#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 4:03:53 PM

Today I did something crazy....

I had a job opening in my firm;

Advertised it online on three websites;

I gave the job to the very first person who applied;

Even before getting other applications for comparison;

I just got the feeling that this was the right one;

"Love-at-first-sight" kind of thing!

Chaka
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 4:38:15 PM

So did you interview the applicant..ama you deemed it unnecessary waste of time?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 11:48:25 PM

Chaka wrote:
So did you interview the applicant..ama you deemed it unnecessary waste of time?

No interview!

Applicant called to inquire if job was still open.

The self-expression on the phone was enough to convince me this was the one.

Invited applicant for quick briefing

Starting job on Monday
ChumsQuest
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 8:08:40 AM

Now, would this applicant happen to be a plug with a a nice sitting allowance?
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 8:42:53 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:

ati a plug with a sitting allowance???? Visualizing a plug with linda ogutu's hips and some big ass ...Horrific..u meant socket right?
Ama while i was away while the names changed
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 8:58:06 AM

Lol! There is a nice job I applied recently. I wish I would be as lucky. Lol
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 9:35:49 AM

plug with nice sitting allowance Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Meduza
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 10:03:34 AM

case study...update us how things go
You cant win, unless you first begin....
ChumsQuest
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 10:23:03 AM

carygoh wrote:
ChumsQuest wrote:

ati a plug with a sitting allowance???? Visualizing a plug with linda ogutu's hips and some big ass ...Horrific..u meant socket right?
Ama while i was away while the names changed

Bwahahaha, @carygoh yes I meant socket...hiyo inaweza kuwa alarm!!! But then again with the rise of Aundrew/Audrey, you never know...
segemia
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 10:54:43 AM

I swear this must be the maanzoni ranch resort type!!! With a monthly stipend and "house" allowance.
webish
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 11:10:08 AM

interesting comments. :) :)

@mukiha , please be sure to let us know how the "plug/socket" fairs on from Monday. So we can help you judge your "love-at-first-sight"

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 11:30:41 AM

chunga kamuti or the other one from pembasmile
iller
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 11:52:12 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:

Pray Pray Pray Pray
#14 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:39:12 AM

ChumsQuest wrote:

UPDATE 1:

A total of 82 people applied for the job. All of them university graduates even though this was a simple clerical job that can be done by a diligent form four leaver with basic knowledge of MS Office!

Gender distribution:

55 women

27 men

That is, there were TWO women applicants for every ONE man!

This was quite an eye-opener. Makes me wonder why there are so few women in employment than men...to the point of needing affirmative action [Remember Kibaki's "30% of ALL public service appointments shall be women"].

Women seem to have a higher "go-getter" approach to life and are willing to start low. They don't have inflated egos - "Me? I can't do such a menial job: I am a graduate!"

So, naturally, the first person to apply was a woman; and she got the job.
ChumsQuest
#15 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:31:35 AM

mukiha wrote:
ChumsQuest wrote:

UPDATE 1:

A total of 82 people applied for the job. All of them university graduates even though this was a simple clerical job that can be done by a diligent form four leaver with basic knowledge of MS Office!

Gender distribution:

55 women

27 men

That is, there were TWO women applicants for every ONE man!

This was quite an eye-opener. Makes me wonder why there are so few women in employment than men...to the point of needing affirmative action [Remember Kibaki's "30% of ALL public service appointments shall be women"].

Women seem to have a higher "go-getter" approach to life and are willing to start low. They don't have inflated egos - "Me? I can't do such a menial job: I am a graduate!"

So, naturally, the first person to apply was a woman; and she got the job.

@Mukiha Gai Fafa, who would have thought I would be a foreteller? So bottom line is it was a socket? Good for you maan..Applause Applause Applause Sasa tupe details...
#16 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:34:58 AM

@ChumsQuest; explain to an old geezer, exactly what is a socket?

I notice you had mentioned "plug" earlier, now socket. Which is which and what do they mean?
#17 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:17:10 AM

mukiha wrote:

I notice you had mentioned "plug" earlier, now socket. Which is which and what do they mean?

Hata kama niliingia juza, wacha nikueleze kwa sababu naheshimu wazee:
Plug = donor
Socket = recipient.
Tuko pamoja sasa? G'day.
ChumsQuest
#18 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 12:25:17 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Plug = donor
Socket = recipient.
Tuko pamoja sasa? G'day.

Thank you @Rankaz13, I will give a simpler explanation to my old homie @mukiha...Socket huwa na shimo zenye plug huingizwa...thazzit and thazoll...nimethiririmukwo for offering that explanation..normally I am a prude..
#19 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 4:56:55 PM

deleted.
#20 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 5:05:32 PM

ChumsQuest wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
mukiha wrote:

Plug = donor
Socket = recipient.
Tuko pamoja sasa? G'day.

Thank you @Rankaz13, I will give a simpler explanation to my old homie @mukiha...Socket huwa na shimo zenye plug huingizwa...thazzit and thazoll...nimethiririmukwo for offering that explanation..normally I am a prude..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You're most welcome.