wazua Wed, Sep 25, 2024

Replacement of cracked screen on Nokia Lumia 620
Julie
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 1:09:33 PM

Hi guys.
Who know where I can replace if at all my Nokia Lumia cracked screen in Nairobi?
Axe
#2 Posted : Friday, August 09, 2013 2:00:40 PM

Don't take your phone to any fundi. Only nokia centers have this screen n there are on high demand.
"You wouldn't know where the boundary was until you got a slap on the back of your wrist"
Julie
#3 Posted : Saturday, August 10, 2013 10:27:30 AM

Thanks Axe.
Will visit one next week.
Ilikeyou
#4 Posted : Saturday, August 10, 2013 12:18:52 PM

On Nokia Lumia 620,
pls assist on how I can use the phone as a modem & connect to the net.
I have downloaded several software to assist connect but all have failed.
I used Nokia E series & was able to use Nokia PC suite.
lexx
#5 Posted : Saturday, August 10, 2013 1:46:04 PM

Ilikeyou wrote:
On Nokia Lumia 620,
pls assist on how I can use the phone as a modem & connect to the net.
I have downloaded several software to assist connect but all have failed.
I used Nokia E series & was able to use Nokia PC suite.

turn on Network sharing on your phone and if your computer is wireless enabled, you should connect to the Lumia.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 12:39:48 PM

a bit curious - how did you break the gorilla glass? or the 620 does not have it?
#7 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 1:16:59 PM

Can Lumia 720 "communicate" with other devices wirelessly ama iko locked like Apple's gadgets?

Julie
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 1:46:26 PM

@ Masukuma
Hii yangu haina. Car keys in my pocket + phone in same pocket did the trick! Half screen works, other does not! Frustrating...have to keep turning phone around to call or type sms..
Kwanini
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 3:49:33 PM

haiya... were i you i would have stuck to idroid. Any shop wherever you stagger has the screen, wataka gani mchina au orig?
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Julie
#10 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 5:04:11 PM

Tihihi....changed screens before on E72 nikadangaywa its original screen. Everything changes from thereon ....You start squinting your eyes like a chinese to read whats on the phone!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 8:17:01 PM

a bit curious - how did you break the gorilla glass? or the 620 does not have it?

Hahaha the gorilla glass is "scratch proof" but not "crack proof". It cracks before it scratches.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, August 13, 2013 11:43:18 PM

Can Lumia 720 "communicate" with other devices wirelessly ama iko locked like Apple's gadgets?

define "communicates"!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, August 14, 2013 12:11:37 PM

Julie wrote:
Tihihi....changed screens before on E72 nikadangaywa its original screen. Everything changes from thereon ....You start squinting your eyes like a chinese to read whats on the phone!

It goes further and starts alerting you of wins in promotions you have not participated in, Mpesa receipts from people you don't know and those "Mtoto Ameumwa na Nyoka messages" etc etc.That is the point you let is face the tarmac by crushing it hard on a well paved hard surface. I love my Kabambe aka Mulika Mwizi, its gets better with age and however hard i mistreat it it never gives up.
Julie
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 4:55:14 PM

Can anyone guess how much it cost me to replace screen at Nokia centre Nbi?
For Sport
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 7:37:38 PM

6k.?
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 12, 2013 9:48:47 PM

Julie wrote:

half the cost of the phone?
XSK
#17 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 7:59:12 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Julie wrote:

i replaced the screen for my Huawei ideos X5 for 6 k at telebell view park towers. I felt conned considering the phone was bought at 20 k a year ago
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#18 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 8:36:19 AM

XSK wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Julie wrote:

i replaced the screen for my Huawei ideos X5 for 6 k at telebell view park towers. I felt conned considering the phone was bought at 20 k a year ago

The screen is the achilles heel to the smartphone. Smartphone vendors will use the screen to lock in customers and profit. Just like HP sells a high tech printer at 6k but you will buy catridges/toners at 6k per month.
grolut
#19 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 2:55:51 PM

I cracked mine and was quoted 4k. Bought a replacement from eBay and did it myself. Damage to wallet 1,300/-.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
qooler
#20 Posted : Friday, September 13, 2013 3:43:18 PM

grolut wrote:
I cracked mine and was quoted 4k. Bought a replacement from eBay and did it myself. Damage to wallet 1,300/-.

bloo, wewe ni fundi ya simu?