wazua Mon, May 6, 2024

BRITAM Bond
kiash
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:26:40 PM

For those with the knowhow on bonds, how do you calculate what Britam is going to pay as interest ?

This is what they say

The Notes will mature on 15th July 2019 and carry a semiannual
fixed rate of interest of 13% p.a. (6.5% every six months)

Supposing you take for 100,000Ksh

I guess the interest will be 13000 at the end of the year (Am i right) and do you get the money (interest)before or in 2019 or its like the treasury bills? Will it be more profitable to buy the bonds for 100K or invest the 100k to buy more shares , Britam's or any other company's
deadpoet
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:41:20 PM

My understanding is that you get paid the interest twice a year, as long as you hold onto the bond.

But it's an interesting question with existing bonds. A quick glance at the paper shows a 7-year HF bond at 13%. If I buy today, will I receive 6.5% at the end of the year? Not sure how the process works for already issued bonds...
mwekez@ji
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 4:16:47 PM

Indeed. In your illustration, person will get Kes.6,500/- (less Withholding Tax) in the following dates. Amount invested (Kes. 100,000/-) will be received back on Monday, 15th July 2019.

Monday, 19th January 2015
Monday, 20th July 2015
Monday, 18th January 2016
Monday, 18th July 2016
Monday, 16th January 2017
Monday, 17th July 2017
Monday, 15th January 2018
Monday, 16th July 2018
Monday, 14th January 2019
Monday, 15th July 2019

The bond definitely has lower risk and will thus have lower return than shares over the period
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 4:25:02 PM

Put the money is shares .... would have eaten dividends and capital gains. Just imagine you will get the same 100k in 2019.
kiash
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 7:55:10 PM

Thanks guys . Will make the best decision.
#6 Posted : Saturday, June 21, 2014 8:16:53 AM

Put the money is shares .... would have eaten dividends and capital gains. Just imagine you will get the same 100k in 2019.

I would also go for stocks,the only good thing about fixed income securities is that you know the amount you will be getting as coupon thus you can plan ahead for the cash,downside returns arent that high esp if you factor in inflation and WHT...mostly good for HNIs...
#7 Posted : Saturday, June 21, 2014 11:04:18 AM

My feeling is that bonds are suitable for wealthy tycoons who have money lying idle left,right and center.100k for 6500 in 6months is mockery,this is money you can make comfortably in less than a week.
DtheK
#8 Posted : Saturday, June 21, 2014 12:06:54 PM

@kiash How much did u spend to make the 100k and how long did it take you? if you are confident you can make more than 13,000 from your 100k this year stick to what you do.
You don't have to chose between bonds and shares.You can do both unless the Britam bond is divided into 100k denominations.
#9 Posted : Saturday, June 21, 2014 3:53:24 PM

del

#10 Posted : Saturday, June 21, 2014 4:01:18 PM

kiash wrote:
For those with the knowhow on bonds, how do you calculate what Britam is going to pay as interest ?

This is what they say

I guess the interest will be 13000 at the end of the year (Am i right) and do you get the money (interest)before or in 2019 or its like the treasury bills? Will it be more profitable to buy the bonds for 100K or invest the 100k to buy more shares , Britam's or any other company's

Kumbe ulienda mayuu na hata haujasoma sana as we thought?

U still dont know the basics of bond trading with the apparent massive free internet access hapo DC...

Kwani kazi yako huko ni ya kuosha ornamental dolphins only?

Not talking Not talking Not talking Not talking

whiteowl
#11 Posted : Saturday, June 21, 2014 4:35:33 PM

mlennyma wrote:
My feeling is that bonds are suitable for wealthy tycoons who have money lying idle left,right and center.100k for 6500 in 6months is mockery,this is money you can make comfortably in less than a week.

I concur. stocks is the way to go unless we are talking about very BIG money. in that case you're limited to the big caps like mpesa,member n simba n even then it can't work out well coz you're the market mover.
lisaox
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 12:23:50 PM

Its funny how i always get such insight from Wazua.... thanks guys.
Ericsson
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 12:47:30 PM

http://www.constructionk...ower-upper-hill-nairobi/
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 12:49:40 PM

The cost has been revised upwards and this is what necessitated the bond
kiash
#15 Posted : Sunday, June 29, 2014 1:06:13 PM

kiash wrote:

This is what they say

Kumbe ulienda mayuu na hata haujasoma sana as we thought?

U still dont know the basics of bond trading with the apparent massive free internet access hapo DC...

Kwani kazi yako huko ni ya kuosha ornamental dolphins only?

Not talking Not talking Not talking Not talking

Funny that's the only thing you pick. Who told you kusoma is when you know how to deal in bonds? yeah there is lots of information on the net but seeking a second opinion is actually wisdom. I do not have a PHD but am happy with what i have Sad Sad Sad
icecube
#16 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 9:58:49 AM

mlennyma wrote:

faa
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 8:20:38 AM

Someone advise me, if i invest approx 950k in the britam bond.How much returns should i expects in 6 months or 1 year?

Thanks
webish
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 8:51:36 AM

lisaox wrote:
Its funny how i always get such insight from Wazua.... thanks guys.

How funny???

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
jawgey
#19 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 9:02:25 AM

faa wrote:
Someone advise me, if i invest approx 950k in the britam bond.How much returns should i expects in 6 months or 1 year?

Thanks

Before we answer your question I hope you aware the bond offer already closed.. right?

Interest rate 13% p.a. but its a five year bond.

In one year you get 104,975 interest(net of WHT).
Seeing is believing
Ericsson
#20 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 5:50:16 AM

Britam bond has been oversubscribed by 147%.Amount received is ksh.7.4 billion against a target of ksh.3b.
The company will execute the green shoe option and take up ksh.6 Billion hence there will be no other tranche.