wazua Fri, Mar 29, 2024

Kenya Nuclear Energy
D32
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 15, 2013 5:07:34 AM

"According to Hindpal Jabbal, an energy adviser and former chairman of the Energy Regulatory Commission, local demand of electricity needs to be grow from the current estimated 1,400 megawatts through expansion of industries and transmission infrastructure to make investment in nuclear electricity feasible."

"Nuclear electricity is not required at this stage because we don’t have adequate capacity to absorb the power. Peak demand needs to be increased to about 20,000 megawatts to absorb the amount of power to be generated from nuclear resources,” he said. The turn to nuclear electricity comes at a time when the ministry of energy and petroleum races to ensure sufficient supply to meet rising local demand and spur industrialisation."

http://mobile.nation.co....l/-/yestprz/-/index.html
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
kripp
#2 Posted : Sunday, September 15, 2013 7:32:57 PM

In the meantime, the public in more technologically advanced and more safety conscious countries than our republic are against nuclear plants.

LINK 1
LINK 2
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 15, 2013 9:06:19 PM

When everybody was against this nuclear thing RAO as Prime Minister and party pushed it forth and placed his the political loser Ochilo Ayako as Chair. If you've been wondering where Basset Bayuka went to he's also in the board or is it committee that is forging forward with this. Some people were sent abroad to study too. A total waste of tax-payers money
#4 Posted : Sunday, September 15, 2013 11:34:22 PM

When everybody was against this nuclear thing RAO as Prime Minister and party pushed it forth and placed his the political loser Ochilo Ayako as Chair. If you've been wondering where Basset Bayuka went to he's also in the board or is it committee that is forging forward with this. Some people were sent abroad to study too. A total waste of tax-payers money

Loopsided priorities, ABK.

This child called Kenya wants to sprint in the Olympics before it can crawl, wants to eat nyama choma with @njung'e and other wazees while it is still pissing in its diapers!

Lol lol lo... I can't stop laughing. Our leaders should be thinking of building a coal plant before we talk of nuclear.
#5 Posted : Sunday, September 15, 2013 11:38:53 PM

BTW didn't Kalonzo promise to bring us the Olympics or was it the World Cup in 2022?
#6 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 5:50:36 PM

Business Daily wrote:
Kenya plans to raise 4,000MW of power from nuclear energy by 2031 to sustain socio-economic development in the country, the Ministry of Energy has said.

World Bank, IMF caution against power expansion plan
More homes to get electricity in two years

This is in addition to existing plans for geothermal, coal, wind and other forms of power generation.

Speaking during the official opening of the third Conference on Energy and Nuclear Power in Africa at Leisure Lodge Resort in Kwale County, Energy Principal Secretary Joseph Njoroge said the government is training technicians as well as focusing on intensive research to ensure the project succeeds.
hisah
#7 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 6:08:35 PM

Business Daily wrote:
Kenya plans to raise 4,000MW of power from nuclear energy by 2031 to sustain socio-economic development in the country, the Ministry of Energy has said.

This is in addition to existing plans for geothermal, coal, wind and other forms of power generation.

Speaking during the official opening of the third Conference on Energy and Nuclear Power in Africa at Leisure Lodge Resort in Kwale County, Energy Principal Secretary Joseph Njoroge said the government is training technicians as well as focusing on intensive research to ensure the project succeeds.

Why nuclear energy with all the cheap untapped geothermal? This is a bad expensive choice. Someone is misadvising KE - anglofleecing like projects Sad
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#8 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 6:17:59 PM

hisah wrote:
Business Daily wrote:

Why nuclear energy with all the cheap untapped geothermal? This is a bad expensive choice. Someone is misadvising KE - anglofleecing like projects Sad

EXACTLY...
KenyanEconomist
#9 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 7:59:21 PM

hisah wrote:
Business Daily wrote:

This is vision 2031. Geothermal will most likely be fully utilized by then...
Caramba
#10 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 8:17:35 PM

kripp wrote:
In the meantime, the public in more technologically advanced and more safety conscious countries than our republic are against nuclear plants.

LINK 1
LINK 2

Very true. We don't know what we are playing with. These countries have since recognized the grave danger posed by Nuclear power.
Ceinz
#11 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 10:01:19 PM

KenyanEconomist wrote:
hisah wrote:
Business Daily wrote:

This is vision 2031. Geothermal will most likely be fully utilized by then...Liar Liar Liar

Wikipedia wrote:

Geothermal energy is thermal energy generated and stored in the Earth. Thermal energy is the energy that determines the temperature of matter. The geothermal energy of the Earth's crust originates from the original formation of the planet (20%) and from radioactive decay of materials (80%).

Geothermal power is cost effective, reliable, sustainable, and environmentally friendly,[7] but has historically been limited to areas near tectonic plate boundaries. Recent technological advances have dramatically expanded the range and size of viable resources, especially for applications such as home heating, opening a potential for widespread exploitation.

