wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

How much sugar in your Coca Cola drink?
#1 Posted : Friday, May 09, 2014 8:29:24 PM

Journalist shows Coca Cola boss how much sugar is in their drink

Calls are growing for high sugar drinks to be taxed in the same way as cigarettes to curb rising obesity. Does the drinks industry's resistance echo that of the tobacco industry denial in the 1960s? Jeremy Paxman spoke to James Quincey, president of Coca Cola Europe.
#2 Posted : Saturday, May 10, 2014 12:33:34 AM

I know there are journalists here, mupeleke hii kwa press!! It makes no sense milk being much more expensive than poison, unless the ultimate goal is to kill everyone.

#3 Posted : Saturday, May 10, 2014 6:45:07 AM

My goodness! 23 sachets of sugar in such a small cup? I'm not touch Coca-Cola products again!
#4 Posted : Saturday, May 10, 2014 7:13:07 AM

zamani nilikuwa ninatandika hii kitu but siweki sukari kwa chai!! kumbe it was all pointless!!
jokes
#5 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 11:12:21 AM

Masukuma thats a good post

Do you know i use coca cola to wash my tools e.g hammers, pangas, jembes when they get rust and it workssmile

Do you know it can clean stained toilet bowls and tiles Think

there is a time i dried the coca for days in the sun, the amount of sugar left was like 3/4 full

i also put a nail in it for days. it dissolved the whole nailSad
#6 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 12:15:33 PM

Wah...Now is this the case with all their products or its just on coke?
jokes
#7 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 12:41:53 PM

I suspect they are even worse especially fanta,
but i haven't tested them
#8 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 1:29:20 PM

Stop the scaremongering. So how much "sugar" is in your average serving of ugali, now that all the ugali is broken down by your enzymes into simple sugar?

Carbohydrates can be chemically divided into complex and simple. Simple carbohydrates consist of single or double sugar units (monosaccharides and disaccharides, respectively). Sucrose or table sugar (a disaccharide) is a common example of a simple carbohydrate. Complex carbohydrates contain three or more sugar units linked in a chain, with most containing hundreds to thousands of sugar units. They are digested by enzymes to release the simple sugars. Starch, for example, is a polymer of glucose units and is typically broken down to glucose.

All carbohydrates share a general formula of approximately CnH2nOn; glucose is C6H12O6. Monosaccharides may be chemically bonded together to form disaccharides such as sucrose and longer polysaccharides such as starch and cellulose.
#9 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 1:37:24 PM

Stop the scaremongering. So how much "sugar" is in your average serving of ugali?

Carbohydrates can be chemically divided into complex and simple. Simple carbohydrates consist of single or double sugar units (monosaccharides and disaccharides, respectively). Sucrose or table sugar (a disaccharide) is a common example of a simple carbohydrate. Complex carbohydrates contain three or more sugar units linked in a chain, with most containing hundreds to thousands of sugar units. They are digested by enzymes to release the simple sugars. Starch, for example, is a polymer of glucose units and is typically broken down to glucose.

All carbohydrates share a general formula of approximately CnH2nOn; glucose is C6H12O6. Monosaccharides may be chemically bonded together to form disaccharides such as sucrose and longer polysaccharides such as starch and cellulose.

Ditto!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Any deaths or known ailments caused by sugar?What of me who as a canecutter who chews a lot of sugarcane?
Money Whisperer
#10 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 3:18:54 PM

the harm caused by sugars depends on lifestyle.
"Money never sleeps"
Muriel
#11 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 3:36:19 PM

del.
#12 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 4:30:20 PM

If you eat 1/4kg or 1/2kg of ugali or mukimo, all that starch will be turned into 'simple sugar' (monosaccharides) after digestion. Both table sugar (disaccharide) and the ugali (polysaccharide) will undergo similar fate in your body and be digested to end up as monosaccharides. Thus your 1/2kg of ugali we be converted into approx 1/2kg of sugar in your intestines, and absorbed into your body to provide energy.

So there is no need worrying about some 2 teaspoonfuls or so of sucrose in your tea or coke, while you are demolishing a whole mountain of ugali every meal time.

http://www.extension.iastate.edu/humansciences/content/carbohydrate
#13 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 7:45:09 PM

Stop the scaremongering. So how much "sugar" is in your average serving of ugali, now that all the ugali is broken down by your enzymes into simple sugar?

Asi! If its not encouraging adultery, its encouraging poisonSad

Most carbohydrates are broken down into glucose, the sugar your body uses to form energy. It either becomes stored energy in your muscles and liver, or your body uses it immediately. Refined sugar, the type you use in soda, is the molecule sucrose, made up of glucose and fructose.

Their absorption depends on their chemical and plant structures, food processing and food preparation. As a result, they have very different effects in the body.

The problem with refined sugar and the reason it contributes to obesity and chronic diseases, is its fast rate of metabolism, lack of healthy nutrients and inability to make you feel full. Sugar comes from sugar cane, yet extreme refinement has eliminated all of the fiber and plant nutrients. Refined sugar is quickly broken down into glucose and fructose. The increase in glucose spikes insulin and blood sugar levels, giving you a quick surge of energy. If you do not use this energy immediately, your body may turn it into fat. Fructose is metabolized in your liver and is absorbed at once, increasing fat cell production and workload on your liver. The quick digestion of refined sugar prevents fullness even after you drink a soda, making yo want more.

