wazua Fri, May 3, 2024

Premio vs Avensis
pleasecallme
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 02, 2013 4:29:51 PM

Premio 1.5 2007 vs Avensis 1.8 VVTI 2007. Which one to buy?

Usage : to/fro office, mrando za Nairobi, going to shaggs (150km radius from town). Has to be fuel economical, reliable & don't want to budget for another ride hopefully in the next 5 yrs.

You kill bird...bird dead snake come.
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 6:50:38 AM

Why don't you compare 1800cc Premio with 1800 cc Avensis?

Avensis has a maturer target market while Premio and Allion were meant for younger middo crass lakini taxi business and car hire is full of the nowadays . Very nice reliable ride though like choir uniform .

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
tassia
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 9:09:01 AM

I understand there is Avensis UK and Avensis Japan. Take a ride on the 1,800cc UK and report back. NOTE UK not Japan. You will not mention it in the same sentence with the premio and the like.
GGK
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 03, 2013 6:55:41 PM

tassia wrote:
I understand there is Avensis UK and Avensis Japan. Take a ride on the 1,800cc UK and report back. NOTE UK not Japan. You will not mention it in the same sentence with the premio and the like.

Avensis was also sold in Kenya as new by Toyota Kenya. My understanding is that all Avensis are made in UK. They only go to Japan as exports.
I should guess that the two are comparable on vast number aspects given they succeed Carina [Avensis] and Corona [Premio]. Eventually the Avensis emerges as a winner when you go past basics
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#5 Posted : Monday, November 04, 2013 3:05:14 PM

I av used both. But Avensis ni mzitooo...Inakamatanga ground kabisa kabisa. Na ma airbags ni mingiiii...Though am using a 2000cc one. Premio is "lighter" when on high speed compared to Avensis.
pleasecallme
#6 Posted : Monday, November 04, 2013 4:48:46 PM

Thanks all.

Yes the Avensis are UK made and was planning to get it from there. They have a higher general rating in terms of quality(considering its made for Europe market)/features/safety(8 air bags!)/comfort etc but of course its more thirsty compared to the Premio 1.5.

@Siringi,if I do 1.8 Premio vs 1.8 Avensis, the fuel variable will be insignificant and the latter wins hands down.

@Washiku how is the consumption of the 2.0?

Will do more reviews to determine if its worth to spend 300k more on the Avensis.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 10:48:44 AM

pleasecallme wrote:
Thanks all.

Yes the Avensis are UK made and was planning to get it from there. They have a higher general rating in terms of quality(considering its made for Europe market)/features/safety(8 air bags!)/comfort etc but of course its more thirsty compared to the Premio 1.5.

@Siringi,if I do 1.8 Premio vs 1.8 Avensis, the fuel variable will be insignificant and the latter wins hands down.

Will do more reviews to determine if its worth to spend 300k more on the Avensis.

Why dont you do Camry new shape?

faa
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 11:38:51 AM

pleasecallme wrote:
Thanks all.

He isn't asking about the Camry dude!cant you read and understand the question? Don't you understand that not everyone thinks like you?

Avensis is a superb car.Drove one from Nairobi - Naks over the weekend and it's better than the premio

Better than the premio interms of handling,esp along corners,speed,stabilty and acceleration.

The one i had was 1.8.

Go for the Avensis.You wont regret.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 11:50:53 AM

pleasecallme wrote:
Thanks all.

I have not noted so much difference when driving around Nairobi. I think the secret is to ensure its well maintained. I enjoy its efficiency when it comes to long distance. The last I did, I drove to Nyeri and back for over 340kms, and I had fueled 4k only. Though I wasnt in a hurry and never went beyond 130kph. Generally, 4500 usually does it for me for my Nyeri trips. Just about 800 more than I was spending on a 1500cc.
pleasecallme
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 05, 2013 2:09:35 PM

Much appreciated @faa & @washiku. Seems Avensis emerges as the overall winner. Hopefully in the next 3/4 months down the line we'll compare notes.
lex10
#11 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 9:34:41 PM

pleasecallme wrote:
Much appreciated @faa & @washiku. Seems Avensis emerges as the overall winner. Hopefully in the next 3/4 months down the line we'll compare notes.

Pleasefeedback. Got the ride?
kamundu
#12 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 10:26:35 PM

I would do camry as someone said.
Or Honda Accord
Peace in our Homeland.
jerry
#13 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 8:29:14 AM

kamundu wrote:
I would do camry as someone said.
Or Honda Accord

I also like the cumry!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#14 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 9:18:07 AM

Can someone comment on the Toyota Axio as well? Thanks.

#15 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 8:42:23 PM

faa wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:
Thanks all.

He isn't asking about the Camry dude!cant you read and understand the question? Don't you understand that not everyone thinks like you?

Avensis is a superb car.Drove one from Nairobi - Naks over the weekend and it's better than the premio

Better than the premio interms of handling,esp along corners,speed,stabilty and acceleration.

The one i had was 1.8.

Go for the Avensis.You wont regret.

"a friend " has the avensis ex UK . Station wagon/ estate , manual.
I loved it . Very roomy.
african coloner
#16 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:21:54 PM

Clean AVENSIS For sale from Uk, manual, diesel ,2006, Low mileage and going for 1.1m negotiable. Leave contacts if you want to view
ngapat
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2014 1:39:37 PM

How about a mark X. Planning to dispose my 2003 NZE for it
β€œInvest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
pleasecallme
#18 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2014 4:08:42 PM

lex10 wrote:
pleasecallme wrote:

Pleasefeedback. Got the ride?

still saving...
keraka
#19 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2014 4:30:43 PM

ngapat wrote:
How about a mark X. Planning to dispose my 2003 NZE for it

Very very thirsty to say the least.By the way a 2.5 engine for a saloon car is bit of ambtition taken to another level unless its a heavy car.Resale is close to Zero.My views.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
kamundu
#20 Posted : Tuesday, February 04, 2014 10:33:46 PM

Can someone comment on the Toyota Axio as well? Thanks.

Iko juu!
Peace in our Homeland.