wazua Thu, Apr 25, 2024

Kenya Should Ban Bitcoins As Well
mnunuzi
#1 Posted : Monday, February 10, 2014 4:53:47 PM

Bitcoin would kill our finance sector, it crashed 80% in seconds. from circa $600 to $108. Now imagine a client who had saved 100million in form of bitcoins, with no hedge...
mnunuzi
#2 Posted : Monday, February 10, 2014 5:03:46 PM

sl8r
#3 Posted : Friday, February 14, 2014 2:48:31 PM

Mpesa and bitcoin are pretty much VERY similar. The only difference is that Bitcoin is not and accepted as a currency, hence the fluctuations amongst other things. If was much easier to transact using bitcoin than it is using mpesa, then that is the death of Mpesa
hisah
#4 Posted : Friday, February 14, 2014 3:10:30 PM

mnunuzi wrote:
http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2014-02-10/bitcoin-flash-crashes-drops-80-seconds

Just had a look at the bitcoin 5yr chart.

SMH... Many guys will be caught naked. Two upthrust in 2013 (Apr and Dec) indicate that the price will nosedive below 100 handle. It seems incredible right now, but this is coming! And it will be one mighty fall...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#5 Posted : Friday, February 14, 2014 3:56:38 PM

sl8r wrote:
Mpesa and bitcoin are pretty much VERY similar. The only difference is that Bitcoin is not and accepted as a currency, hence the fluctuations amongst other things. If was much easier to transact using bitcoin than it is using mpesa, then that is the death of Mpesa

I disagree
Rollout
#6 Posted : Friday, February 14, 2014 5:20:29 PM

sl8r wrote:

I disagree

I strongly disagree
#7 Posted : Saturday, February 15, 2014 2:40:13 AM

sl8r wrote:

Bitcoin equivalent to mpesa? aiii
#8 Posted : Saturday, February 15, 2014 7:25:37 AM

Rollout wrote:
sl8r wrote:

I disagree

I strongly disagree

Totally disagree. mpesa is backed by cash, it is NOT a substitute for cash. To get mpesa, you have to give out cash. Maybe you were talking of banglapesa, which is not cash but used as cash.
#9 Posted : Saturday, February 15, 2014 8:11:31 AM

mnunuzi wrote:
Bitcoin would kill our finance sector, it crashed 80% in seconds. from circa $600 to $108. Now imagine a client who had saved 100million in form of bitcoins, with no hedge...

So why should it be banned in Kenya?

I don't see how it kills our finance sector if it is not part of the finance sector.

Maybe you work in a Bank and you are afraid of losing your job if BC goes mainstream.
stockshunter
#10 Posted : Sunday, February 16, 2014 8:35:39 PM

mnunuzi wrote:

The person who saved that amount must have been a fool not worth the money he had since how can you give out cash in exchange for e-money which is not recognised by any nation or state? I know there are laws in kenya which legalize M-pesa. The person does not differ from a village fool who gives his money to a con pastor in hope that when the prayers are over he will open his eyes and find the money has doubled. Am sure wazuas are intelligent enough not to fall into this one. If I may ask did u keep quals in your backyard? coz currently am sure you don't know where to take the birds.
fear makes people live a miserable life.
Candlesticks
#11 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 8:45:45 AM

What beats the most... is it a currency,,,,a security or a payment system. As a Payment system< PERFECT!! as a security and Currency major FLOP !!

Read More Here http://themarkettrends.w...curity-a-payment-system/
"'Nowadays people know the price of everything and the value of nothing.' - Oscar Wilde.
mnunuzi
#12 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 9:43:07 AM

mnunuzi wrote:

So why should it be banned in Kenya?

I don't see how it kills our finance sector if it is not part of the finance sector.

Maybe you work in a Bank and you are afraid of losing your job if BC goes mainstream.

Its down 77% in two weeks (950-220). You don't see anything wrong with that? I don't work for any bank. There is an upside to financial regulation, otherwise it would be insane to have a substantial amount of your savings in Bitcoin.
Scenario?
"Monday your cousin from US is sending you $100,000 worth of Bitcoins, account for delays, two weeks later you finally manage to exchange your Bitcoins for real cash, then the banker shocks you with a $33,000 check", now magnify to billions, see where it would place us.
reymarkperry
#13 Posted : Monday, May 12, 2014 12:51:53 PM

@Blythe1984: If you still can’t wrap your head around bitcoin, here is an infographic to help you understand its concept better: http://bitcoindaily.com/...ly-bitcoin-infographics/
mnandii
#14 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2015 12:54:49 PM

Hmnh!
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
hisah
#15 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2015 2:22:19 PM

hisah wrote:
mnunuzi wrote:
http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2014-02-10/bitcoin-flash-crashes-drops-80-seconds

Just had a look at the bitcoin 5yr chart.

SMH... Many guys will be caught naked. Two upthrust in 2013 (Apr and Dec) indicate that the price will nosedive below 100 handle. It seems incredible right now, but this is coming! And it will be one mighty fall...

Whoa! When I made this observation on BTC back in Feb 14 2014 the price was @423. Currently it's trading @241. I still maintain the observation that it will head towards 100.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#16 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2015 5:08:39 PM

sl8r wrote:

Bitcoin equivalent to mpesa? aiii

Kabz, kumbe unakuanga huku?
#17 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2015 5:22:29 PM

All bubbles burst.
Boris Boyka
#18 Posted : Monday, September 07, 2015 5:35:14 PM

All bubbles burst.

Is Real estate a bubble? Has it burst?
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 08, 2015 7:41:49 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
All bubbles burst.

Is Real estate a bubble? Has it burst?

No
mic_mic
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 08, 2015 7:04:30 PM

Letme (kindly) educate some of you who have no idea what they are talking about

Soma, jierevushe

10 differences between Mpesa and Bitcoin

https://pesaafrica.wordp...or-images-of-each-other/
BITCOIN TRADERS KENYA Whatsapp group +254 705 299 429