wazua Sun, May 5, 2024

Onions market
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 1:17:51 PM

Greetings good people,

My better half has decided to venture into farming and intends to start by growing Onions ( Red Creole). How is the market and what would be the going rate of the produce around December?

How do you sell by the Kilo or lorry or the ka gunia for vitunguus?

Naomba sirkali anipatie majibu!Mimi iko kidogo saidi mbaya kwa hii maneno!
subzero
#2 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 10:17:06 AM

Dahatre
#3 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 11:37:24 AM

I know nothing about onion farming, but I was surprised to learn from the Nivas produce section guys that some of the red onions come from Ethiopia.

The big garlic with big cloves comes from China....

One would think that we could grow all the onions and garlic we need in kenya?
#4 Posted : Monday, September 09, 2013 12:26:18 PM

Many thanks @ Subzero and Dahatre. Indeed and as usual, many people in social media bluff more than act.
I have decided to do this and do it big! I believe in abundance and so could gladly share my numbers with all to learn.

Thanks for the tip @ Dahatre
subzero
#5 Posted : Monday, September 09, 2013 6:40:54 PM

please share more details of how exactly you want to go about it
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 18, 2013 10:15:13 AM

Good people,

I have now done the seed beds and they look alright. I germinated about 3/4 of the red creole tin. Its been two weeks now. My next step is to do he beds on one acre. How wide shoudl they be? One metre or one and a half metres?

Secondly, should the drip lines be 12, 16, 20 ?

I am getting them within a range of 110,000/= to 210,000/= per acre. Anyone who has done this before would really be of help now.
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 26, 2013 1:32:30 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Good people,

I have now done the seed beds and they look alright. I germinated about 3/4 of the red creole tin. Its been two weeks now. My next step is to do he beds on one acre. How wide shoudl they be? One metre or one and a half metres?

I am getting them within a range of 110,000/= to 210,000/= per acre. Anyone who has done this before would really be of help now.

Am doing it also @Bwenyenye but jambar F1 and without drip lines have adequate water...what fertilizers are you using?
#8 Posted : Monday, September 30, 2013 9:04:55 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Good people,

Am doing it also @Bwenyenye but jambar F1 and without drip lines have adequate water...what fertilizers are you using?

@Maka,
I have not used any fertilizer so far. Interesting that you are not using drips! how do you do it? how big is the place?

I am getting the drip lines today! Hope it goes well!
#9 Posted : Tuesday, October 01, 2013 7:52:47 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Greetings good people,

My better half has decided to venture into farming and intends to start by growing Onions ( Red Creole). How is the market and what would be the going rate of the produce around December?

How do you sell by the Kilo or lorry or the ka gunia for vitunguus?

Naomba sirkali anipatie majibu!Mimi iko kidogo saidi mbaya kwa hii maneno!

Bwenyene. Wewe nalima pande gani?
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 02, 2013 11:30:09 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
Good people,

@Maka,
I have not used any fertilizer so far. Interesting that you are not using drips! how do you do it? how big is the place?

Half an acre...il take photos once av completed transplanting am doing it in bits since i dint plant all the seeds at once...am using overhead irrigation...av settled for CAN once they have hit 2 weeks after transplanting...then il top up with easy grow fruit and flowering after every two weeks...I have read once they start bulbing they need a high phosphorus fertilizer...
#11 Posted : Sunday, November 10, 2013 6:29:59 PM

Anyone taking advantage of the Indian demand?
#12 Posted : Monday, November 18, 2013 6:57:47 AM

bwenyenye wrote:
Good people,

@Maka,

Half an acre...il take photos once av completed transplanting am doing it in bits since i dint plant all the seeds at once...am using overhead irrigation...av settled for CAN once they have hit 2 weeks after transplanting...then il top up with easy grow fruit and flowering after every two weeks...I have read once they start bulbing they need a high phosphorus fertilizer...

Progress report.

I got a access to one acre at Katani which has water nearby thus can do drip irrigation.

Would like to know more and when its appropriate to plant.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 7:08:38 AM

@Maka........ Wapi update ya vitunguu.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 3:49:34 PM

#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 3:51:19 PM

#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 3:52:52 PM

#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 20, 2013 3:54:40 PM

#18 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 12:24:02 PM

@maka, That is really good. Mine have been transplanted and are just beginning to bulb. Whendoyou expect yours be ready? what is your marketing/selling plan?
#19 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 3:41:34 PM

@MAKA - Good Stuff.
you doing this on black cotton soil?
Mjasirii
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 27, 2013 12:56:16 PM

@ Maka this is very commendable am also planning to start very soon in black cotton soil. I would like to inquire more about the preparation and other challenges your facing etc.
mjasirii@gmail.com