wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Hizi MasterCard za Equity ni fake!!!
Vallerrie
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 12:35:17 PM

Mine keeps being declined even though I have funds in my account?
Ugh! I do a lot of online shopping and this thing is just pissing me off. My CFC Stanbic Visa Card works like charm so I know the problem is with Equity.
Why am I even still with them????
Mist
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:15:58 PM

Vallerrie,have you tried upgrading your online limit ? could be the problem.
Had one and they told me that default is 2k (for security) so you need to upgrade.
Simplicity is the utmost sophistication.
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 2:32:09 PM

Mist wrote:
Had one and they told me that default is 2k (for security) so you need to upgrade.

Same here infact was there yesterday filled limit form told me to wait for 24hrs i have just tried to purchase something online got the same message from vendor called customer care was told limit has not been changed .How long did you have to wait for limit to be upgraded. @Val confirm your email and address with the bank it also brings issues if they are not corresponding
Mist
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 3:08:24 PM

madollar wrote:
Mist wrote:

Same here infact was there yesterday filled limit form told me to wait for 24hrs i have just tried to purchase something online got the same message from vendor called customer care was told limit has not been changed .How long did you have to wait for limit to be upgraded. @Val confirm your email and address with the bank it also brings issues if they are not corresponding

They said 24 hrs too and it was up and running after the 24.NB I did mine at their H/O
Simplicity is the utmost sophistication.
Vallerrie
#5 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 10:19:12 AM

Thanks guys, see I wouldn't have known that had I not posted here...you're the best!
#6 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 11:30:24 AM

Vallerrie wrote:
Thanks guys, see I wouldn't have known that had I not posted here...you're the best!

why not edit the title of this topic then? not kosher to call them fake when it was all about your fake understanding of the matter.
#7 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 11:31:57 AM

Mist wrote:
madollar wrote:
Mist wrote:

They said 24 hrs too and it was up and running after the 24.NB I did mine at their H/O

visited my branch today ati they forgot to send the limit form to H/O wasted 2 days calling customer care
@Val if possible use the head office it will save you alot of headache or do follow ups if you are using your branch
Vallerrie
#8 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 12:02:45 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Vallerrie wrote:

why not edit the title of this topic then? not kosher to call them fake when it was all about your fake understanding of the matter.

Well its still fake. What kind of bank sets a 2k online limit? Kwani ni shylock?
Secondly, I shouldn't have to come to Wazua to find such things out, it should be clearly explained to me as a client, at the point of obtaining the card.
So yes, hizi Mastercard za Equity ni fake.
meme
#9 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 1:39:27 PM

Valerie, there has been and there still is alot if online fraud. That explains the reason as to why the limit of the mastercard online transaction is 2000 bob.

So actually its not a fake bank . You just lack the info.
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
accelriskconsult
#10 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 3:06:11 PM

meme wrote:
Valerie, there has been and there still is alot if online fraud. That explains the reason as to why the limit of the mastercard online transaction is 2000 bob.

1. Why don't they explain that as part of their customer on boarding process?

2. What can you buy for 2000 bob? Shoes? books? Air line tickets? hotel bookings?

Kwa ni PK nanunua ndiyo nikubali hiyo limit?

Vallerrie
#11 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 3:39:52 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
meme wrote:

1. Why don't they explain that as part of their customer on boarding process?

2. What can you buy for 2000 bob? Shoes? books? Air line tickets? hotel bookings?

Kwa ni PK nanunua ndiyo nikubali hiyo limit?

Thank you accelriskconsult! My sentiments exactly
#12 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 3:44:29 PM

2k for a mastercard to be used for on-line purchases ... ridiculous
Vallerrie
#13 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 3:58:13 PM

2k for a mastercard to be used for on-line purchases ... ridiculous

That's what I'm saying!
I mean, fraud exists everywhere, including ATMs so what, they gon give us a 2k limit for ATM withdrawals too?
bird_man
#14 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 5:30:58 PM

Online fraud is waaay easier than ATM fraud.I usually wonder why on earth you would want to do online shopping with a card linked to your bank account....thats just irresponsible.Get a special card for online shopping where you load only what you want to spend.Think I&M Safaricom Card,NationHela,KCB shopping card etc.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
meme
#15 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 6:54:10 PM

Yes, the bank SHOULD inform you about that limit. BUT show me a bank in our country that actuallly does that. It really isnt fair to demonise one bank for a practise or lack therefore that is widespread in the industry.

@bird_man.

your very right. You should Never use a card that is linked to your main account. That safaricom card is superb.
#16 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 7:27:19 PM

This data being thrown around here about online fraud. Iko wapi?

Can you compare kenyan online fraud with mpesa fraud please before making such statements.

The world revolves around online transactions but the banks here want to say you can only spend 2k? Asi!

They should just hire people who know what they are saying. Most of those working there don't even have a clue what paypal means. So how can they be masters of "online fraud".

Aii...2k? Leave that bank alone.
meme
#17 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 7:39:01 PM

@ Alma. The 'world' revolves around online transactions. I concur. BUT kenya.... no way. Online and merchant transactions in kenya account for less than 5% of all financial transactions.

Some people such as yourself and myself use our cards online. We understand the risks involved.

Kindly tell me what is so difficult about making a request to have your card limit moved up all the way to 150,000 if you so wish.
Can you imagine the havoc cyber criminals would unleash if every Equity mastercard had such a limit. ?
#18 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 7:44:10 PM

meme wrote:
@ Alma. The 'world' revolves around online transactions. I concur. BUT kenya.... no way. Online and merchant transactions in kenya account for less than 5% of all financial trandactions.

Some people such as yourself and myself use our cards online. We understand the risks involved.

Kindly tell me what is so difficult about making a request to have your card limit moved up all the way to 150,000 if you so wish.
Can you imagine the havoc you would umleash if every Equity mastercard had such a limit. ?

What are you trying to say. That Kenyans can't transact more than 2k online. If you are buying something online, you need your money.

Online unfortunately also means AROUND THE WORLD.

No wonder Kenyans are slow in adopting debit cards etd.

Equity never goes at a loss for their mastercard fraud. Mastercard does. Maybe that's the little lie being told.

What they don't want to do is to hire credit control and risk managers to deal with the issue.

But lying that online fraud is going to kill Kenyans is a lie. In 14 yrs of using online systems I've never been conned. Somehow you get your money back. One way or the other.

But I've been conned a number of times on Mpesa with no chance of ever getting the cash.
meme
#19 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 7:48:52 PM

They should just hire people who know what they are saying. Most of those working there don't even have a clue what paypal means. So how can they be masters of "online fraud".

Mmmmh.... @Alma.... we are not relating the online fraud per se to Paypal. Yes? ok.

2. Most organisations have what we call product training for staff. It is impossible for them not to have done so. Remember this is the ONLY bank receiving paypal payments in Kenya.
#20 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 7:52:31 PM

meme wrote:

Mmmmh.... @Alma.... we are not relating the online fraud per se to Paypal. Yes? ok.

2. Most organisations have what we call product training for staff. It is impossible for them not to have done so. Remember this is the ONLY bank receiving paypal payments in Kenya.

There is theory then there is fact. Take a trip to equete branch and find out the facts.

They didn't even know what it was until akowally wrote a post about it. And they still don't know. I know they don't coz they still ask me.

Maybe I should do their staff training for them. I can see a katender coming. nkt!

Online fraud my foot!