2014 Commonwealth Games
Uram
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2014 9:06:58 AM

Opening tommorrow. Kenya's hopes will be in athletics, rugby sevens, boxing and swimming
sheri
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2014 9:23:18 AM

Uram wrote:
Opening tommorrow. Kenya's hopes will be in athletics, rugby sevens, boxing and swimming

Wishing them the best.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2014 10:14:29 AM

sheri wrote:
Uram wrote:

Wishing them the best.

And cycling
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 11:51:19 AM

Uram wrote:

This games are very low key cant compare with other commonwealth games lucky for the organisers usain bolt will be in action
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 1:30:48 PM

madollar wrote:
Uram wrote:

This games are very low key cant compare with other commonwealth games lucky for the organisers usain bolt will be in action

Gosh the Queen is still very strong.
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 3:08:41 PM

madollar wrote:
Uram wrote:

was just wondering jana what the benefits of being in the commonwealth are
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 5:42:47 PM

madollar wrote:
Uram wrote:

unlucky for them farah will not be available Sad
symbols
#8 Posted : Sunday, July 27, 2014 10:25:33 AM

#9 Posted : Sunday, July 27, 2014 11:50:34 AM

butterflyke wrote:
madollar wrote:
Uram wrote:

was just wondering jana what the benefits of being in the commonwealth are

well... i don't think there are any!
#10 Posted : Sunday, July 27, 2014 12:24:39 PM

We are looking forward and it seems like the Commonwealth looks backwards
#11 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 5:39:35 PM

They should introduce "african" competitions if the latest medal table is anything to go by .
so far the aussies have 71 medals 38 from swimming and 20 from cycling

Medal table
Alba
#12 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 10:32:21 PM

Kenya sprinters really need to pull up their socks. They are not given a chance often. This time they were given a chance and they each ran 10.81 or slower in the heats. Hiyo Haiwesmake.
#13 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 11:11:31 PM

Alba wrote:
Kenya sprinters really need to pull up their socks. They are not given a chance often. This time they were given a chance and they each ran 10.81 or slower in the heats. Hiyo Haiwesmake.

you need to build a team bwana... pole pole! do you know how many persons of a non-western african extraction have run below 10 seconds? like 3-4! in Africa only Frankie Fredricks has done that. in Europe i think only 1 guy the frenchman Christophe Lemaitre and some guy juzi from Australia. You cannot just wake up one day and run then expect great times... kunavenye ni kazi mingi mingi mingi sana kuslice those milliseconds. you need to invest for it and be in it for the long haul!
#14 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 11:54:04 PM

Blessing Okagbare shows the Jamaicans dust.
Alba
#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 29, 2014 3:21:46 PM

Alba wrote:

you need to build a team bwana... pole pole! do you know how many persons of a non-western african extraction have run below 10 seconds? like 3-4! in Africa only Frankie Fredricks has done that. in Europe i think only 1 guy the frenchman Christophe Lemaitre and some guy juzi from Australia. You cannot just wake up one day and run then expect great times... kunavenye ni kazi mingi mingi mingi sana kuslice those milliseconds. you need to invest for it and be in it for the long haul!

Forget about running under 10 seconds. They should at least run as fast as Kenyans were running in the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. Jon Mwebi won commonwealth games silver in 10.5. Gikonyo set the Kenya record at 10.28 and 5 years ago Musinde broke it at 10.26. The likes of Ondiek and Wekesa always ran in the 10.3 and 10.4 range ........................All I am saying is that 10.81 is pathetic and at this rate, Kenya will not send sprinters to any event.

Also your statistics are wrong. There are several more non western Africans who have run under 10 seconds. At least two Zimbabweans have. One is Ngonizadshe Makusha who clocked 9.89 and the other is Gabriel Mvumvure who recently clocked 9.98. ...........Simon Magakwe recently broke the South African record by clocking 9.98.

As a side note, Isaac Makwala of Botswana recently blasted 19.96 in the 200m and then broke the African 400m record by clocking 44.01.

I am not even saying Kenyans should run as fast as Zimbwabweans. I am saying that at this rate, AK will be justified in leaving them off the squad. I mean seriously 10.81 , 10.85 and 10.84 are poor times.

