wazua Thu, Apr 18, 2024

Kenya Nuclear Energy
hisah
#21 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 2:38:20 PM

Japan Space Agency Advances in Space-Based Solar Power

The Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, or Jaxa, said it succeeded in transmitting electric power wirelessly to a pinpoint target using microwaves, which is an essential technology needed for the realization of space-based solar power.

If implemented, microwave-transmitting solar satellites would be set up approximately 35,000 kilometers from earth. Jaxa says that a receiver set up on earth with an approximately three-kilometer radius could create up to one gigawatt of electricity, which is about the same as one nuclear reactor.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Tokyo
#22 Posted : Friday, April 17, 2015 4:58:56 AM

To develop we need cheap and affordable power. Which country has managed to eradicate abject poverty without affordable power.
Rich countries has the options and choice to R&D on other renewables that we lack. Nuclear power is what we need.
work to prosper
enyands
#23 Posted : Friday, April 17, 2015 6:06:29 AM

Tokyo wrote:
To develop we need cheap and affordable power. Which country has managed to eradicate abject poverty without affordable power.
Rich countries has the options and choice to R&D on other renewables that we lack. Nuclear power is what we need.

my friend Tokyo, when you see America,europe,asia crying about going green and leaving nuclear they ain't stupid. they did nuclear energy decades and decades ago and they have come to realize that its dangerous for their great grandchildren and not them (which I believe most leaders in Kenya don't care about their great grand children). we don't have to go through what these countries have gone through to realize the harm of these nuclear. if Kenya goes nuclear ill be happy if sanctions can be put to us. I don't want the children of my children to suffer over some underthoughts decision someone made because of over ambitions, please follow the links above and you will understand it from enlightened wazuans
enyands
#24 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 11:05:40 AM

enyands wrote:
Ceinz wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
hisah wrote:
[quote=Business Daily]Kenya plans to raise 4,000MW of power from nuclear energy by 2031 to sustain socio-economic development in the country, the Ministry of Energy has said.

World Bank, IMF caution against power expansion plan
More homes to get electricity in two years

This is in addition to existing plans for geothermal, coal, wind and other forms of power generation.

Speaking during the official opening of the third Conference on Energy and Nuclear Power in Africa at Leisure Lodge Resort in Kwale County, Energy Principal Secretary Joseph Njoroge said the government is training technicians as well as focusing on intensive research to ensure the project succeeds.

Why nuclear energy with all the cheap untapped geothermal? This is a bad expensive choice. Someone is misadvising KE - anglofleecing like projects Sad

This is vision 2031. Geothermal will most likely be fully utilized by then...Liar Liar Liar

[quote=Wikipedia]
Geothermal energy is thermal energy generated and stored in the Earth. Thermal energy is the energy that determines the temperature of matter. The geothermal energy of the Earth's crust originates from the original formation of the planet (20%) and from radioactive decay of materials (80%).

Geothermal power is cost effective, reliable, sustainable, and environmentally friendly,[7] but has historically been limited to areas near tectonic plate boundaries. Recent technological advances have dramatically expanded the range and size of viable resources, especially for applications such as home heating, opening a potential for widespread exploitation.

Still immense potential, that will probably exist long after humanity ceases to exist on earth, and as you can read above with technological advancement we can harness more and more of geothermal. These are the researches that our country should undertake instead of sprinting towards 'what they can't handle'

And fyi we still got unimaginable unexploited potential in solar and wind energy, or if sophistication is what we are yearning for then lets think of exploiting 'ocean waves' energy.

