wazua Thu, May 2, 2024

mabati houses for rental
BAAK
#1 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 1:25:00 PM

Good people,how much would it cost to do 30 Mabati houses (2- rooms each) for rental purposes say in the city outskirts and on a half acre plot? And what would be the lifespan of such structures. Assume there is regular maintenance?Assume standard finishes so as to attract a rent of at least KShs. 1,500/- per unit per month.
LimuruBoy
#2 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 9:44:00 PM

Consider this: My grandfather bought a quater acre plot in Nanyuki town back in 1951. On it was 17 mud roomed rooms for rent. Today 58 years later,those mud rooms still stand and are still collecting monthly rent. A few renovations are neccesary every now and then,but the point is...they're still there. And that is just mud. Ofcourse mabati is more durable than mud....so my guess is as good as yours that they will last for a long long looong time. Temporary structures have a bad name with people - but people don't pay you cold hard cash. Tenants do. I would definately build them.

'All they see is my glory...they don't know my pain. Nothing good comes easy in life.' - Multibillionaire Nelson Muguku Njoroge
BAAK
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 6:04:00 PM

Limuruman

Brick houses 58 yrs later n still going strong? Well that's unbelievable!

Well,my main issue is the difference in cost btwn a classic mabati structure & a masonry structure. Would it be more cost effective to do 30 single rooms in masonry instead of 30 double rooms in Mabati and charge the same rent or slightly more... assuming the cost of foundation and roofing will not be very different for both cases? One disadvantage with Mabati has to be effect of the vagaries of weather...and noise..But they are still not bad 4 investment..

What figures are we talking about? Do we have any construction gurus in the house?
Theuri? Mzee wa Kazi? reith?

As an Skerian,I acknowledge that I have benefited immensely from the info posted here by others. There4,I promise to assist others in the same way by responding to request for info,as long as am privileged in the subject issue
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2009 5:52:00 AM

@BAAK,

Maybe you can find out more about SIP panel houses from this guys.Am also interested to know more about their house plans and pricing.Awaiting their reply.

http://www.a4architect.c...eturn-on-investment-3/.

office located along University Way,Anniversary Towers,Mezzanine floor next to KCB Bank.

Yombo dhier....!!
a4architect
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2009 7:37:00 AM

An average 2 roomed mabati house will cost ksh 60,000 to build..without concrete foundation.
The thickness of the mabati is key to the longevity ..in kenya we have gauge 28-thickest at approx.ksh 500 per square meter,gauge 30 at appr. 400ksh per square meter and gauge 32 at ksh 250 per square meter. Gauge 28 will last 20 years,gauge 30,10 years and gauge 32 5 years approx.
www.a4architect.com

www.prismafrica.com
BAAK
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2009 9:01:00 AM

aaARCHITECT
The longevity periods you have indicated… I guess you are referring to iron sheets used for roofing,since they are exposed to the vagaries of weather directly.. RIGHT? and I guess this should apply to any other structure as long as the roof is in iron sheets…Otherwise me thinks Mabati used for walling should last at least a lifetime as long as they are painted and shielded from rain and direct sunshine..

Thanx for your insight,your site is creative & offers some interesting info…

How much would a standard foundation for a one storey structure cost per square meter? Assuming red soil?

As an Skerian,I acknowledge that I have benefited immensely from the info posted here by others. There4,I promise to assist others in the same way by responding to request for info,as long as am privileged in the subject issue..SK Pledge..
rookey
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2009 9:52:00 AM

thats a nice idea

LATEST MOVIES & TV SERIES FOR ONLY 100 BOB. FREE DELIVERY

CALL 0725172440 DIALMOVIEZ@GMAIL.COM
LimuruBoy
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 3:37:00 AM

@Baak,nice topic here. I have also gained good info from that poster who gave costs of putting up mabati rooms. Infact the more I read into this,the more I want to invest this way...it's alot better than having an empty sitting plot. Baak,if u don't mind my asking...where is the plot you are considering building? And how far from road? Also how big is it?

'All they see is my glory...they don't know my pain. Nothing good comes easy in life.'
- Multibillionaire Nelson Muguku Njoroge
tamtam
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 02, 2009 9:55:00 AM

How much would a medium sized 3 br low cost material house cost on average. Anyone with an idea?

Precious
The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
a4architect
#10 Posted : Friday, July 03, 2009 7:13:00 AM

the average cost of a complete house is anything between ksh 18,000 to ksh 36,000 per square meter depending on the quality of finishes. An average 3 bedroomed house is 100 square meters.

www.a4architect.com
www.prismafrica.com
tamtam
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 3:05:00 PM

@a4Arch...... i lost the name

Thanks a lot for the insight.

Precious
The shifts of Fortune test the reliability of friends
Waria
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2009 3:48:00 PM

@ a4A

Do these conform to ncc bylaws/ other laws ie Whats the risk of demolition and can you build them anywhere or only in the slum area,I have empty lots in embakasi,kayole,kitengela

great site btw

Me first,U next
skinny
#13 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 1:25:00 PM

@ Kint Mint

please give ur email address or fone number for more biz

mtaa do wat?
BAAK
#14 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 2:18:00 PM

That’s great analysis,Kint. You must be a very experienced QS I guess. Now,assuming each unit has two rooms only with a footprint of 18 sq meter (table room & sitting room),what would be the approximate total cost of construction for 30 units?

As an Skerian,I acknowledge that I have benefited immensely from the info posted here by others. There4,I promise to assist others in the same way by responding to request for info,as long as am privileged in the subject issue..SK Pledge..
kint mint
#15 Posted : Friday, July 10, 2009 3:53:00 PM

@skinny am a quantity surveyor hope you have business of that nature,as in I give cost estimates and all..contract advice etc.....number is 0726083081...holla!

@baak,I will undertake to give you an analysis and approximate estimate, expect it on monday morning...on the experience thing....am young,bright &..reliable..cheers!

De la Rue SniPer chasing that paper..
Braza
#16 Posted : Saturday, July 11, 2009 12:53:00 PM

.....contribution of the month!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.............KUDOS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Consistency requires you to be as ignorant today as you were a year ago.
Admin, Luckily; age will one day transform me into an Elder.
JkMwatha
#17 Posted : Saturday, July 11, 2009 2:52:00 PM

@kint mint - I spoke to you earlier today. Send me the same details requested by BAAK. Also check your email.
mungaits
#18 Posted : Thursday, December 26, 2013 5:05:42 PM

Hi @BAAK, hope you are keeping well. Did you ever biuld the mabati houses?

Kindly share your experience.

Asante
Burning Spear
#19 Posted : Friday, December 27, 2013 11:55:19 AM

a4architect wrote:
An average 2 roomed mabati house will cost ksh 60,000 to build..without concrete foundation.
The thickness of the mabati is key to the longevity ..in kenya we have gauge 28-thickest at approx.ksh 500 per square meter,gauge 30 at appr. 400ksh per square meter and gauge 32 at ksh 250 per square meter. Gauge 28 will last 20 years,gauge 30,10 years and gauge 32 5 years approx.
www.a4architect.com

www.prismafrica.com

I have seen many structures last more and more years with gauge 32. I think five is verly low.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
a4architect.com
#20 Posted : Monday, December 30, 2013 12:32:49 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
a4architect wrote:
www.a4architect.com

www.prismafrica.com

@burning spear

I have seen many structures last more and more years with gauge 32. I think five is verly low.

It depends on location. Locations along the coast rust faster. Locations near water eg bathrooms rust faster.
Also, if the quality of the galvanisation is poor, it will rust faster.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.