wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Import a car from Japan...DIY
EAKM
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:32:00 PM

I would like to import a Car directly from Japan. Which companies are the most reliable to deal with in Japan where i won't be conned. I've gone through ibcjapan and papera traders,who can vouch for them? Who has imported a car personally and done the whole process themeselves till CIF mombasa? Also is it advisable to use a clearing agent once the car has arrived or one can do it themselves? Please advice?

Dont do what you will regret come the next morning.
EAKM
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:35:00 PM

I hear lots of people are now importing for themselves hence saving about 50-100k on the transaction if you had gone through local dealers

#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 22, 2009 1:48:00 PM

I have imported two cars from www.papera.co.jp in the last seven years. Their transaction is fair and straightforward - they don't ask for full amount upfront...but I'm told by 'experts' that papera is a bit pricy.

I know people who have imported from www.autorec.co.jp....they ask for full payment upfront

I know others who have imported from www.ibc.co.jp
wachiras
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 11:00:00 AM

Has anyone dealt with kobemotor before?
Kwanini
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 12:13:00 PM

There is another thread along same lines. Check it out. However,DIY may or may not save you much. IF you have graduated in this trade,somehow i can bet you what you save at point is substantial X.

The trick to save money is in this equation

[Purchase Price[Source]+Shipping Line+Insurance+Duty+Port/Handling +Demurrage?+Clearing+Nerves of Steel ]= Cost Price

Karibu sana lakini kumbuka Kila biashara iko na wenyewe. Perhaps @dexxo can assit you if you flash the money.

Also,you cant clear by yourself. and while at it, perhaps you are better off squeezing the best discount from local dealers. Lipa na Ubebe,otherwise cover your a$$ properly. Hope i make sense with ma 2 cents.

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Kaffir
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 1:01:00 PM

I have used Papera twice,and they have delivered even better (car had no radio,but they installed a very good,and original one for me,for example!). Problem is their stock is small,but they can look for a car to your specifications if you ask them.
kanyimwa
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 1:21:00 PM

@ Wachiras

Kobe motor are good. I've imported from them before and they did not dissapoint. They have variety to chose from.

When it comes to clearing,get an agent. They do they fast and they know how to go about it.

The definition of your enemy is: 'Your former friend'
KM
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 1:30:00 PM

I also imported a car through Papera Traders in 2004 and have it to date. You will save quite a lot. This what i mean,at that time,the car reached me in Nairobi at a cost of Ksh.596,000 including fuel from Mombasa and Clearing and Fowarding. The market value of the same car,same age,same specs was between Ksh. 790,000 and 820,000. I made a saving of Ksh. 200,000 cool cash. BUT you have to wait for approximately 2 months for it to arrive from the date of purchase. Bought in August,arrived in October

For clearing and forwarding,just like for an agency,it is a big hassle to do it yourself. It costed me on 10,000/-. You will find small agencies-one man shows that can do at a very good price

Good Luck

A Journey of thousands miles beings with a single step,keep walking and walk the talk
wachiras
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 2:06:00 PM

@ Kanyimwa. Thanks for the info.

Kobe motor do appear to have some nice deals and a variety to choose from. But the funny thing is that they quote their prices C&F as opposed to CIF thus making their units quite cheap. On asking,they say that the insurance bit is not necessary (ie it something you can choose to do without. How viable is this?
EAKM
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 5:05:00 AM

Thanks for all the Heads up. Does anyone have a specific contact for anyone at Kobe motors? I have tried googling and i cant seem to hit their website...i just get related linksbut no direct URL.

EAKM
#11 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 5:09:00 AM

Another rumour off the mill is that you can get the Japanese guys to lower the cost of purchase on their end atleast on paper so that KRA do not charge high Duties on the car? How true is that?

Kwanini
#12 Posted : Thursday, April 30, 2009 5:18:00 AM

@[EAKM- For the love of the game... usijaribu kucheza na KRA...they have been there,done that. once they get hold of you... i wish i was their PR... they clean you dry. Their simba DB has every make,every model+year of car,evry exporter.. price range..unless you collude with them... and pray no one catches the drift while at it. wacha ujanja au tamaa - kula kidogo bila stress. again the japs are overwhelmingly honest. The moment they get KRA sniffing around them... they would rather commit suicide at a kaforest near Fuji. ... integity at its best. @kanyimwa I do not know which Kobe is being praised here... Their customer service is zero as far as am concerned.... email response takes like a week... from a chap called Ali,who used to respond [from an ISP in singapore?] to what he chooses to... half of their JEVIC reports at least what i have indicate tampered mileage.... please... i would rather pay knowing exactly what am paying for. why should you talk to shippers ? ? they may be the cheapest but someone tell us what you pay for is what you get. am reliably told they are best for chaps who import by the container,not every flat footed kalucy.

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
TD
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 25, 2009 2:04:00 PM

Other than duty,would someone let me know if these costs I got from my clearing agent are reasonable - looks like on the higher side.

+Port charges - 23,000 (am told this is the minimum even if your car is removed on the same day)
+Delivery order - 5,000 (some forms they have to get from the shipping agent to take to the port ???)
+Registration - 15,000
+Temp Insurance - 2000 (for the day,to cover the car's journey to Nairobi).
TD
#14 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2009 6:05:00 AM

@kanyimwa,thanks for the info.

Anyone who can shed some more light on the port charges? Is that the usual cost?
pn
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 5:08:00 AM

@ TD unless your vehicle is a commercial van,pickup that needs separate inspection registration fee is together with the duty(paid together) also note registration fee is calculated according to the cc eg the reg for a 1500cc so tell the agent to tell you if the 15k is for agency fee. Insurance is not necessary to release the vehicle from the cfs only that you cant drive the car on the roads without insurance. You can even get your preferred insurance that you will be using using the importation docs and give it to the agent so that they can use it on exiting the car from the cfs.
giddy
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 5:31:00 AM

@TD

From my knowledge this is what i paid at the port for my imported car.

Duty
Port chargers(handling,registration.etc) approx 18k
Shipping agents-5k

And now add the agents fees(10k) which is varies from agent to agent as you agree.
extrablessed
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 6:00:00 AM

There is this clearing agent I have been using in Msa and he has been quite efficient and competitive,just in case anyone is interested: david.wachira@slopesagencies.co.ke.

I found him to be quite honest and has cleared my machines and cars effectively.

Life is worth living cos God planned it to be so.
pn
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 9:41:00 AM

@ all anyone who has experience dealing with http://www.diyatajapan.co.jp/stocklist.htm,please advice
Nobby
#19 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2009 3:10:00 PM

Hi All,

I am looking for a reliable and trustwory clearing agent to clear M/V at the ports....... anybody here?

The best is yet to come!
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
dexco
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2009 8:33:00 AM

All those who want to import the DIY way first do your homework. Dont just ran in face first or utalia.

@kwanini. Kobe is 'cheap' infact Reallly Cheap. But not as slow in response as you say. If you want fast response from him contact a guy called Fahmi there. Always on the net. If you deal with Ali himself u might even get a raw deal.

@pn. Diyata is ok

@wachira. Dont just look at the price. Also look at a company track record and the auction grade of the cars you are buying. At times even ask for the engineers report,or auction condition sheet. Heee wakenya na price. Have u ever seen a car full of dead japanese rats!!!

@ Nobby: I can clear for you. Contact me