Still immense potential, that will probably exist long after humanity ceases to exist on earth, and as you can read above with technological advancement we can harness more and more of geothermal. These are the researches that our country should undertake instead of sprinting towards 'what they can't handle'

And fyi we still got unimaginable unexploited potential in solar and wind energy, or if sophistication is what we are yearning for then lets think of exploiting 'ocean waves' energy.
“small step for man”
iris
#12 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 10:41:48 PM

Caramba wrote:
kripp wrote:

LINK 1
LINK 2

Very true. We don't know what we are playing with. These countries have since recognized the grave danger posed by Nuclear power.

Not to mention our general lack of discipline and the fact that our SCADA systems never really work 100% due to our well known peculiarities including corruption and cronyism
#13 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 10:57:27 PM

Ceinz wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
hisah wrote:
Business Daily wrote:

This is vision 2031. Geothermal will most likely be fully utilized by then...Liar Liar Liar

Wikipedia wrote:

Geothermal energy is thermal energy generated and stored in the Earth. Thermal energy is the energy that determines the temperature of matter. The geothermal energy of the Earth's crust originates from the original formation of the planet (20%) and from radioactive decay of materials (80%).

Geothermal power is cost effective, reliable, sustainable, and environmentally friendly,[7] but has historically been limited to areas near tectonic plate boundaries. Recent technological advances have dramatically expanded the range and size of viable resources, especially for applications such as home heating, opening a potential for widespread exploitation.

Still immense potential, that will probably exist long after humanity ceases to exist on earth, and as you can read above with technological advancement we can harness more and more of geothermal. These are the researches that our country should undertake instead of sprinting towards 'what they can't handle'

And fyi we still got unimaginable unexploited potential in solar and wind energy, or if sophistication is what we are yearning for then lets think of exploiting 'ocean waves' energy.

Add "eating" to that....
Boris Boyka
#14 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 11:10:01 PM

If kenya dvlps Nuclear energy, i cross to Uganda!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
enyands
#15 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2015 11:10:28 PM

Ceinz wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:
hisah wrote:
Business Daily wrote:

[quote=Wikipedia]

Add "eating" to that....[/quote

The problem with nuclear is to properly dispose those nuclear wastes without having negative impact on the environment . Developed countries have a big challenge with properly disposing them off . For Kenya I think it won't be a challenge but a disaster . We need to exhaust all the available energy sources first then let nuclear be the last resort .did you know that hypothetically speaking that putting solar panels in whole of isiolo district is enough to supply power half of Kenya non stop during the day

http://m.naturalnews.com...ak_Washington_state.html
hisah
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 10:31:53 AM

Nuclear energy is just a bloody expensive way of generating steam. Why reinvent the wheel when nature has provided the same in abundance!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, April 14, 2015 5:11:25 PM

hisah wrote:
Nuclear energy is just a bloody expensive way of generating steam. Why reinvent the wheel when nature has provided the same in abundance!

Hapo mayuu si mnatumia nyuklea? Sasa sisi ndio hamtaki tujienjoy?
Sad Sad

enyands
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2015 3:45:13 AM

hisah wrote:

Sad Sad

I'm just a die hard green energy guy .If I had 6.4 million shillings I would have loved to own a tesla car . Ndugu @impunity you can enjoy the nyuklear energy till when there comes radioactive leaks , then u start having birth defects and degrading of environmental assets then you think of disposing nyuklear wastes. I one time watched in the news some guys dumping sewage waste to a major river using a damptruck . In Kenya we love shortcuts and there is no fiscal responsibility on anything .so one time tutaona a dump truck dumping radioactive sludge kwa tana river then fish consume the water , then wanjiku eats the fish, then watoto wazilawao be like children born after hiroshima atomic bomb in Japan. Let's exhaust green sources of energy before we go nyuklear .it's a dangerous path. NB ask yourself why USA is very sensitive with Iran going nyuklear and answer if it will do good for Kenya going nyuklear .....
hisah
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 4:13:05 AM

hisah wrote:

Sad Sad

I can assure you that in a decade or two nuclear energy will be archaic! Bloody expensive and hazardous. Crude way of generating power and very risky investment.

KE should be keeping abreast with cheaper and cleaner ways of generating energy. Making good use of the environment and the scarce finance funds.

Floating solar PV is a nice way KE can harness clean energy across counties with minimal financing headaches and avoid land relocation political issues.

Keep posting those new ideas so that the gok agents that read these forums also get informed.

http://cleantechnica.com...ound-floating-solar-pv/

I cannot support nuclear energy with all the clean and cheap alternate energy genrations means now going mainstream. It is utter foolishness for lack of a better description!
smallfama
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2015 12:37:33 PM

While old dogs are learning old tricks, this is happening elsewhere http://paksc.org/video/d...-roadways-the-prototype