wazua Sat, May 18, 2024

RAV4 engine contro box
Alfa
#1 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 12:08:00 PM

Hi guys.

I hate friday 13th!!!

MY RAV 4 YR 2002 JUST stopped in the middle of the road. diagnosis - burnt computer box!!!!!

Toyota kenya - They askfor 160,000 for a new computer box,waiting period - six weeks. worst part,they will not do the fixing & wiring and they will not guarantee the spare part. remember this is the heart of the computer and am surprised it could burn!!! any experience

i got stranded the whole wekeen looking for the part to no avail untill i got to the office now and remembered the genius in stockskenya!!

guys help,where can i get SOMEONE WHO WILL provide

1. a new Engine control box type no. toyota 89661-42610 manual transmission,

2. who will do the wiring and fixing

3. will guarantee it............. pliz advice - i just need to fix and sell it

Life is short,enjoy to the fullest,But only AFTER investing
Spendthrift
#2 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 12:45:00 PM

Wapi Simonkabz? The Rav4 is a Toyota and this guy knows the A-Z of Toyos.

Everyday!
Alfa
#3 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 12:49:00 PM

simonkabz....WAPI YEYE......

Sigiriri
#4 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 3:02:00 PM

1AZ-FSE
The 1AZ-FSE is a 2.0 L (1998 cc) version. Bore is 86.0 mm and stroke is 86.0 mm. Output is 155 hp (114 kW) at 6000 rpm with 145 ft·lbf (192 N·m) of torque at 4000 rpm. The 1AZ-FSE features Toyota's D-4 direct injection system.

Applications:

Toyota Avensis
Toyota Avensis Verso
Toyota Noah/Voxy
Toyota RAV4
Toyota Gaia
Toyota Isis
Toyota Caldina
Toyota Wish
Toyota Allion
Toyota Premio
Toyota Opa

Confirm that - maybe you could be lucky if u search for ECU of the other models mentioned here - check with local junk yards,you never know....ukikosa,let me know and I can look,but haven't found so far.

Bidii yangu
#5 Posted : Monday, March 16, 2009 3:50:00 PM

Ai! My ribz ache,@st n alfa,u guys made my evening. Im in some shithole in samburu so thanx 4missing me. Miss u too he he

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
gmg
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 5:20:00 AM

please let me have the full engine number of your vehicle including the letters that come before the numbers and the engine type I can comfortably sort you out.

gmg
Alfa
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 6:37:00 AM

@ GMG gatta check that jioni,car s @ hme.

@ sigiriri its a 1AZ-FSE 4X4 M T

can u get a new one ama the second hand plugd from other vehicles....

Alfa
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 6:50:00 AM

YES the moitherboard was completely burnt - before the unit was removed,there was light at the dashboard and couldnt ignate........

Kwanini
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 7:19:00 AM

What is the engine type? The 1AZ-FSE 4X4 M T Rav 4 could have

D4 type 7A, or D4 type 3S ?

'I am the master of my fate;
I am the captain of my soul.'-Invictus
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
gmg
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 7:21:00 AM

i have a second hand are u interested in a second hand?

gmg
Alfa
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 7:53:00 AM

@ GMG gimi ur tel contacts on ahgonii@live.com

tusker8
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:26:00 AM

hi,
I own a D4,2.0L whose fuel consumption scares me at times. It does 7km to the litre on a 'bad hair day'. The most i have gotten out of it is 12. I am convinced that itcan do better than that....
Any ideas/advise?

A journey of a thousand miles start with a cash advance
Alfa
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 8:50:00 AM

engine type is TA- ACA 21 W - AWMNH - V

#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 9:15:00 AM

@Tusker8,

D4 engines man......Something not so right with the fuel system.Quite common with Premios and RAV4.................Check your plugs.Three point Iridium plugs go very well with this cars and you might solve half the problem.

Guka wa bijuti...
tusker8
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 9:33:00 AM

@njung'e...
i use those -in fact i buy them from Toyota. They go for circa 6K
Sijui sasa....

A journey of a thousand miles start with a cash advance
dexco
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 11:01:00 AM

@ Alfa Pole sana. But if you dont get the part locally i can import for you and i dont think it wll go as high as the Toyota kenya. IF you airfreight it will be here within a week.

@ Tusker8 well you can consider buying a new non D4 engine. Just ask your mechanic what will fit there. Another used Engine may be as low as 40K

Or alternatively sell the car quick and be wiser next time u buy.
Alfa
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 12:21:00 PM

Dex,Njuge,tusker while i wait on how to fix and sell this car,i am contapleting buying a premio or carina since my job revolves around having a car.

between carina (which mostly are used as taxis now) and premio (not new shape) which one will be pocket friendly and is strong. what are the price difference and maybe anyone here who sell vehicle - i can purchase from you...........

i need it as a matter of urgency!

tuvok
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 12:36:00 PM

@ tusker8 - Your D4 - that's a rav or?? I've driven a y 2000 premio for about 1.5 years and average ~10.5. I also once did coast with it,and did 15 km/ litre (but driving at max 110kph)... Another pal of mine has similar performance with an identical car. I usually know I need to take it for service when it drops below 10 km/ litre.

I'll also maybe get hold of those three point iridium plugs ... who knows - maybe i'll hit it's rated consumption of17km /litre (when new) - got to dream

7 km /litre - that's scary :) coz that's what another guy i know does with his subaru twin turbo.

For me i've not had any issues with the car for 1.5 years... but i service regularly so maybe that prevents many things. car power and performance - compares very well with the galant 2.0 and subaru ts-r/tx (check the stats)..
Alfa
#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 1:39:00 PM

A Tuvok how much u bought ur premio1.5 yrs ago and whats the market value for a premio from japan and registered?

tuvok
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 17, 2009 1:51:00 PM

@ Alfa - imported it myself - i think it came to about 710-720k (but the dollar was 68/- ). that was the rough cost of importing - though i visited a local car bazaar at about the same time,and was going for 800k + and valuation was about the same.

For the 'old shape' - AT211 model - not sure if u can get an import currently since the new shape - AT240 (i think) is out but costs more.

Have a look at the Sarit board - there are several premios for sale last time i checked.