Add "eating" to that....[/quote

The problem with nuclear is to properly dispose those nuclear wastes without having negative impact on the environment . Developed countries have a big challenge with properly disposing them off . For Kenya I think it won't be a challenge but a disaster . We need to exhaust all the available energy sources first then let nuclear be the last resort .did you know that hypothetically speaking that putting solar panels in whole of isiolo district is enough to supply power half of Kenya non stop during the day

http://m.naturalnews.com...k_Washington_state.html[/quote]
It's sad that we were ttalking about nuclear ambitions the other day . IV been reading newspapers about lead poisoning in coast from some politician factory. Lead as a material is also one of radioactive metal if well enriched . Sasa ndugu zanguni hii carelessness of handling this lead had caused damage to slum dwellers . What about the kenyans govt handling of nuclear wastes ? Personally the kenyan leadership no one has enough balls to handle the heat coming with nuclear generation . We need to be matured reason wise and see things beyond our current personal interest and see the burden of kizazi kijacho. This nuclear ambition is totally ambiguous and sign sign of technological immaturity on some self centered leaders. Just look at the lead irresponsibility , how about nuclear sludge errors . Stop this senseless ambition.
wanyee
#25 Posted : Sunday, May 10, 2015 11:19:20 AM

Thorium nuclear reactors are quite promising...but still works in progress. kenya can opt for them just in case
Ericsson
#26 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 7:30:22 AM

Nuclear energy will not see the light in kenya.
This talk about it and formation of kenya nuclear board is an avenue for some people to eat and their cronies to benefit
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
enyands
#27 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 8:13:17 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Nuclear energy will not see the light in kenya.
This talk about it and formation of kenya nuclear board is an avenue for some people to eat and their cronies to benefit

Thanks eEricsson . I said before western
Countries are not stupid to stop nuclear and go green .sisi wafrika what is this that we are smarter than them tthat we see nuclear to be good
enyands
#28 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 4:53:29 PM

http://mobile.nation.co....rvz/-/index.htmlSomeone somewhere has a very thick and rich whitish tissues organic substance in between the two ears
enyands
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 5:18:54 PM

hisah wrote:
Nuclear energy is just a bloody expensive way of generating steam. Why reinvent the wheel when nature has provided the same in abundance!

Hapo mayuu si mnatumia nyuklea? Sasa sisi ndio hamtaki tujienjoy?
Sad Sad

Tell me if Britain sio mayuu someone reasoning somewhere
enyands
#30 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 9:19:49 AM

enyands wrote:
Ceinz wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
hisah wrote:
[quote=Business Daily]Kenya plans to raise 4,000MW of power from nuclear energy by 2031 to sustain socio-economic development in the country, the Ministry of Energy has said.

World Bank, IMF caution against power expansion plan
More homes to get electricity in two years

This is in addition to existing plans for geothermal, coal, wind and other forms of power generation.

Speaking during the official opening of the third Conference on Energy and Nuclear Power in Africa at Leisure Lodge Resort in Kwale County, Energy Principal Secretary Joseph Njoroge said the government is training technicians as well as focusing on intensive research to ensure the project succeeds.

Why nuclear energy with all the cheap untapped geothermal? This is a bad expensive choice. Someone is misadvising KE - anglofleecing like projects Sad

This is vision 2031. Geothermal will most likely be fully utilized by then...Liar Liar Liar

[quote=Wikipedia]
Geothermal energy is thermal energy generated and stored in the Earth. Thermal energy is the energy that determines the temperature of matter. The geothermal energy of the Earth's crust originates from the original formation of the planet (20%) and from radioactive decay of materials (80%).

Geothermal power is cost effective, reliable, sustainable, and environmentally friendly,[7] but has historically been limited to areas near tectonic plate boundaries. Recent technological advances have dramatically expanded the range and size of viable resources, especially for applications such as home heating, opening a potential for widespread exploitation.

Still immense potential, that will probably exist long after humanity ceases to exist on earth, and as you can read above with technological advancement we can harness more and more of geothermal. These are the researches that our country should undertake instead of sprinting towards 'what they can't handle'

And fyi we still got unimaginable unexploited potential in solar and wind energy, or if sophistication is what we are yearning for then lets think of exploiting 'ocean waves' energy.