#14 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 11:38:12 PM

jokes wrote:

Do you know i use coca cola to wash my tools e.g hammers, pangas, jembes when they get rust and it workssmile

there is a time i dried the coca for days in the sun, the amount of sugar left was like 3/4 full

3/4 sugar? A can of coke is 330ml and about 330g. So you are saying that a can has about 250g of sugar? That can't be true otherwise it would be a syrup like honey. Infact, the labeling on the coke can says it contains 35g of sugar. A 300ml bottle has about 30g sugar.

To put that into perspective, a tea spoon normally contains about 5g sugar. So if you normally put '2 sugars' in your tea like i do, that's10g in a cup. If you normally take 2 cups at breakfast, 2 during 10 am tea, 2 cups at 4pm chai, and 3 cups in the evening, that's a total of 9 cups a day containing 90g of sugar........which is the equivalent of about 3 bottles/cans of coke each day.

Thus if you take a 200ml glass of soda at 4pm instead of tea/coffee, it means you are taking the same amount of sugar (20g) you would have taken in the tea. So usiogope soda.
#15 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 11:42:23 PM

jokes wrote:

3/4 sugar? A can of coke is 330ml and about 330g. So you are saying that coke has about 250g of sugar? That can't be true otherwise it would be a syrup like honey. Intact, the labeling on the coke can says it contains 35g of sugar. A 300ml bottle has about 30g sugar.

To put that into perspective, a tea spoon normally contains about 5g sugar. So if you normally put '2 sugars' in your tea like i do, that's10g in a cup. If you normally take 2 cups at breakfast, 2 during 10 am tea, 2 cups at 4pm chai, and 3 cups in the evening, that's a total of 9 cups a day containing 90g of sugar........which is the equivalent of about 3 bottles/cans of coke each day. Thus if you take a 200ml glass of soda at 4pm instead of tea/coffee, it means you are taking the same amount of sugar (20g) you would have taken in the tea.

Hei pwana, hiyo shai si mingi sana pwana? vane.
#16 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 11:54:21 PM

jokes wrote:

3/4 sugar? A can of coke is 330ml and about 330g. So you are saying that coke has about 250g of sugar? That can't be true otherwise it would be a syrup like honey. Intact, the labeling on the coke can says it contains 35g of sugar. A 300ml bottle has about 30g sugar.

To put that into perspective, a tea spoon normally contains about 5g sugar. So if you normally put '2 sugars' in your tea like i do, that's10g in a cup. If you normally take 2 cups at breakfast, 2 during 10 am tea, 2 cups at 4pm chai, and 3 cups in the evening, that's a total of 9 cups a day containing 90g of sugar........which is the equivalent of about 3 bottles/cans of coke each day. Thus if you take a 200ml glass of soda at 4pm instead of tea/coffee, it means you are taking the same amount of sugar (20g) you would have taken in the tea.

Hei pwana, hiyo shai si mingi sana pwana? vane.

I see some wazee wanaletewa chai na birika/thermos ........that's about 2litres of chai. That's taking about 100g of sugar in one sitting.
jokes
#17 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 11:03:03 AM

jokes wrote:

3/4 sugar? A can of coke is 330ml and about 330g. So you are saying that a can has about 250g of sugar? That can't be true otherwise it would be a syrup like honey. Infact, the labeling on the coke can says it contains 35g of sugar. A 300ml bottle has about 30g sugar.

To put that into perspective, a tea spoon normally contains about 5g sugar. So if you normally put '2 sugars' in your tea like i do, that's10g in a cup. If you normally take 2 cups at breakfast, 2 during 10 am tea, 2 cups at 4pm chai, and 3 cups in the evening, that's a total of 9 cups a day containing 90g of sugar........which is the equivalent of about 3 bottles/cans of coke each day.

Thus if you take a 200ml glass of soda at 4pm instead of tea/coffee, it means you are taking the same amount of sugar (20g) you would have taken in the tea. So usiogope soda.

I can see you have only focused on the sugar.
But remember i did it practically just try it.
Myself i don't care if people take all the sugar they want,
in fact i recommend shark its much faster.

Let me focus on the practical uses of coca cola other than drinking it that i do;

I use it to shine the chrome wheels of my car,

clean off oil stains in the garage, car, clothes etc

Remove rust from the garage tools, farm implements and Maasai sword etc

Remove stains from the toilet bowl,

Use it to clean the battery terminals.

There some guys who use it to clean their car engines. I have not tried this. Too scared my car conks out.

when i was younger i used it to dread my hair and turn it into a nice brown colour.smile

kamundu
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 7:35:02 PM

jokes wrote:

A bottle of 300ml of fanta has 15 teaspoonfuls of white sugar
Peace in our Homeland.
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 8:10:39 AM

kamundu wrote:
jokes wrote:

With such quantities of sugar,do they make a profit?
Muriel
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:22:49 AM

kamundu wrote:
jokes wrote:

With such quantities of sugar,do they make a profit?

More sugar, more sweetness, more desire, more purchases, more cha-ching!