128 Pages«<105106107108109>»
Exchange Bar: Results forecast
Ericsson
#2121 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2020 10:05:00 AM

Exchange Bar Forecast for FY 2019, PBT figures in KES B:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
NCBA 15.1 Actual 11.17 (13.3 before exceptional item)
I&M 12.4
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
ABSA 12.2 Actual 10.75 (12.3 before one-off charges)
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#2122 Posted : Wednesday, March 25, 2020 12:38:06 PM

Ericsson wrote:
[quote=Angelica _ann]Full year results?????

KCB 36.9
EQTY 33.1
COOP 20.6
NCBA 15.1
I&M 12.4
SCBK 12.3
ABSA 12.2
DTB 11.6
STANB 8.2
HFCK 0.047
Asante.
Who would have thought 15 years ago that I&M would be making more profits than SCBK & BBK/ABSA.
That Equity would be larger than Coop, SCB, BBK, NBK, etc.
HFCK would become a minnow.
That DTB would be beating CFC+Stanbic?

Pleasantly surprised by I&M. BBK is a sad story indeed, the less said the better. HF should be bought by one of the tier I

Coop will soon be another BBK story. Doing well more so because of the Coop movement. Limited innovation and market aggressiveness.

Gideon is comfortable and has run out of ideas

COOP has opened a few new branches in prime locations hence additional income generation capacity. I doubt with a PBT of over 20B that Gideon's machine has fully lost his shine

When did Coop surpass PBT of over sh.20bn in it's history of existence?

When the exchange bar talks you shut up and listen https://www.the-star.co....019-up-by-125-per-cent/[/quote]
Read keenly my statement,this is the first time they have achieved.
What is the exchange bar telling you about kq and the glorified open offer
Ericsson
#2123 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2020 10:57:47 AM

KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047
#2124 Posted : Thursday, March 26, 2020 11:25:37 AM

Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

How the mighty Barclays and SCB have fallen!
Ericsson
#2125 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 10:27:47 AM

Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

But they give better dividends.
Stanchart is position 3 and Barclays 4 in dividend rankings among the listed banks
#2126 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 11:58:29 AM

Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

Stanchart is position 3 and Barclays 4 in dividend rankings among the listed banks

Higher dividend yield with lower profitability. Very odd management

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Monk
#2127 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:13:24 PM

Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

There are worse management styles eg giving out profits as bonus to staff members at the expense of shareholders, or finding other ways to squander revenues like KQ has been doing for years, leaving shareholders with negative equity. I didn't even get to Merali, Wamae, and GOK. To each his own...I prefer the BAT, SCBK and BBK Div payment policy.
#2128 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 8:20:10 PM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

There are worse management styles eg giving out profits as bonus to staff members at the expense of shareholders, or finding other ways to squander revenues like KQ has been doing for years, leaving shareholders with negative equity. I didn't even get to Merali, Wamae, and GOK. To each his own...I prefer the BAT, SCBK and BBK Div payment policy.
#2129 Posted : Friday, March 27, 2020 10:54:38 PM

Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

Which banks are in position 1 and 2?
Ericsson
#2130 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 12:22:47 AM

Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

Which banks are in position 1 and 2?

KCB
Equity
#2131 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 5:55:06 AM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

Wewe mzee ukiona KQ ikitajwa utaclap tu

#2132 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 8:23:05 AM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

I actually feel for KQ. This is not a KQ thread.
I am Applause the dividend policies (high payout ratio when they aren't expanding) of BAT, SCBK and BBK vs I&M, DTB and KenRe. I have a few BAT & SCBK and those dividends are welcome when others are being stingy.
#2133 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 8:36:52 AM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

I am Applause the dividend policies (high payout ratio when they aren't expanding) of BAT, SCBK and BBK vs I&M, DTB and KenRe. I have a few BAT & SCBK and those dividends are welcome when others are being stingy.

In any case despite the high dividend policy, they still have adequate reserves way better than many at NSE. Tunamumunya dividends year in year out!!!
#2134 Posted : Saturday, March 28, 2020 9:27:19 AM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

In any case despite the high dividend policy, they still have adequate reserves way better than many at NSE. Tunamumunya dividends year in year out!!!

The problem is loss of market share in a competitive sector. This means that the high payout is not sustainable. The result is a fall of the price of the stock and a high yield.

A good demonstration is NMG with a dividend yield of 20.66% but over 100% payout. Capital erosion is a reality in view of the loss of print revenues.
#2135 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2020 2:28:44 AM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

The problem is loss of market share in a competitive sector. This means that the high payout is not sustainable. The result is a fall of the price of the stock and a high yield.

A good demonstration is NMG with a dividend yield of 20.66% but over 100% payout. Capital erosion is a reality in view of the loss of print revenues.

1) What loss of market share is BAT suffering from?
2) BAT and SCBK's DY is based on current (FY2019) dividends. NMG's is based on FY2018. Apples to Oranges.
3) NMG Newspapers is in a dying industry almost all over the world. Even Warren Buffett tossed up his hands and sold his newspaper business.
Whereas the number of smokers is reducing as a % of the population, cigarettes cannot be pdf'd and shared via WhatsApp.
SCBK and ABSA need to up their game but their size isn't shrinking though the market share has. Not all firms need/want to grow.
#2136 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2020 6:59:13 AM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

1) What loss of market share is BAT suffering from?
2) BAT and SCBK's DY is based on current (FY2019) dividends. NMG's is based on FY2018. Apples to Oranges.
3) NMG Newspapers is in a dying industry almost all over the world. Even Warren Buffett tossed up his hands and sold his newspaper business.
Whereas the number of smokers is reducing as a % of the population, cigarettes cannot be pdf'd and shared via WhatsApp.
SCBK and ABSA need to up their game but their size isn't shrinking though the market share has. Not all firms need/want to grow.

Absurd for one to say not all firms need to grow.. Loss of marker share is shrinkage! Wewe umetoka wapi mzee

#2137 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2020 7:59:07 AM

@Obiero - Growth of market share is not important for all firms. What's important is profitability.

A steady but PROFITABLE market share beats a loss-making but growing market share unless the end-game is enhanced profitability. Growing market share comes with risks.

Some firms may even lose market share but remain very profitable on a RoE or RoI basis.

Does ARM come to mind?
Or KQ?

Anyway, as some of us age, we may want consistent dividends and not growth. smile
Monk
#2138 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2020 10:03:05 AM

Monk wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
KCB 36.9 Actual 36.9
EQTY 33.1 Actual 31.4
COOP 20.6 Actual 20.7
I&M 12.4 Actual 14.6
SCBK 12.3 Actual 12.2
DTB 11.6 Actual 11.3
STANB 8.2 Actual 7.7
HFCK 0.047

Lose of market share doesn't always mean losses, or reduced profits. Sustainability only becomes an issue if the company goes into loss territory. In any case, I and the company are separate entities. As a minority shareholder, I'm looking for a reasonable return on investment, preferably less than 10 years, and an income. No one knows what shocks will take down the firm tomorrow, and with it your investment. I mitigate this risk by avoiding or minimizing banking on promises.

NMG, as @VVS indicated, was doomed by an industry specific challenge, not its Div payment policy. Print media houses that don't pay dividends are equally affected.
Ericsson
#2139 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 10:00:42 AM

HFCK always the last has just released it's FY results today
#2140 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2020 1:09:41 PM

Ericsson wrote:
HFCK always the last has just released it's FY results today

Last day!!!!!smile