Add "eating" to that....[/quote

The problem with nuclear is to properly dispose those nuclear wastes without having negative impact on the environment . Developed countries have a big challenge with properly disposing them off . For Kenya I think it won't be a challenge but a disaster . We need to exhaust all the available energy sources first then let nuclear be the last resort .did you know that hypothetically speaking that putting solar panels in whole of isiolo district is enough to supply power half of Kenya non stop during the day

http://m.naturalnews.com...k_Washington_state.html[/quote]
It's sad that we were ttalking about nuclear ambitions the other day . IV been reading newspapers about lead poisoning in coast from some politician factory. Lead as a material is also one of radioactive metal if well enriched . Sasa ndugu zanguni hii carelessness of handling this lead had caused damage to slum dwellers . What about the kenyans govt handling of nuclear wastes ? Personally the kenyan leadership no one has enough balls to handle the heat coming with nuclear generation . We need to be matured reason wise and see things beyond our current personal interest and see the burden of kizazi kijacho. This nuclear ambition is totally ambiguous and sign sign of technological immaturity on some self centered leaders. Just look at the lead irresponsibility , how about nuclear sludge errors . Stop this senseless ambition.

USA WARNS KENYA CAUTIOUSLY ON NUCLEAR
tmakto
#31 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 10:56:23 AM

I second each fellow wazuan expressing concern over this "noclear" ambition. The cons far outweigh the benefits and in our context it poses a serious threat. This matter deserves more attention befbefore contacts aare signed Shame on you
The Great
#32 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 2:39:22 PM

I foresee a sale of rights to the east, who r trying to wield military power over the west. They are also money minded. Cost of disposal of nuclear waste is also massive. We may through these deals and corruption open ourselves up for dumping of foreign nuclear waste here. Not to mention studies done proving nuclear power as not economically feasible. Its only feasible in space operations and missile technology.
"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
The Great
#33 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 2:45:35 PM

If we go this route I will settle elsewhere. DU bullets used in Iraq as far back as the anti al qaeda invasion has spread in the air to London by 2010. DU bullets explode on impact
enyands
#34 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 2:58:40 PM

African leaders I noticed have dangerous ambitions without learning from elders who have been in the game.they are like toddlers who want to run before they walk . There is a known nuclear energy producing country that's busy dumping their nuclear waste in war torn country in east Africa secretly . Where are we going to take the carcinogenic nuclear waste as kenya?which war torn country are we going to use?

Is someone thinking through this ? Or someone wants their cut through negotiation fees and kickback fees and then dump the ambition . If the later is true then that's ok because wewe Kula tu but don't bring it.but if you are actually bringing the same dreaded monster then ill seek asylum in Syria .it's much better to die once by a bullet than a slow painful death of cancer.

i foresee luck of accountability on disposal of those wastes.we aren't accountable of the money entrusted with us as leaders what about nuclear wastes? Honestly I'm worried ,very very worried and whoever is reading this should be worried.
The Great
#35 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 3:01:02 PM

The West knows only our ugly side, but they watching, even cheering this? Theres a mass shifting of resources planned for this region.
If we go east with this the west will try to shut this project down. If we go west we'll get the worst terms and conditions even intentional exposure which will be labelled a bad accident. The kind of clean up and repair needed will practically sell our country to the west. Coz we cant qualify for such a debt. Modern world Hiroshima and Nagasaki at the current level of advancement in Nuclear Science. Death. Mass deaths. Only the leadership will be spared to sign the papers to sell our country off/merge it into their country
enyands
#36 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 3:06:50 PM

The Great wrote:
The West knows only our ugly side, but they watching, even cheering this? Theres a mass shifting of resources planned for this region.
If we go east with this the west will try to shut this project down. If we go west we'll get the worst terms and conditions even intentional exposure which will be labelled a bad accident. The kind of clean up and repair needed will practically sell our country to the west. Coz we cant qualify for such a debt. Modern world Hiroshima and Nagasaki at the current level of advancement in Nuclear Science. Death. Mass deaths. Only the leadership will be spared to sign the papers to sell our country off/merge it into their country

Applause I'm happy to share the same ideology as you.

