmick. She can't touch Prison Industrial Complex if elected.