wazua Fri, May 24, 2024

17 Pages«<23456>»
Nairobi Rains
#61 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2014 12:42:20 AM

has the pijoti man been spotted? The he whose wipers never work and he has to get his head out of the car whenever it rains? smile
#62 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2014 12:47:39 AM

Del.
subzero
#63 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2014 7:52:55 AM

the current rains are as a result of tropical storm Fobane in the indian ocean, which has since dissipated

http://www.sciencecodex.com/nasa_still_sees_some_high_thunderstorms_in_tropical_cyclone_fobane-127712
#64 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2016 8:07:40 PM

#65 Posted : Friday, April 29, 2016 8:10:05 PM

#66 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 11:18:21 AM

STATEMENT FROM NAIROBI CITY COUNTY GOVERNOR, DR EVANS KIDERO REGARDING THE FLOODS AND HEAVY DOWN POUR IN THE CITY OF NAIROBI

Good morning,

First and foremost my sincere condolences for the loss of lives and destruction of property that occurred in our beloved City as a consequence of the worst floods this year.  I am deeply saddened by the scenes, pictures and videos of the aftermath of yesterday's heavy rains. My prayers and thoughts are with all those who have been affected in one way or the other.

The steady rain that has been pounding the City for the last 3 days reached an all time high of 80mm against an expected normal rainfall of 12mm.  The City is likely to continue receiving more than average rainfall.  The City will be subjected to increased incidents of flooding on the roads, destruction of properties, public open spaces and flooding of rivers which result in traffic congestion, inconvenience to residents and sometimes injuries and fatalities.

The Nairobi City County Government will continue to mobilize resources to attenuate and mitigate the severity and impact of the floods. At the same time the County Government wishes to highlight some of the challenges hampering effective operation of the drainage system and flood control.
These include;

1. Encroachment and obstruction of riparian reserves, natural water courses and drainage wayleaves and denial of access to drainage outfalls. 

2. Indiscriminate disposal of solid waste consisting of excavated soils, construction debris and garbage onto water courses, road reserves and sewerage system restricting the proper functioning of the system. 

3. Unsupervised poorly constructed and undersized storm water drainage infrastructure. 

4. Passage of water pipes, telecommunication cables and other services through drainage infrastructure. 

5. Depleted seepage zone due increased urban roof and impervious ground cover not matched by increase in capacity of the drainages system 

6. Blocking of drains for urban agricultural activities 

7. Informal Settlements on low lying areas and flood plains. 

8. Deposition of soil into wetlands and marshy areas which affects land drainage and the ecosystem. 

9. Physical developments and have preceded development of supporting infrastructure such as roads and drainage. 

10. Blockage caused by debris trapped by grills installed across drains. 

11. Landscaping on frontages which hinders discharge of storm water into the drain. 

Nairobi residents and members of the public are urged to co-operate with Nairobi City County and National Government officials and their agencies to facilitate works to improve the drainage system.

Furthermore, residents are urged to dispose their solid waste responsibly, as this poses the biggest challenge to drainage system.  The Nairobi City County Government also advices that fees for minor domestic drainage clearing, improvement and maintenance works have been waived during this period. Where the scope of the works is large in magnitude and affect large areas, persons are encouraged to contact the County Government for technical advice and assistance.

The Nairobi City County Government urges all residents to take care of their frontages and ensure the drainage infrastructure is free of debris. 
Please oblige in order to make Nairobi a Better City with Better Life. 

I want to extend my sincere appreciation to the emergency service personnel, army  and volunters for their well coordinated response to this disaster.  The loss suffered would have been far greater without the skill, dedication, compassion, and sacrifice of these emergency responders.

DR. EVANS O. KIDERO, MBS 
GOVERNOR, NAIROBI CITY COUNTY

For more information on the floods and Roads situation please get in touch with our Chief Officer Roads and Transport Engineer Michael Ngari on 0700468381 or  0722 516031 or County Executive Mohamed Abdullahi on +254728490590

Kind regards,
#67 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 11:25:01 AM

The good thing about the statement above is that they didn't mention bananas.

