wazua Sat, Apr 20, 2024

9 Pages«<45678>»
KCB or Equity Bank?
tinker
#101 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 2:32:00 PM

FUNKY wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Equity-to-switch-Sh150bn-State-bonds-for-SME-loans/539546-5109052-view-asAMP-pwuv08z/index.html?__twitter_impression=true

Time to load more member shares I predict price to rise between 60-70 levels

Member CEO is a smart guy, he noticed T-Bills returns are in decline and that, if things goes the same way, then, Govt may defaultsmile .
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#102 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 2:35:30 PM

tinker wrote:
FUNKY wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Equity-to-switch-Sh150bn-State-bonds-for-SME-loans/539546-5109052-view-asAMP-pwuv08z/index.html?__twitter_impression=true

Member CEO is a smart guy, he noticed T-Bills returns are in decline and that, if things goes the same way, then, Govt may defaultsmile .

Things are not rosy huko fixed income muziki iko karibu kuisha.... The govt just has a lot of repayment pressure coming its way...
Horton
#103 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 2:53:52 PM

tinker wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Things are not rosy huko fixed income musiki iko karibu kuisha.... The govt just has a lot of repayment pressure coming its way...

Yep loaded today at 39/-
Ericsson
#104 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 3:25:52 PM

FUNKY wrote:

Hii ni PR tupu.
Look at the economic stats of last year and see the growth in private sector credit
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ebenyo
#105 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 4:41:29 PM

Non performing loans over loan book
kcb-7%
equity-8%
Loan loss provision over loan book
kcb-3%
equity-3%
interest expense over interest income
equity-22%
kcb-26%
Based on this stat,decision is personal.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Ebenyo
#106 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 5:12:20 PM

FUNKY wrote:

This is a very good move from Equity.
Though It looks like rivalry with kcb.
Equity current loan book is kshs 297,226,915,000 billion,while kcb current loan book is kshs 455,880,284,000 billion.
If you add the 150 billion into Equity loan book,it becomes kshs 447,226,915,000! nearly to kcb.
But kcb has already acquired NBK and imperial bank which means there will be increase of their loan book too!

Towards the goal of financial freedom
#107 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 7:40:31 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Equity current loan book is kshs 297,226,915,000 billion,while kcb current loan book is kshs 455,880,284,000 billion.
If you add the 150 billion into Equity loan book,it becomes kshs 447,226,915,000! nearly to kcb.
But kcb has already acquired NBK and imperial bank which means there will be increase of their loan book too!

SME lending in the current economic situation?

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ericsson
#108 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 8:03:42 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

That's what I'm wondering.

#109 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 8:16:11 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

there is still guys to lend to ~ fuliza etc
#110 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 8:21:31 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Check out the default rates on SME and revert.. Note Fuliza is primarily a consumer lending line and not SME

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
tandich
#111 Posted : Friday, May 10, 2019 11:30:01 PM

[Deleted]

Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Ericsson
#112 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2019 6:52:50 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

Check out the default rates on SME and revert.. Note Fuliza is primarily a consumer lending line and not SME

James Mwangi takes Kenyans to be fools who don't understand the economy.
#113 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2019 12:10:41 PM

tandich wrote:
[Deleted]

Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

I bet they will do this gradually... The best trading days at the Bond market rarely goes above 5Bn....Average daily turnover is like 1.5Bn....

It will take quite a bit of time to offload the bonds..... One thing I know the profit they will book out of this process will be out of this world...

They sit on papers issued at very nice rates...
shocks
#114 Posted : Sunday, May 12, 2019 1:10:13 AM

tandich wrote:
[Deleted]

Ebenyo wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

I bet they will do this gradually... The best trading days at the Bond market rarely goes above 5Bn....Average daily turnover is like 1.5Bn....

It will take quite a bit of time to offload the bonds..... One thing I know the profit they will book out of this process will be out of this world...

They sit on papers issued at very nice rates...

When they sell they will just realise their paper profits, otherwise they have been booking those gains under "Fair value changes in available for sale financial assets"
There will be a big effect on the cash flow statement but not much on the profit and loss statement
JoeNgugi
#115 Posted : Monday, May 13, 2019 8:08:52 AM

'There will be a big effect on the cash flow statement but not much on the profit and loss statement'

Is the effect expected soon, or are they going to give it time and how for how long?
Ericsson
#116 Posted : Wednesday, October 09, 2019 5:50:55 PM

Kcb share price on upward trend while equity bank on downward.
Kcb has just completed acquisition of NBK while equity bank is in the process of acquiring Atlas mara banking assets
#117 Posted : Wednesday, October 09, 2019 7:21:08 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Kcb has just completed acquisition of NBK while equity bank is in the process of acquiring Atlas mara banking assets
The direction of the price of the shares doesn't determine the future performance.

NBK gives KCB guaranteed business from GoK but where there's no GoK how does KCB perform vs Equity?

What's the potential growth in the new markets vs Kenya?
young
#118 Posted : Wednesday, October 09, 2019 7:31:32 PM

Ericsson wrote:

To me based on their current prices, Equity is underpriced , it should be at par with KCB if not higher.
But from dividend angle and for dividend hunters like me, please give me more KCB and take away your Equity.
WHY ?
3.5 bob VS 2.0 bob dividend the difference is clear.
KCB also paying dividend twice (interim and final) is also salulatory to us non resident foreigners and retirees like me (income).
KCB is a balanced counter , investing in growth and also compensating shareholders accordingly . Equity is on aggressive growth only .

Different strokes to different folks.
Strictly old papa mzee@Young opinion .
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
Horton
#119 Posted : Wednesday, October 09, 2019 8:01:26 PM

young wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

To me based on their current prices, Equity is underpriced , it should be at par with KCB if not higher.
But from dividend angle and for dividend hunters like me, please give me more KCB and take away your Equity.
WHY ?
KCB also paying dividend twice (interim and final) is also salulatory to us non resident foreigners and retirees like me (income).
KCB is a balanced counter , investing in growth and also compensating shareholders accordingly . Equity is on aggressive growth only .

Mzee Young. Kindly look at the market caps for Equity and KCB respectively:
Equity 135.662B
KCB 134.3B

Equity shares issued 3.769B
KCB shares issued: 3.213B

PE:
EQUITY : 7.2
KCB: 5.8

Ericsson
#120 Posted : Wednesday, October 09, 2019 8:11:59 PM

Horton wrote:
young wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

WHY ?

Mzee Young. Kindly look at the market caps for Equity and KCB respectively:
Equity 135.662B
KCB 134.3B

Equity shares issued 3.769B
KCB shares issued: 3.213B

PE:
EQUITY : 7.2
KCB: 5.8

KCB is the one that seems undervalued