wazua Thu, May 16, 2024

CBK proposals likely to end M-Pesa dominance
Simba1
#1 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:48:45 AM

I think if implemented, this could put Safaricom in a very tight corner considering that's what has held their customers to them.

http://www.the-star.co.k...ly-end-m-pesa-dominance

http://www.businessdaily.../-/14bgjuqz/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 2:42:01 PM

[quote=Simba1]I think if implemented, this could put Safaricom in a very tight corner considering that's what has held their customers to them.

http://www.businessdaily...-/14bgjuqz/-/index.html[/quote]

I like.
#3 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 2:47:36 PM

[quote=Simba1]I think if implemented, this could put Safaricom in a very tight corner considering that's what has held their customers to them.

I like.

How?
mwekez@ji
#4 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:11:43 PM

@murchr, read,

SAFARICOM'S Mpesa platform may soon be open for use by other mobile payment services providers if new regulations published by the Central Bank are effected.

This could end the mobile company's dominance of the mobile money market which has locked many subscribers to its network.

The CBK has published the National Payment System Draft Regulations that among others recommend that E-money issuers shall utilise open systems capable of becoming interoperable with other payment systems in the country and internationally. The same shall apply to electronic retail transfers.

“E-money issuers are encouraged to enter into interoperable arrangements ,” reads part of the regulation. This will come as a relief to the three other mobile phone companies in the country who have been pushing for this kind of arrangement. Safaricom has however opposed it in the past arguing that it will kill innovation and slow down the systems.
mwekez@ji
#5 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:17:24 PM

Clause 13. Interoperability

13.1. Electronic retail payment service providers shall utilise open systems capable of becoming interoperable with other payment systems in the country and internationally.

13.2. Electronic retail payment service providers are encouraged to enter into interoperable arrangements.

13.3. For purposes of giving effect to 13.2, electronic retail payment service providers may amongst other arrangements be members of Payment Service Provider Management Bodies.
#6 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:33:33 PM

This will be good news to solution providers but not so for safaricom.

mwekez@ji
#7 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:34:23 PM

Clause 36. Interoperability

36.1. E-money issuers shall utilise open systems capable of becoming interoperable with other payment systems in the country and internationally.

36.2. E-money issuers are encouraged to enter into interoperable arrangements.

36.3. For purposes for giving effect to sub-Regulation 36.2, E-money issuers may amongst other arrangements be members of Payment Service Provider Management Bodies
mwekez@ji
#8 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:37:24 PM

Clause 2. Interpretation

“Interoperate” means the commercial interconnectivity between providers of different payment systems or payment instruments including the capability of electronic systems to exchange messages and ―interoperable‖ shall be construed accordingly.
mwekez@ji
#9 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:42:21 PM

radio wrote:

And good news to Kenyans too.
#10 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:48:26 PM

Those charges were becoming too much!!!
#11 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:55:43 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
radio wrote:

Completely agree with you. Could you share the link where you're getting this info.
iller
#12 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 3:57:41 PM

Applause Yu here I come
#13 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 4:08:23 PM

Its a good move but saying it will end Mpesa's dominance is an oversimplification and might not actually happen:
a) The proposals say that money transfers should use "Open Systems", but it doesn't say what these systems are or how they should work. Inter-operable protocols take years to develop and stabilize. Also, openness and availability between collaborators is key. I am also wondering how this will work. Will Safaricom open their transacting servers to other networks? Is it like depositing money in Barclays then withdraw in Stanchart? Baffling. Easy on paper, difficult on the ground.

b) Mpesa dominance is because of the availability of agents across Kenya. Airtel, Yu and Orange don't want to pay agents respectable margins then wonder why no money is flowing to their networks. As long as a subscriber cannot find an agent by merely turning his head and walking 5 meters, they will not use the money service even if regulations and inter-operability is made as open as the sky.

This is going to be rough - i) CBK is incompetent and ii) there is precedence whenever govt wades in tactlessly into telecomms - Number portability - was the magic bullet that was supposed to rein in Safaricom's dominance - only it didn't and it poorly burnt the chap who setup the exchange service.
My 2 cents.
mwekez@ji
#14 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 4:09:13 PM

radio wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
radio wrote:

Completely agree with you. Could you share the link where you're getting this info.

Check this out >>> http://www.centralbank.go.ke/im.../npsdraftregulations.pdf
#15 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 4:10:09 PM

they should do the same to dstv
iller
#16 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 4:35:17 PM

they should do the same to dstv

ditto
#17 Posted : Friday, October 11, 2013 9:51:50 PM

Mammoth case coming up...
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 11:45:29 AM

@Quicksand, I concur not as simple as it sounds. The example is apt, depositing money at KCB and withdrawing at Equity?? How easy does it happen? Maybe using cheques only not over the counter.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2013 2:27:11 PM

My reading of this is that there will be a clearing house where providers will settle transactions. The person who has most clients and settles in-house without reference to the clearing house greatly saves on costs. Much like banks clear their cheques. Impact to Safaricom will be minimal, unless interchange fees are regulated.