But seriously. Just as we ask the Jubilee gov't to account for the past 4 years, the same should be asked of this governor.

All those things mentioned above are things that were there before him and he promised to deal with them. He's now admitting he never has.

Too busy planting grass.

Kwanza this one is pretty annoying when you think about it

1. Encroachment and obstruction of riparian reserves, natural water courses and drainage wayleaves and denial of access to drainage outfalls.

My goodness, those encroaching and obstructing actually get their building licenses form you guessed it. Kidero's office.

kiash
#68 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 2:57:58 PM

Poople yell day in day out what Jubilee has done but very few ask what Kidero has done. Especially his fellow "partymates". I agree the rains might have been more than expected or more than usual but kidero is to blame almost 100%.He has put into office inefficient team and these are just the results.Coat hanging employees. Now he will ask for help from NYS. What happened to the drainage unclogging they did last time it rained? and people continue to pay their rates to pay people who do not work.
Is there someone who goes around to check drainage system? things done in ushamba system by a team led by a DR d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#69 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 4:01:35 PM

kama wewe ni mkulima ni ma giggles tuu.................
#70 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 4:02:54 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

obviously you are not a farmer

#71 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 6:16:26 PM

#72 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 6:18:57 PM

it's only babies that should be cleaned after!! hizo ma plastic bottles zilitupwa hapo na mtu ako na akili zake! Tuwache utoto! Nani anakufa? Ni Kidero?
#73 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 6:42:25 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

obviously you are not a farmer

Clearly.
#74 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 7:33:02 PM

it's only babies that should be cleaned after!! hizo ma plastic bottles zilitupwa hapo na mtu ako na akili zake! Tuwache utoto! Nani anakufa? Ni Kidero?

You know I've seen scientific proof that plastic bottles can kill an ocean. yet to see science that says that plastic bottles shall bring a house down.

Now that's new.

A house that is condemned then you say plastic bottles. Hata wewe masukuma tafadhali. Hii mambo youi leave to reddykuluss. It was a comedy show.

#75 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 7:46:42 PM

Kidero's statement has valid points but he forgot to mention that its his job to ensure that disasters like these never happen. Who should collect gabbage? Who should unblock the drains, who should enforce the building standards, who should regulate where the telecoms lay their fiber?
kayhara
#76 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 8:12:39 PM

Kidero's statement has valid points but he forgot to mention that its his job to ensure that disasters like these never happen. Who should collect gabbage? Who should unblock the drains, who should enforce the building standards, who should regulate where the telecoms lay their fiber?

The county should, if you go for permit they issue you and tell you to pay cash for restoration of the roads or pavements affected, but the county does not re-do the pavements, that's the reason Nairobi looks like a cattle pen.
To Each His Own
#77 Posted : Saturday, April 30, 2016 8:22:01 PM

kayhara wrote:

The county should, if you go for permit they issue you and tell you to pay cash for restoration of the roads or pavements affected, but the county does not re-do the pavements, that's the reason Nairobi looks like a cattle pen.

what permit

you know we think this is a joke. As usual we take it as usual biachara.

biachara because even if I don't know, I'm 100% chua the owner of that house was a kyuk.

Then the "officers were luos"

He paid them 10k, dio nyuba ikae, na tegeneza tu

Kidero should go home. Period.

No one should die for 10k

How much money is a life worth for Kidero's people to still be in office? How much is a human beings life. Especially a baby.

limanika
#78 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 1:29:42 PM

STATEMENT FROM NAIROBI CITY COUNTY GOVERNOR, DR EVANS KIDERO REGARDING THE FLOODS AND HEAVY DOWN POUR IN THE CITY OF NAIROBI

Good morning,

First and foremost my sincere condolences for the loss of lives and destruction of property that occurred in our beloved City as a consequence of the worst floods this year.  I am deeply saddened by the scenes, pictures and videos of the aftermath of yesterday's heavy rains. My prayers and thoughts are with all those who have been affected in one way or the other.