I'll leave it here ,please I have done a quick Google search for disadvantages of nuclear ,please let someone send let the ERC know about it

LINK
The Great
#37 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 3:08:36 PM

@enyands,its true Somalia is being used to test small arms, dump radioactive waste and feed Isis. The very one the west claims to oppose but benefits from through the backdoor. Have you ever heard of any place the public is banned from coz its aweapons testing site. Where are all these ammo advances tested? In war zones.
Ericsson
#38 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 3:28:46 PM

China is looking of putting it's huge reserves into use hence willing to assist kenya financially to build the Nuclear plant.
This also provides market for their industrial products.
Another debt burden will be added
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
enyands
#39 Posted : Saturday, June 18, 2016 3:47:35 PM

The Great wrote:
@enyands,its true Somalia is being used to test small arms, dump radioactive waste and feed Isis. The very one the west claims to oppose but benefits from through the backdoor. Have you ever heard of any place the public is banned from coz its aweapons testing site. Where are all these ammo advances tested? In war zones.

Hapa kenya Kuna leaders wapumbavu. Does someone know how the west wish they can have abundant solar like us? Do you know during once of the convention I attended a mzungu told me if we can switch countries and they take "country of africa"(almost corrected him that Africa is a continent not country) then they will never use any other source energy apart from solar??

Stupid us we have all this and run to nuclear.we are not done exploring geothermal ,wind ,hydro na tunakimbilia nuclear like two blind slugs chasing each other to mate using reversed reproductive system! Nahurumia innocent kenyans so so much.nobody is on street to protest such.treating those cancers will cost a good chunk of budget.Cancer treatments will be another devolved government.. .

Beside the point does any wazuan know any good pro-enviroment lawyer that can be used to challenge this erratic idea here in Kenya?I need to sue someone and make money out of someone's stupidity. Wish willy mutunga could preside this lawsuit. .really wish. ..
kmucheke
#40 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2020 10:31:39 AM

Kenya reveals Sh540bn nuclear power plant in Tana River

Kenya is set to build a $5 billion (Sh540 billion) nuclear power plant on a site in Tana River County over the next seven years with funding from private investors.

The Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board (KNEB) in a regulatory filing with the National Environment Management Authority (Nema) revealed that the plant with an initial capacity of 1,000 megawatt (Mw) plant would be constructed through a concessionaire.

The agency said Tana River is the most preferred location since it is not prone to earthquakes. Other sites under consideration were in the Lake Victoria and Lake Turkana basins.

The proposed sites are endowed with large water masses, which are crucial in cooling nuke reactors.

The project would involve the building of a ‘third-generation’ plant with pressurised water reactors. Nuclear reactors require reliable sources of water for steam condensation, service water, emergency core cooling system and other functions.

“Kenya is at a risk due to the expected investment of Sh500 billion ($5 billion) into the Nuclear Power Plant if the current issues of run-away corruption are not curtailed, which may lead to massive public economic loss due to possible implementation delays and overruns as experienced in other mega projects in the country,” says the agency.

“The vice has the potential of exposing the country to national safety and security risks.”

As usual this will generate a lot of debate among proponents and opponents.

Like any other source of power, nuclear energy has its advantages and disadvantages.

Currently solar PV and onshore wind power sources have the lowest levelized cost of energy (the average net present cost of electricity generation for a generating plant over its lifetime) in that order. So does Kenya (I can't speak for other countries) need nuclear power when we have not fully utilised solar, wind and geothermal. When we don't even have Uranium as a natural resource? Uranium has a fuel cost while solar, wind and geothermal have none.

There has been considerable improvement over the years in design, construction and operation of nuclear power plants. However the long term management of radioactive waste (even with waste reprocessing) is still in doubt.

As the article righly points out, corruption as a vice cannot be ignored when building and operating a nuclear power plant.