9 Pages«<23456>»
Experts warn El Nino rains are looming
#61 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 10:55:42 PM

Anxious

This El nyinyo is a hoax. We will just have normal rains. Remember that South C was flooded last rain season by normal rains. So i dont want them to blame the nyinyo if it floods again this month. This el nyinyo thing is conspiracy to eat govt billions. El nino occurs during the april long rains, not during the oct/nov short rains.

Wacha ujinga boss ata kama you want to start some conspiracy get sophisticated, this is not just a Kenyan thing uliza Google

Wacha matusi puana. The fact that the US that's 9,000 miles away may have some nyinyo doesnt mean we will also get the same hapa Afrika ya Mashariki.
#62 Posted : Friday, October 16, 2015 11:14:14 PM

Anxious

This El nyinyo is a hoax. We will just have normal rains. Remember that South C was flooded last rain season by normal rains. So i dont want them to blame the nyinyo if it floods again this month. This el nyinyo thing is conspiracy to eat govt billions. El nino occurs during the april long rains, not during the oct/nov short rains.

Wacha ujinga boss ata kama you want to start some conspiracy get sophisticated, this is not just a Kenyan thing uliza Google

Wacha matusi puana. The fact that the US that's 9,000 miles away may have some nyinyo doesnt mean we will also get the same hapa Afrika ya Mashariki.

Kama utaki matusi, punguza ujiga. Elnino/lanina is a world wide phenomenon. Come back with reasonable facts we dont do street talk here.
#63 Posted : Saturday, October 17, 2015 11:15:07 AM

It is time to eat---

Counties in scramble for El Niño cash

Kenya has prepared a budget of Sh37 million that will be used to buy bar soaps as part of the measures the country is taking to mitigate the effects of the El Niño rains.

Another Sh50 million of the Sh16 billion the government has set aside for the expected destruction has been allocated to sensitise fishermen on the effects of the heavy rains.

These are some of the things the national and county government officials are scrambling to control under the funds meant to reduce effects of the rains.

Also, in the Budget, whopping a Sh30 million allocated to “investigate and confirm disease outbreak rumours”.

Despite the fact that schools have less than one month to close for the long Christmas holidays, Sh300 million has been budgeted for the school feeding programme.

The biggest allocation in the education sector, more than Sh1 billion, is for reconstruction of schools expected to be damaged by the rains.

But much of the money will be used to mitigate the effects of the rains, with no evidence that sufficient precautionary measures have been taken in the most vulnerable areas.

In Budalang’i, Busia County, for example, which is a flood prone area, dykes of River Nzoia are yet to be repaired.

In Nairobi, not much has been done to prevent the flooding of sections of the roads.
#64 Posted : Saturday, October 17, 2015 3:43:38 PM

kyt wrote:
subzero wrote:

have any credible weather forecasters explicitly mentioned east africa as being affected by elnino.

@alma1 , i didn't expect you to fall for that one.

There was a report about 2 weeks ago from experts saying that this el nino will be far less strong than the 98 one

The mets said for El Nino to have strong effects here, it must be accompanied by rise in temps in Indian Ocean. The temps have only risen by half the magnitude they did in 97/98

@Laughing out loudly uno sure na kile unasema?

yes. read this in the DN or BD
#65 Posted : Saturday, October 17, 2015 3:53:38 PM

@kyt, hata link nimekutafutia. Soma kwa makini

http://www.bloomberg.com...o-match-severity-of-1997
#66 Posted : Sunday, October 18, 2015 12:24:23 PM

Even in these hard times, and in what could be a mega scandal in the making, the government proposes to spend Sh37,500 per bar soap to be distributed to Kenyans who will be affected by El Niño rains.

In the El Niño response strategy, a copy of which the Sunday Nation has obtained, the government plans to spend Sh37.5 million to buy 1,000 bar soaps – which comes to Sh37,500 per piece.
sitaki.kujulikana
#67 Posted : Sunday, October 18, 2015 5:16:00 PM

This el-nino is discriminating some, how comes I have not seen it.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#68 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 5:07:25 PM

yawah! So 10,000cartons x Ksh. 3,700/- = Ksh. 37,500,000 but according to GoK... that totals to 37,000,000.. Even cheating requires some intelligence.

#69 Posted : Monday, October 19, 2015 10:19:25 PM

I heard that the government has set aside some kshs 24million for 4000 packs of sanitary towels I bet Always. So each pack of sanitary towel has budget of kshs 6000!!!
#70 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 9:58:45 AM

Kaigangio wrote:
I heard that the government has set aside some kshs 24million for 4000 packs of sanitary towels I bet Always. So each pack of sanitary towel has budget of kshs 6000!!!

Thats the cost per box n not packet...now a box has 96 packets so says Itumbi.

#71 Posted : Tuesday, October 20, 2015 9:27:08 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

Thats the cost per box n not packet...now a box has 96 packets so says Itumbi.

How did they forget to budget for condoms? Ama the victims aren't supposed to land during the nyinyo?
#72 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 12:52:29 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly It is sh62.50 per pad. But sasa a pad costs 62.50 or is it a pack of pads?
Anti_Burglar
#73 Posted : Wednesday, October 21, 2015 2:19:57 PM

This time El Nino has been good. It should continue just this way until it's over.
#74 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 6:33:00 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
yawah! So 10,000cartons x Ksh. 3,700/- = Ksh. 37,500,000 but according to GoK... that totals to 37,000,000.. Even cheating requires some intelligence.

They think Kenyan have a vacuum between their ears

500000 in ya wazee kufacilitate tender ya sabuni. These guys are just trying to cover some stinking sh*t
#75 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2015 10:57:09 AM

>>Worst El Nino in 60 years on way<<

Meanwhile,

An MP has said he will sue the meteorological department if El Nino rains fail as farmers have spent millions of shillings on preparations.
- See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...ail#sthash.7jlI8bcJ.dpuf
#76 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 6:45:24 AM

How's the going? Make sure you get gumboots for the wkd and nxt wk.

Meanwhile in Somalia

Now
#77 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 7:40:22 AM

These are just the normal oct short rains. Nothing unusual.
#78 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 7:46:22 AM

Surprising no traffic on my local route...kwani watu waliruaka 4am ama bado wanangoja watu wamelize jam ipungue?

#79 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 7:49:47 AM

Any Wazuan in Nakuru? @Masukush, you may need to check on family
#80 Posted : Thursday, October 29, 2015 7:52:29 AM

Surprising no traffic on my local route...kwani watu waliruaka 4am ama bado wanangoja watu wamelize jam ipungue?

Mishande bado ingia