The steady rain that has been pounding the City for the last 3 days reached an all time high of 80mm against an expected normal rainfall of 12mm.  The City is likely to continue receiving more than average rainfall.  The City will be subjected to increased incidents of flooding on the roads, destruction of properties, public open spaces and flooding of rivers which result in traffic congestion, inconvenience to residents and sometimes injuries and fatalities.

The Nairobi City County Government will continue to mobilize resources to attenuate and mitigate the severity and impact of the floods. At the same time the County Government wishes to highlight some of the challenges hampering effective operation of the drainage system and flood control.
These include;

2. Indiscriminate disposal of solid waste consisting of excavated soils, construction debris and garbage onto water courses, road reserves and sewerage system restricting the proper functioning of the system. 

3. Unsupervised poorly constructed and undersized storm water drainage infrastructure. 

4. Passage of water pipes, telecommunication cables and other services through drainage infrastructure. 

5. Depleted seepage zone due increased urban roof and impervious ground cover not matched by increase in capacity of the drainages system 

8. Deposition of soil into wetlands and marshy areas which affects land drainage and the ecosystem. 

9. Physical developments and have preceded development of supporting infrastructure such as roads and drainage. 

11. Landscaping on frontages which hinders discharge of storm water into the drain. 

Nairobi residents and members of the public are urged to co-operate with Nairobi City County and National Government officials and their agencies to facilitate works to improve the drainage system.

Furthermore, residents are urged to dispose their solid waste responsibly, as this poses the biggest challenge to drainage system.  The Nairobi City County Government also advices that fees for minor domestic drainage clearing, improvement and maintenance works have been waived during this period. Where the scope of the works is large in magnitude and affect large areas, persons are encouraged to contact the County Government for technical advice and assistance.

The Nairobi City County Government urges all residents to take care of their frontages and ensure the drainage infrastructure is free of debris. 

I want to extend my sincere appreciation to the emergency service personnel, army  and volunters for their well coordinated response to this disaster.  The loss suffered would have been far greater without the skill, dedication, compassion, and sacrifice of these emergency responders.

DR. EVANS O. KIDERO, MBS 

For more information on the floods and Roads situation please get in touch with our Chief Officer Roads and Transport Engineer Michael Ngari on 0700468381 or  0722 516031 or County Executive Mohamed Abdullahi on +254728490590

Kind regards,

Most of the causes mentioned are crap. It’s more to do with lack of good rainwater disposal practices. If we had employed good practices from the word go, rainwater run-off from every plot, every compound should percolate within that compound/ plot.

What happened to plot ratio regulations? Plots are built beacon to beacon with no soft ground for water to percolate. Consequently Nairobi CBD and environs has turned into a concrete jungle. All built up areas are raised such that all water drains to the road below. What you get is flooding along the roads. Next all boreholes will dry up since the aquifers are not being recharged
limanika
#79 Posted : Sunday, May 01, 2016 1:31:36 PM

Good morning,

These include;

DR. EVANS O. KIDERO, MBS 

Kind regards,

Most of the causes mentioned border on 'crap'. The flooding is more to do with lack of good rainwater disposal practices, rather than blocked drains. If we had employed good rainwater handling practices from the word go, rainwater run-off from every plot, every compound should percolate within that compound/ plot.

What happened to plot ratio regulations? Plots are built beacon to beacon with no soft ground for water to percolate. Consequently Nairobi CBD and environs has turned into a concrete jungle. All built up areas are raised such that all water drains to the road below. What you get is flooding along the roads. Next all boreholes will dry up since the aquifers are not being recharged
#80 Posted : Monday, May 02, 2016 12:18:26 PM

South-sea