6 Pages123>»
SK metamorphosis....A new beginning
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 9:41:00 AM

Just seen this banner on the top-right-hand corner

It's about time!

But why a change of name?

There is nothing wrong with the current one

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 9:53:00 AM

I second @Mukiha. Just leave the name alone... we love being SK,SKerians,SKists,SKlets.... sasa mwataka kuiita nini? Wakarima Stocks????

Hapana... you will spoil it if you change the name... thats what binds us here....

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
Djinn
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 9:54:00 AM

@mukiha - well,we asked for some enhancements - lets wait and see - i hope we will have a choice,in case we are not comfy with the new look,like with yahoo mail,of using the old interface or new interface. I gather some of us tri/quad/quatro generians might be rather conservative

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 9:55:00 AM

What will Skerians become? I almost told the census officials I belong to a tribe called SKerians before I remembered that the gova only recognises 42 tribes and there are 100 others not recognised.

Baada ya dhiki,faaraja
Djinn
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 9:56:00 AM

@Wendz - perhaps with regional integration (and given that SK has some numbers for regional markets),perhaps it will be Stocks East Africa (SEA) - then we can look forward to a regional mix.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
jaribu
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 10:04:00 AM

the people behind stockskenya.com have been quietly making a tidy sum from google Adsense of about Sh 2,500/- daily and the site is worth Sh1.8m. so you can expect the figures to climb up if they get the metamorphosis right. what a nice little earner!

how much the site is worth: http://www.websiteoutlook.com/www.stockskenya.com

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
wanyuru
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 10:07:00 AM

At least make it something that wont take 'our' identity away. like SK stocks.

or we do a 'referendum' here.

All for Change of name- vote ..... all for Nay vote......

Yes am a slow walker,but i never walk backwards.(anonymous)
Fundaah
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 10:13:00 AM

I hope sk impunity will not apply here ....sk name is a matter of life and death....sk listen to your people.....New name noooooooooooooo.....you can do a referendum on that and you will be amazed how we own that name........

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 10:14:00 AM

Nay

Again Nay

Live hard,die hard.
sheep
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 10:22:00 AM

I saw somewhere while browsing for cool java apps a SK java application for mobile phones with live stock prices.I dont know when it will be officially released but I`m patiently waiting.
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 10:38:00 AM

Wat will become of skenge!!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 10:38:00 AM

wacha resistance to change. first lets see the change then we talk about it...I wonder why we have assumed the name will change...domain ni hile hile..
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 11:05:00 AM

And what's the cry for.....??....They change the name,we establish a new SK.......I can't afford to be anything other than Skerian........but then i will wait impatiently.

Old man about town....
sokomjinga
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 11:10:00 AM

Based on the item below,I think we should expect the EAST AFRICAN ....

An Interview with the Minds Behind StocksKenya.com
by HASH on December 7,2007

…………………………….

What’s in the future for you and the others at StocksKenya?
We are also intending to provide a platform similar to stockskenya for the East African region as the regions stock exchanges develop.

All beginnings are difficult ..... ..... everything has an end,only a sausage has two.
Taunet Neelel ..... New Beginning .....
Kamaa
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 11:52:00 AM

@ sk

we are waiting...

breathlessly...

hoping that it will be better than we are imagining...

don't let us down...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Jay R
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 12:07:00 PM

Let's wait for the changes then comment then. What binds us is not the name,but the intent and content of all the posts. Life is about being dynamic,when need be. If they [sk] saw the need,it could be for the better. I await!

When i see my purple,you see it not.
when i see my purple, you see it not!
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 12:31:00 PM

Even KCB went regional. They wanted to rename themselves KCB Bank to retain their identity but to drop the name kenya to aid operations outside kenya. Stockskenya can take cue.

Baada ya dhiki,faaraja
chi20
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 12:58:00 PM

we are the main stakeholders,shareholders,consumers and customers of the sk,it was worthwhile to have been given priorities in those strategic decision making. without the skerians the platform wont be there to start with,and as someone has pointed out down the threads,they wont be able to rake in the millions worth of kenya money they are making. sk admin,kindly reconsider your position.

chi20
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 1:00:00 PM

...hope it won't be Inoorero stocks!!!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2009 1:04:00 PM

Ok,why dont you guys suggest names for them that they can consider when they are going through this metamorphosis.... I start

1. SK East Africa Stocks
2. SK Stocks Limited
3. SK eeeeeeh (jazeni tuache complain without coming up with a solution......) they should have asked us for our suggestions... or the ones we gave were enough?

And they should give a reward to the person who comes up with the most creative name..... which incorporates the region if thats what they are looking at....

By the way,please retain our green color - it soothes some of our ailing eyesight... heheeheheh.. ... dont put screaming colors...

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.