wazua Fri, May 17, 2024

5 Pages123>»
New look Nation.co.ke site
tnai9
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 9:51:50 AM

I feel this is an improvement compared to the old website. Quality of photographs ndio very poor. My thots
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
majimaji
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 9:57:39 AM

nimeiona. its better.
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 10:24:54 AM

I don't like drastic changes ka hizo - why can't they introduce some of the changes gradually, ama contracts lazima zipewe watu.
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 11:11:01 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/ .... mmmmmmhhhhhh....Reduce font size!!!

#5 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 1:04:31 PM

Okay so Circle.co.ke (a Kenyan firm with international links) is responsible for the renewed effort that is www.nation.co.ke But reports surfacing show they may have copied (ahem! borrowed) from http://www.usatoday.com/

I see the change had to be done in the morning, because that is off-peak, yes the site's primary targeted at foreign audience.

It seems to load slower.

I cannot see this idea about 3 home pages (news, most read, today's paper)

a4architect.com
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 6:49:39 PM

I thought nation runs on wordpress? CSS experts can give us insights on this.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
anika66
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 7:42:06 PM

I prefer the old version, the articles were longer and they looked real. Hii version sasa is too hip looking for me. The stories are so brief.
Keeping it all in the family
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 8:09:53 PM

Not appealing to the eye that sport column looks misplaced
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 8:20:41 PM

my first impression was that there's a bit of daily nation missing...may be i miss the familiarity of the old look
waom254
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 8:28:00 PM

Not appealing to the eye that sport column looks misplaced

The whole thing looks totally disorganised. Utter chaos! As for the font size...you need to walk away from the screen because its too big! Even if they wanted to encourage analogue guys to get digital, wearing glasses would suffice and NOT increasing the font to 48..

All in all, the old site is better and more user friendly so I might just switch to an alternative online newspaper.
A society is defined not only by what it creates, but by what it refuses to destroy - John Sawhill

Tweet @waom254
InnovateGuy
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 15, 2013 11:32:41 PM

That font size is too big, it's taking long to load the page, and that user-friendliness present in the 'old' website is no longer there.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#12 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 8:35:42 AM

Could Nation consider a prompt U turn? This new look sulks!
holycow
#13 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 8:42:15 AM

Link to Business Daily? Getting the error below.

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.
Comments, questions, or suggestions? Write to us at help@nationmedia.com
#14 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 8:49:43 AM

Could Nation consider a prompt U turn? This new look sulks!

love the new look. modern and responsive. and looks good on both my phone and tablets - the two media I use most on it.
mwekez@ji
#15 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 8:54:19 AM

holycow wrote:
Link to Business Daily? Getting the error below.

The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to maintenance downtime or capacity problems. Please try again later.
Comments, questions, or suggestions? Write to us at help@nationmedia.com .

Speculz
#16 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 9:34:11 AM

Why fix something that is not broken .. an effective website is one that is easy to navigate ..i'm afraid this is not ...
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
seppuku
#17 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 9:47:53 AM

My review: looks cluttered. The older version was neater.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#18 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 10:06:40 AM

My view, the old one was better esp in terms of navigation. I liked the upper bar with a link to the other publications. The new one seems like a slide-show
Chaka
#19 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 10:10:54 AM

How do I get the "cutting edge" by watchman?
bird_man
#20 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2013 10:28:15 AM

Reminds me of when we moved from StocksKenya to Wazua.Mtazoea tu....
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.