wazua Sat, Apr 20, 2024

5 Pages123>»
Zuku fibre review
#1 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 1:13:31 PM

I intend to connect to the Zuku fibre 10mbps R10 package. What is the experience of those who are on this package?

http://www.zuku.co.ke/zuku-fiber/zuku-fiber-packages.html
#2 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 6:46:36 PM

Got R8. TV fine (no so fine if you are the EPL type), Internet so so(erratic at times), phone dead. All things considered, better than having three different providers.
Caramba
#3 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 8:04:31 PM

Got R8 too. Internet is okay, and streams video nicely. TV is pretty much average, with mediocre picture quality. Haven't used the phone.
holycow
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 11:53:14 AM

On R8,Internet speeds good. As for the TV, same stuff I get on my FTA Nilesat satellite dish. So I don't bother with the TV unless local channels. However, the Radio service is very rich, much better than Dstv Audio. My decoder was faulty and I was given an upgrade. TV quality improved but the audio experience was messed up with as I can't tell what artist is playing. As for the phone, works best for International calls. Gordon, try swapping the phone ports, mine wasn't functioning till I swapped the ports.
Zuku has greatly improved, I had them on Wimax service which had lots of downtime.
Caramba
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 1:03:04 PM

How about Orange Wifi? I hear it's 3,000/= monthly, unlimited. Anyone with info on it's speed?
DtheK
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 2:06:34 PM

Where is it available(wifi)?Orange are weird why in the era of faiba are they still trying to sell P.O.T.S landlines
Caramba
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 10:35:52 PM

holycow wrote:
On R8,Internet speeds good. As for the TV, same stuff I get on my FTA Nilesat satellite dish. So I don't bother with the TV unless local channels. However, the Radio service is very rich, much better than Dstv Audio. My decoder was faulty and I was given an upgrade. TV quality improved but the audio experience was messed up with as I can't tell what artist is playing. As for the phone, works best for International calls. Gordon, try swapping the phone ports, mine wasn't functioning till I swapped the ports.
Zuku has greatly improved, I had them on Wimax service which had lots of downtime.

I'm also on FTA and hardly ever switch on my Zuku decoder. I wish they'd offer Internet & Telly separately.

I was at the Orange offices and they claim that their routers hit speeds of 21mbps. I wonder.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 6:46:58 PM

Caramba wrote:
holycow wrote:

I'm also on FTA and hardly ever switch on my Zuku decoder. I wish they'd offer Internet & Telly separately.

I was at the Orange offices and they claim that their routers hit speeds of 21mbps. I wonder.

That is the speed of the routers. My wifi speed is 54mbps, and it sometimes connects at 144or 300mbps. BUT, that is not the speed of the internet itself. So be careful. The net for Orange is between 2-3mbps or something like that but ofcourse, with caps at 20gb then it drops to 64kbps (speeds of 1999).

Zuku isn't bad. I only have the net. I haven't installed the decoder so it's just in its box, chilling.
Kihara joni
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 7:14:05 PM

I am using safaricom wimax 1mbps at 7k per month very fast I stream tv and youtube effortlessy,no downtime since installation 2years ago,pay via mpesa,nice and customer service
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 7:37:47 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
I am using safaricom wimax 1mbps at 7k per month very fast I stream tv and youtube effortlessy,no downtime since installation 2years ago,pay via mpesa,nice and customer service

#11 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 7:30:44 AM

holycow wrote:

It's not a port problem, each time I notice it's dead, I send a tweet to them and they do whatever that brings the dialing tone back.
D32
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:12:44 AM

There's also Airtel Unlimited.

Daily @250, capped at 3gb
Weekly @1,300 capped at 15gb
Monthly @3500, capped at 30gb

Once you hit the cap, you are throttled at 16 KB/s

Max speed is about 135 KB/s which is just over 1 Mbps, not sure if it is my location. I have a full signal.
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 10:29:18 AM

Caramba wrote:
How about Orange Wifi? I hear it's 3,000/= monthly, unlimited. Anyone with info on it's speed?

I am currently on Orange monthly unlimited at 3k. The speeds are good though after you go beyond 20gb they reduce to 256kbps as per their Fair Use Policy. I use the black modem.

I have just done a speedtest....

#14 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 10:34:06 AM

Kihara joni wrote:

He's being conned....

Options..

Zuku 10mbps @ 4k
Faiba 5mbps @ 5k
Orange monthly unlimited speeds about 5mbps @ 3k
D32
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 6:55:31 PM

Caramba wrote:

I am currently on Orange monthly unlimited at 3k. The speeds are good though after you go beyond 20gb they reduce to 256kbps as per their Fair Use Policy. I use the black modem.

I have just done a speedtest....

Speed Good.
D32
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 7:00:34 PM

D32 wrote:

Max speed is about 135 KB/s which is just over 1 Mbps, not sure if it is my location. I have a full signal.

Ngong
#17 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 2:14:48 PM

Best provider for a cyber of between 10 - 15 computers in Ngong?
otienosmall
#18 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 3:21:52 PM

Kihara joni wrote:

The Safcom wimax sounds like outright theft! I am on Zuku and I think they’ve really come of age. At 4k (triple pay) you get 10mbps, tv and phone and that speed is extremely fast. Comes with a router as well; I use smart tv on WiFi and gets zero buffering on streams. 1mbps internet alone which also streams well on both cable and WiFi will cost as little as 1,100/. I am however on optic fibre. Service payable via Mpesa
#19 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 3:48:16 PM

D32 wrote:
D32 wrote:

Is the speedtest for Airtel? Airtel is a very crap network. And considering it is now going to host the new MVNO i.e,Equity, Tangaza and the other one, you can expect muuuuuuuuuuch less quality service from them.

Go Zuku. I'm on the R20. Upgraded. I hear they're also testing 50mbps speeds. Don't know how true that is but let's wait and see.
#20 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2014 4:21:38 PM

No. 1 is Jamii. Hands down. The numbers they quote are the numbers you get. But you may have to move to "those areas" to get it.

No. 2 is Zuku. They have improved greatly. But for customer service please don't call them. Call the guy who's installing it for you, he'll tell you what's cutting.

Anything wimax is useless and you are being conned.

The others I don't use at all. Never ever will I pay for sijui 1mb limited. That is a mega fraud.