wazua Tue, Jun 30, 2026

6 Pages123>»
Adonijah Jaramogi Ajuma Oginga Odinga - 20yrs on!!!
#1 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 8:50:05 AM

I was in Std 7 in some village school in the then Siaya District exactly twenty years ago this morning. I got to school at around 6:45 a.m., my classmate met me at the door with the news that Adonijah Jaramogi Ajuma Oginga Odinga lay dead at a hospital in Kisumu. The 'sun had closed its eyes'. The man of many myths and many nicknames, Ogwal Bade Chieko, the greatest that ever lived, was no more. Strange enough even at that young age, the pupils looked orphaned and during breaktime, we were in small groups listening to other pupils narrate the myths about Jaramogi which they heard from their parents. Some even thought he was not really dead

Twenty years later, it is Not Yet Uhuru, even though we have become wiser and tougher. A lion never really dies. The spirit of the Legend lives on. And his struggles continue. Long Live Jaramogi!!!!
#2 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 10:26:52 AM

You thought this post will reach 10 by evening today?

You would have said that "RAO claims his dad was poisoned by KDF in 1994" then sit backa nd watch the 2pm gangstars!

#3 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 10:30:53 AM

You would have said that "RAO claims his dad was poisoned by KDF in 1994" then sit backa nd watch the 2pm gangstars!

smile I was just paying tribute to a great man, 20 yrs after he left us!!!!!
#4 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 10:36:24 AM

smile I was just paying tribute to a great man, 20 yrs after he left us!!!!!

A fitting tribute. Impunity should just be in SS. He loves fights.
Buster
#5 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 10:39:34 AM

Time has passed. I was in my second year of employment.
#6 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 11:04:15 AM

Buster wrote:

Kumbe hata wewe umekula unga!!!
#7 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 11:22:32 AM

Buster wrote:

Kumbe hata wewe umekula unga!!!

Mimi nilikuwa mkulima number one, growing rabbit and quail (origal kweri)

I had the news on KBC Swa when I was washing my face with due in preparation to go to the school.

#8 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 11:38:39 AM

Buster wrote:

Eish...I was still a small boy in primo? I used to borrow my neighbour's newspaper everyday for the whole of that week so that I can read the stories about him.
#9 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 12:36:32 PM

I was in Std 7 in some village school in the then Siaya District exactly twenty years ago this morning. I got to school at around 6:45 a.m., my classmate met me at the door with the news that Adonijah Jaramogi Ajuma Oginga Odinga lay dead at a hospital in Kisumu. The 'sun had closed its eyes'. The man of many myths and many nicknames, Ogwal Bade Chieko, the greatest that ever lived, was no more. Strange enough even at that young age, the pupils looked orphaned and during breaktime, we were in small groups listening to other pupils narrate the myths about Jaramogi which they heard from their parents. Some even thought he was not really dead

Twenty years later, it is Not Yet Uhuru, even though we have become wiser and tougher. A lion never really dies. The spirit of the Legend lives on. And his struggles continue. Long Live Jaramogi!!!!

It's sad, that we now glory in a struggle in which we fight not the real enemy. Otherwise when will a man of judgement proclaim, 'Uhuru!' 50 years after? 100?

I remember reading 'Not yet Uhuru'. And I couldn't but sniff traces of betrayal in between the lines.

He kept denying the fact that the politics that he had helped create, was the reason there was and is, no Uhuru. And that was the deception.

The consequence was a history of pseudo gains involving multi party politics, and a constitution that's constantly under pressure of reversal.

Like now, what's his son doing and saying? Instead of leading Kenya towards a stable and efficient constitution, he's embarked on an unstoppable quest for the Presidency. Betrayal again.

Let's take our Fathers as humans and learn even from their mistakes.

#10 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 12:44:10 PM

This place is full of babiessmile
6 Pages123>»