wazua Sun, May 19, 2024

131 Pages«<8788899091>»
Kenya Economy Watch
littledove
#1761 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:41:03 PM

just stumbled on this as I was preparing to sleep

https://www.kenya-today.com/opinion/dear-china-we-will-not-pay-funds-loaned-kenya-under-jubilee-promise-will-enforce/amp
For the rest of us, this truth remains. We cannot pay this debt. We must not pay it. And maybe if we said it loud enough, this government will stop gambling with our lives. Forget what the titled professionals tell you about economic theories and whatever else. Justice demands that we cannot, and should not, pay back any loans incurred by Muigai and Rotich. Let them pay back that money from their own pockets.
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#1762 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:46:33 PM

littledove wrote:
just stumbled on this as I was preparing to sleep

https://www.kenya-today.com/opinion/dear-china-we-will-not-pay-funds-loaned-kenya-under-jubilee-promise-will-enforce/amp
For the rest of us, this truth remains. We cannot pay this debt. We must not pay it. And maybe if we said it loud enough, this government will stop gambling with our lives. Forget what the titled professionals tell you about economic theories and whatever else. Justice demands that we cannot, and should not, pay back any loans incurred by Muigai and Rotich. Let them pay back that money from their own pockets.

Hahaha

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#1763 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:48:26 PM

Thitifini wrote:
pops wrote:
Why is the executive so silent on these key matters such as VAT on fuel and the debt situation? It's been over a week now.

They know we are screwed whichever lane we take.Sad

It will actually be worse if the fuel tax is reversed.. Wacha tupambane na hali

Ericsson
#1764 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 6:26:49 AM

Thitifini wrote:
pops wrote:
Why is the executive so silent on these key matters such as VAT on fuel and the debt situation? It's been over a week now.

Fuel tax be reversed, let it be worse so that next time kenyans know that choices have consequences. When the money was being stolen and wasted they were celebrating
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#1765 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 7:09:45 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
pops wrote:

Fuel tax be reversed, let it be worse so that next time kenyans know that choices have consequences. When the money was being stolen and wasted they were celebrating

it should be reversed. it's worse than the IMF conditions. tuko pamoja.
#1766 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 8:42:22 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
pops wrote:

This one will really poke watu wa tangatanga express huko mashinani. I almost thing some of these are sabotage.
limanika
#1767 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 2:12:15 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
pops wrote:

This one will really poke watu wa tangatanga express huko mashinani. I almost thing some of these are sabotage.

Hiyo tax itolewe waweze kutumia bongo. And why make IMF keep 100b idle forever?
Ericsson
#1768 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 2:14:46 PM

https://www.businessdail...53784-mqdh0s/index.html

Shrinking company profits and employee layoffs by struggling firms slashed the taxman’s revenue projection by Sh68.6 billion last year, a new Treasury report has shown.

The two tax categories contributed the most to Kenya Revenue Authority’s (KRA) Sh124.6 billion total shortfall for the 2017/18 financial year, according to the Treasury data released early this month.

KRA collected Sh1.36 trillion in the year, falling below the Sh1.49 trillion target.
Total revenue collection, including fees and penalties levied by government ministries, hit Sh1.49 trillion last year against a target of Sh1.66 trillion. The revenue shortfall raises concerns as to whether the government can raise up to Sh1.949 trillion projected in the current (2018/19) financial year – a 17.5 per cent increase from last year’s target.
Income tax paid by salaried workers in form of Pay As You Earn (PAYE) fell Sh29.2 billion short of target, as “other” income taxes including those paid by companies were Sh39.5 billion short of target.

