wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

The Ketogenic Diet -
brav
#1 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 2:13:45 PM

I was watching CBN and found this interesting maybe medical specialists can explain more:

Here's the story

...All cells, including cancer cells, are fueled by glucose. But if you deprive them of glucose, they switch to the alternate fuel, ketone bodies.

Except cancer cells. A defect prevents them from making the switch to using ketone bodies as fuel and therefore, cancer cells can only survive on glucose. All other cells can use either glucose or ketone bodies.

"Your normal cells have the metabolic flexibility to adapt from using glucose to using ketone bodies. But cancer cells lack this metabolic flexibility.

Maybe this has been discussed before... if so direct me there.
Peterman55
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 2:33:02 PM

Great to know about ketogenic diet. My father in law is having last stage cancer and now I can understand the process. Well, I will give a call at private health Los Angeles services for their assistance and I am sure they gonna help me in understanding everyway.
Fullykenyan
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 8:02:36 PM

The ketogenic diet is in my opinion just another project to fleece wanaichi.
What i do is this. I make sure i fast for at least 16 hours a day. That means i have at most an 8 hour window, where i can eat anything.
the last meal i take is at 7pm, and the first meal i take is at 2pm. At around 12pm, i take a banana or any other fruit, while waiting to break my fast at 2pm.
This process has made me lose weight. No Kitambi anymore. My stomach is flat like that of a baby. My energy levels have gone up too.
Ryko
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 9:02:43 PM

This is how I learnt about Keto. Ladies love to diet, mara kujuice, mara kufast. Suddenly I saw my better half move from 93Kg to 79Kg bila exercise. Wait a minute, became inquisitive because of my Utambi.

My simple understanding was Keto add more plant based fats i.e avocados eat proteins more and get carbs out of your diet. I changed to proteins/fruits. I rarely take carbs at all ugali/breads/etc and my utambi was sorted, managed to shed lots of kg in a short span. Keto to me is good fats, protein i.e egg/fats/nyama with very low carbs/sugars. Adding exercise made it perfect. Kitambi free

I think Keto works, atleast i have first hand experience after years of struggle with 3 digit Kgs.
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2018 10:08:18 AM

Fullykenyan wrote:
What i do is this. I make sure i fast for at least 16 hours a day. That means i have at most an 8 hour window, where i can eat anything.
the last meal i take is at 7pm, and the first meal i take is at 2pm. At around 12pm, i take a banana or any other fruit, while waiting to break my fast at 2pm.
This process has made me lose weight. No Kitambi anymore. My stomach is flat like that of a baby. My energy levels have gone up too.

From experience, a low carb diet is good, leaves you refreshed, but I noticed you may get certain cravings once in a while... Wash it down with lemon water and you feel like you just came from the gym.

The worst should be wheat products.

Your feeding plan sounds good too, but it is recommended you do light meals early evening.
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2018 11:00:29 AM

Fullykenyan wrote:

Yaani utakua unafast for the rest of your life?

Mimi siwes