wazua Thu, Jun 25, 2026

7 Pages123>»
Peoples Budget 2014
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 8:53:16 AM

Friday 13th June @ 4:55PM, it’s been a long week and finally time to unwind. I walk into my local and join a group of my friends who are in an unusual celebratory mood. I order a double Hennessy on the rocks and as it is placed on the table, I have this bad habit on checking on the bill every time a round is brought so I pick up the bill first and am shocked. I call Mueni my “favourite” barmaid and tell her there is a problem with my bill. Then she asks Kwani Hujui?? And goes on to explain that Rotich scraped Excise Duty on all alcoholic beverages in a bid to stop “Country Man”. I now understand why everybody is happy so I order a round for all my pals… As we are about to cheer someone drops a bottle… But Damn it my morning alarm and I wake up and remember this is Jubilee Government!!!Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

So what are your expectations for today’s budget?
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 8:58:14 AM

Capital gains tax reintroduced!
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 8:59:00 AM

Today they will introduce tax on air...you pay when you breathe so that GoK can buy more samosas.
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 8:59:39 AM

Haki naomba wasiguze phombe this time round!!!
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 9:15:06 AM

Some kidogo rise to fund some air lifting of the PORK's speach to counties.d'oh! d'oh!...

But anyway, things have changed. There will be very few shockers and chokers this time round coz the estimates have been out there for months. About 2/3rds of the budget has already been discussed. In fact wangesema iwe inawekwa online tujisomee tu this hullabaloo of budget reading is no longer as glamorous as it used to be.
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 9:28:04 AM

Friday 13th June @ 4:55PM, it’s been a long week and finally time to unwind. I walk into my local and join a group of my friends who are in an unusual celebratory mood. I order a double Hennessy on the rocks and as it is placed on the table, I have this bad habit on checking on the bill every time a round is brought so I pick up the bill first and am shocked. I call Mueni my “favourite” barmaid and tell her there is a problem with my bill. Then she asks Kwani Hujui?? And goes on to explain that Rotich scraped Excise Duty on all alcoholic beverages in a bid to stop “Country Man”. I now understand why everybody is happy so I order a round for all my pals… As we are about to cheer someone drops a bottle… But Damn it my morning alarm and I wake up and remember this is Jubilee Government!!!Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

So what are your expectations for today’s budget?

VAT 20% pap, I don't think they will introduce the capitals gains tax(it will mostly affect the elites)
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 9:51:33 AM

"To mitigate the harmful effects of the illicit alcohol and to provide a better alternative to the illicit alcohol, a propose to raise remission on beer sold in Keg barrels from the current 50% to 80% provided its made from millet sorghum or cassava grown in Kenya.

To bridge the gap in revenue collection, I propose to raise the tax on beer made from malt to Kshs 80.00 per Liter from the current sh 70.00 per liter."

Hehe...wait for the taxation measures this afternoon....
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 9:59:57 AM

@Admin please hii ni budget thread yetu ya massufferers, usiipeleke huko kwa wadosi!!!!!
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:04:46 AM

@Admin please hii ni budget thread yetu ya massufferers, usiipeleke huko kwa wadosi!!!!!

Applause Applause
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:07:31 AM

VAT raise? Wont happen I bet! The spread of VAT to cover more products last year has been a hot political issue and raised the cost of production and living. CGT is possible
7 Pages123>»