Revenue collected within ministries and grants from donors (described as appropriations-in-aid or A-I-A) also fell short of target by Sh47.8 billion.
Excise duty, which is payable on consumer goods, raised Sh179.4 billion that was Sh16.9 billion below projection, valued added tax (both local and on imports) was below target by Sh21.2 billion while expected investment income was Sh7.4 billion short.
Ericsson
#1769 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 2:17:20 PM

https://www.standardmedi...kenya-miss-imf-facility

Kenyans might have to reconsider their opposition to the 16 per cent value-added tax (VAT) on petroleum products as the alternative might be a financial crisis whose effects will be more painful than those of the punitive tax measure being pushed by the IMF. For example, Financial Standard, has learnt that should the Government fall out with the IMF for failing to meet commitments it made to the lender, some of the bondholders of the $2 billion (Sh200 billion) Eurobond Note will be at liberty to immediately recall outstanding interests and principals, throwing the country into a tailspin.
#1770 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 2:31:27 PM

Ericsson wrote:
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2001295244/looming-economic-meltdown-should-kenya-miss-imf-facility

Kenyans might have to reconsider their opposition to the 16 per cent value-added tax (VAT) on petroleum products as the alternative might be a financial crisis whose effects will be more painful than those of the punitive tax measure being pushed by the IMF. For example, Financial Standard, has learnt that should the Government fall out with the IMF for failing to meet commitments it made to the lender, some of the bondholders of the $2 billion (Sh200 billion) Eurobond Note will be at liberty to immediately recall outstanding interests and principals, throwing the country into a tailspin.

The fuel tax must remain

#1771 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 2:33:50 PM

Ericsson wrote:
https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2001295244/looming-economic-meltdown-should-kenya-miss-imf-facility

The fuel tax must remain

Jubilee has destroyed what Kibaki put in place kabisa. very shameful. Yaani all economic news is negative stuff or this is deliberate.
#1772 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 2:37:02 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The fuel tax must remain

Jubilee has destroyed what Kibaki put in place kabisa. very shameful. Yaani all economic news is negative stuff or this is deliberate.

In the law capping interest rate thread, we foretold the dilemma ahead caused by the two men. It's not yet even bad at this point. Let the big four agenda start utilizing cash ndio utajua hatujui.. Meanwhile people are buying goats worth 10m? Kukula nyama uki meza mate?

Ericsson
#1773 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 3:58:02 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The fuel tax must remain

In the law capping interest rate thread, we foretold the dilemma ahead caused by the two men. It's not yet even bad at this point. Let the big four agenda start utilizing cash ndio utajua hatujui.. Meanwhile people are buying goats worth 10m? Kukula nyama uki meza mate?

Agenda changed,president said his legacy now is fighting corruption.
Big 4 arap singh was to reap big through tenders and deals
#1774 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 4:14:00 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The fuel tax must remain

Are you sure that the agenda changed. Did you listen to his speech in DC, and the one in China

Ericsson
#1775 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 4:15:04 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The fuel tax must remain

Are you sure that the agenda changed. Did you listen to his speech in DC, and the one in China

Wait as you watch the unfolding events
#1776 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 4:23:23 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The fuel tax must remain

Wait as you watch the unfolding events

Remember of the tano tena, only 3 are remaining coz; one is gone and the last one we will be back to kelele ya constitution. Kenya is basically doomed.
wukan
#1777 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 4:52:00 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The fuel tax must remain

The interest rate cap is the one that IMF is more concerned about so the compromise will be fuel VAT delayed for 2 years but rate cap goes. If rate cap is repealed KE may gradually inflate itself out of debt.
lochaz-index
#1778 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 7:14:02 PM

Ericsson wrote:

The fuel tax must remain

Forget the rhetoric. Big 4 was a nonstarter from the get go. Deficit spending( partly at commercial interest rates) while increasing taxes on a shrinking tax base only takes you so far till you hit a brick wall. KE isn't too far from that predicament if not there already. There is simply no way to finance the big four. DOA.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
limanika
#1779 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 7:37:06 PM

Why does govt make promises to IMF they know to realise same they would have to rely on parliament? Parliament which can decline?
RIEK01
#1780 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 7:41:22 PM

It's called kicking the can down the road.