Do you realize that Blessing Okagbare has just won the gold medal in 10.85 seconds. You mean to tell me that the Naija woman can run as fast as Kenyan men sprinters ? Tafakari hayo
Alba
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 29, 2014 3:23:18 PM

Here is an article regarding Kenyan sprinters from the past
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 29, 2014 3:42:57 PM

bkismat wrote:
Blessing Okagbare shows the Jamaicans dust.

Nigerian weightlifter gold medalist suspended for doping ...
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 29, 2014 5:46:51 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

Forget about running under 10 seconds. They should at least run as fast as Kenyans were running in the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. Jon Mwebi won commonwealth games silver in 10.5. Gikonyo set the Kenya record at 10.28 and 5 years ago Musinde broke it at 10.26. The likes of Ondiek and Wekesa always ran in the 10.3 and 10.4 range ........................All I am saying is that 10.81 is pathetic and at this rate, Kenya will not send sprinters to any event.

Also your statistics are wrong. There are several more non western Africans who have run under 10 seconds. At least two Zimbabweans have. One is Ngonizadshe Makusha who clocked 9.89 and the other is Gabriel Mvumvure who recently clocked 9.98. ...........Simon Magakwe recently broke the South African record by clocking 9.98.

As a side note, Isaac Makwala of Botswana recently blasted 19.96 in the 200m and then broke the African 400m record by clocking 44.01.

I am not even saying Kenyans should run as fast as Zimbwabweans. I am saying that at this rate, AK will be justified in leaving them off the squad. I mean seriously 10.81 , 10.85 and 10.84 are poor times.

Do you realize that Blessing Okagbare has just won the gold medal in 10.85 seconds. You mean to tell me that the Naija woman can run as fast as Kenyan men sprinters ? Tafakari hayo

nimetafakari hayo... even Musikari Kombo clinched the national schools title with 10.4 but that does not imply that the current crop of people we have will do that. in Kenya the process of selecting sprinters is not as polished as that of selecting long distance runners. we need a process in place that works for these distances and yes - a woman of west african descent can beat us - let's not feel entitled to stuff just because we are 'men'. Kenya's expectation of good results from sprinters is synonymous with expect kuvuna pale haukupanda! then now you are busy saying that the katumani of your neighbour is doing better than the field you never planted crops in. let's not feel entitled to stuff we have not earned - hii sio accident!
Alba
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 29, 2014 6:38:21 PM

nimetafakari hayo... even Musikari Kombo clinched the national schools title with 10.4 but that does not imply that the current crop of people we have will do that. in Kenya the process of selecting sprinters is not as polished as that of selecting long distance runners. we need a process in place that works for these distances and yes - a woman of west african descent can beat us - let's not feel entitled to stuff just because we are 'men'. Kenya's expectation of good results from sprinters is synonymous with expect kuvuna pale haukupanda! then now you are busy saying that the katumani of your neighbour is doing better than the field you never planted crops in. let's not feel entitled to stuff we have not earned - hii sio accident!

@Masukuma
If the current crop of sprinters is only capable of running as slow as 10.85 then they should not go to the Commonwealths. You may as well send joyriders. The money used to pay for their allowances, tickets and accommodation would be better spent on identifying talents at school level and grooming them for the 2018 Commonwealth games.

This is not about entitlement. It is about investing money, time and effort intelligently. If an athlete has reached late 20s and has never run faster than 10.80 then it is time to start spending that money on the next generation . There are school vijanas out there capable of replicating the exploits of the Gikonyo and Ondiek generation. Kenya is a broke country. Its meagre resources should be spent wisely.

Hiyo mambo ya kupanda na kuvuna still does not explain running 10.85. Kwani how much support did that Muhindi Seraphino Antao have when he won gold medals ? And how much did kina Musinde have when he clocked 10.26 ?
And yes whichever way you slice it, sending people to run as fast as that Naija woman is not acceptable. Again that entitlement stuff makes no sense. Its about standards. An athlete has to meet certain standards to qualify for financial support. Britain has a lottery system to support athletes. But they have to meet certain standards first. That is intelligent. Kenya needs to support sprinters. But it must be done properly.

BTW Musikari's 10.4 is may be fake. Hand timing is notoriously unreliable.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, July 29, 2014 10:22:11 PM

Gold, Silver and Bronze from our golden girls running the 10k meters. #KenyasProudMoments