131 Pages«<102103104105106>»
Kenya Economy Watch
Fyatu
#2061 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 11:51:38 AM

wukan wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
What beats me is that when i look at a few rural towns in retrospect, i can see a boom in economic activity. For example, erstwhile sleepy towns like Othaya used to go to sleep literally at 7pm. Nowadays, even in the villages of Othaya sub-county there is activity with nduthis(bodaboda) rambling past 9PM. There are M-pesa shops hapa na pale, one or two wines and spirits pubs and there is electricity.How this modest boom(in many small towns of kenya) is not translating into money into peoples pockets is where kizungumkuti is. There also new buildings coming up in almost all towns in Kenya as we speak."Brandnew second hand cars" are all over the place etc. CBK governor says economy grew by 6+% last year and is bound to grow even further this year...where is the disconnect here? Why are majority of Kenyans not feeling this growth where it matters most?(in their pockets)

Can we also talk about defaults? I bank with NIC and the number of cars they have for sale on their site is just out of this world... Now add to that property etc....

Are you suggesting whatever i am seeing is fueled by debt? I thought the banks stopped lending when rates cap came into effect...there must be someone/somepeople somewhere making money out of all this...I have read in another thread that David Ndii claims it is one family that is eating nyama while most wazuans are suffering from fatique watching the lethargic NSE move sideways day-in day out...other quarters are saying foreign owned fintechs are reaping big with mobile loans that are mostly spent on sportpesa...My question still stands. How come this 6% growth yoy for the past 5 years(wit interruption in 2017) not translating into money in my pocket?

Effective growth will be felt if the growth rate is 7.5% and sustained. Unfortunately you can't achieve that rate with the current economic set up. What we have is a debt-fueled growth. The imbalance it is creating will have to be reset.

The growth in othaya and other rural towns is not driven by increased productivity(from stats there is no increase in maize or tea production)but from govt spending and bloated workforce. That spending is coming from over-taxing other sectors. The overtaxed sectors then slowdown on consumption and investment.

David Ndii was the key author on the public finance chapter of our katiba. He is the one who sent us on this slippery slope of big govt and uncontrolled borrowing.

Asante for this explanation @Wukan
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
muandiwambeu
#2062 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 1:35:34 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Does anyone know how mzee Baks is doing in retirement? I expected to see him meeting and greeting wananinchi at the Kenyan open but he was nowhere to be seen. Mkimwona msalimieni sana

I wish mbaki was healthy enough and non political and experienced has he is stands out in a public arena and calls the duo mavi ya kuku. Then Ndii would have a chance at it without receiving political barrage over it.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#2063 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 1:47:39 PM

Economy is recovering from ODM shenanigans in 2017. We will be good by mid next year (2020) now that we are all in the government.
#2064 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 2:18:12 PM

Economy is recovering from ODM shenanigans in 2017. We will be good by mid next year (2020) now that we are all in the government.

True. Choices have consequences.

#2065 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 3:41:58 PM

Can I have some of what you're snorting?
#2066 Posted : Thursday, April 04, 2019 4:46:14 PM

As we used to reason when we were kids, the shilling is 99/- for ndorah! d'oh! The guy's are trying. All African Presidents are proving to be failures, but at least this ones are doing a little for KES.
A New Kenya
2Czar
#2067 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2019 2:56:26 PM

NASA stuff might have distabilized the Kenyan economy, but I personally don't blame the NASA leaders and supporters. We have had our share of problems as a nation and now that the handshake came and rivals are now on the same side of the game, I hope things will get better.
Ericsson
#2068 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 12:06:22 PM

@RobertAlai
We are going to print more money to cover our UNMEASURED indulgences. Sad!!!!
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#2069 Posted : Monday, April 08, 2019 12:27:39 PM

As we used to reason when we were kids, the shilling is 99/- for ndorah! d'oh! The guy's are trying. All African Presidents are proving to be failures, but at least this ones are doing a little for KES.

Your monk on Haile Selassie still reasons like that...that's why he defends the shilling manipulation.
lochaz-index
#2070 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 7:56:19 AM

Sarcasm?
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
Fyatu
#2071 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 11:40:20 AM

Now the honchos at NSE are now hinting earnings for 2019 will be below par because of drought...This bear is here to stay
#2072 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 11:51:34 AM

Fyatu wrote:
Now the honchos at NSE are now hinting earnings for 2019 will be below par because of drought...This bear is here to stay

Manze it's mid April and no sign of rain kabisa....
Ericsson
#2073 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 11:52:58 AM

Fyatu wrote:

You can make it rain like Fat Joe and Lil Wayne.
mulla
#2074 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 12:15:41 PM

Fyatu wrote:

We live in a country where diaspora remittances makes up one of the top 4 earners, even higher than manufacturing many a time. I have never understood this, hii Kenya tuko na mashida!!!
#2075 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2019 12:53:26 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Raining in Both Uganda and Tanzania. We are paying for our sins.
Fyatu
#2076 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2019 6:47:59 PM

Two quick questions.....

1. Is this growth due to what Jubilee Govt. has done?

2. Is there a correlation between Uhuru's Kenyatta govertment and this growth or is it a fluke?

What does this re-basing of GDP mean to Mwananchi at grassroots?

LINK
#2077 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2019 8:21:20 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Two quick questions.....

2. Is there a correlation between Uhuru's Kenyatta govertment and this growth or is it a fluke?

LINK

Sorcery is the answer.. The real barometer is NSE and you and I know what’s up

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#2078 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2019 10:33:06 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Notmuch in Uganda. I think I have seen rains not more than 5 times (days) since last month.

EA is in big trouble.
#2079 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2019 11:04:15 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

Notmuch in Uganda. I think I have seen rains not more than 5 times (days) since last month.

EA is in big trouble.

Your Dubai deal is attractive

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ericsson
#2080 Posted : Tuesday, April 16, 2019 9:29:27 AM

Fyatu wrote:
Two quick questions.....

LINK

Rebasing is to allow more debt to be taken.
Now countries are being classified according to debt distress level.
Mwananchi at grassroots will get poorer and poorer and poor government services