wazua Fri, May 3, 2024

68 Pages«<3435363738>»
KCB buy buy buy
Ebenyo
#701 Posted : Tuesday, April 18, 2017 10:16:29 PM

11.5m KCB shares traded today

Someone taking position ahead of book closure.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
actuarywahisa
#702 Posted : Wednesday, April 19, 2017 12:22:21 PM

Horton wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/IMF-pressure-Kenya-interest-rate-cap/539546-3890742-sc66p0z/index.html

@Ericsson i see your 53/- coming sooner than later

Its true though, the cartel thing as mentioned in the article

The cartel is behind 'The sky is faliing' stories.
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
Spikes
#703 Posted : Wednesday, April 19, 2017 12:44:54 PM

actuarywahisa wrote:
Horton wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/IMF-pressure-Kenya-interest-rate-cap/539546-3890742-sc66p0z/index.html

Interest rate cap has two levels of cartels pulling in different directions.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Horton
#704 Posted : Wednesday, April 19, 2017 6:56:08 PM

Spikes wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
Horton wrote:

"cartel" theory or other conspiracy theories ......there is still value here.......this stock should make a pretty penny when the market stops overreacting...

There is a difference between investors and speculators......historical data suggests investors have always come out on top. I forget....it was either Ben Graham or Warren Buffett who said the Stock market often acts was a popularity contest in the short term
#705 Posted : Wednesday, April 19, 2017 8:00:22 PM

Horton wrote:
Spikes wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:
Horton wrote:

"cartel" theory or other conspiracy theories ......there is still value here.......this stock should make a pretty penny when the market stops overreacting...

There is a difference between investors and speculators......historical data suggests investors have always come out on top. I forget....it was either Ben Graham or Warren Buffett who said the Stock market often acts was a popularity contest in the short term

I wont comment about the two said camps but I am certain that the economy is bleeding

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ebenyo
#706 Posted : Thursday, April 20, 2017 9:27:24 AM

FY 2016 total income-kshs 69,476,650,000

Expenditure-kshs 49,754,203,000 - 72%
Profit- kshs 19,722,447,000 -28%

How the profit will be used.
Dividends-9 billion-45%
Retained earnings-10.7 billion-55%

*A very healthy profit margin of 28% and a dividend payout of 45%
*The workforce which currently top the expenditure at kshs 17,719,037,000 should be treamed to boost profit.Kcb mtaani outlets and digital banking should be embraced instead.

Ericsson
#707 Posted : Thursday, April 20, 2017 10:18:16 AM

Ebenyo wrote:

Dividends-9 billion-45%

*The workforce which currently top the expenditure at kshs 17,719,037,000 should be treamed to boost profit.Kcb mtaani outlets and digital banking should be embraced instead.

No need to trim the workforce.
Instead the revenue should be increased/revenue per employee.
Currently we know that is being hindered by the interest rates cap law which has reduced the margins.
//I am of the opinion that you don't trim work force to increase income as that is short term and not sustainable.
Rather increase the revenue from your business activities
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#708 Posted : Thursday, April 20, 2017 11:15:31 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Dividends-9 billion-45%

Currently we know that is being hindered by the interest rates cap law which has reduced the margins.
//I am of the opinion that you don't trim work force to increase income as that is short term and not sustainable.

Both of you have a point. It makes sense to empower your employees to increase revenues per employee BUT there are some employees who might not want to or can easily make the move to the sales approach. Many tellers don't know how to cross-sell. Sales isn't easy. As KCB (or any bank) moves customers to other channels, some functions become redundant. Retraining isn't as easy as it sounds for those already in the system.
Ebenyo
#709 Posted : Thursday, April 20, 2017 7:34:57 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Dividends-9 billion-45%

@Ericson,dont worry about the interest cap.The results shows that it will be beaten in the long run:

*interest income grew from kshs 56383933000 to kshs 62806075000-11% increase
*Loan book grew from kshs 345968686000 to kshs 385745331000-11% increase
*Operating income grew from kshs 62616468000 to kshs 69476650000 11% increase

Ebenyo
#710 Posted : Thursday, April 20, 2017 7:50:32 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Dividends-9 billion-45%

Both of you have a point. It makes sense to empower your employees to increase revenues per employee BUT there are some employees who might not want to or can easily make the move to the sales approach. Many tellers don't know how to cross-sell. Sales isn't easy. As KCB (or any bank) moves customers to other channels, some functions become redundant. Retraining isn't as easy as it sounds for those already in the system.

@vvs,your point is right.This is my point of view.In 2015 the staff cost was kshs 15310898000.This shot up in 2016 by kshs 2,408,139,000 to ksh 17,719,037,000-15% increase.If it continues like that year on year,the profit margin will be thin.
During mtukufu rais moi reign,kcb workforce was bloated with ethnic numbers.I dont think whether the problem has been addresed.There are alot of old employees who should exit the bank to allow for a lean workforce.
#711 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 2:50:51 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Dividends-9 billion-45%

@vvs,your point is right.This is my point of view.In 2015 the staff cost was kshs 15310898000.This shot up in 2016 by kshs 2,408,139,000 to ksh 17,719,037,000-15% increase.If it continues like that year on year,the profit margin will be thin.
During mtukufu rais moi reign,kcb workforce was bloated with ethnic numbers.I dont think whether the problem has been addresed.There are alot of old employees who should exit the bank to allow for a lean workforce.

Listen my friend.

Staff costs will continue to rise. Why?

Because those being let go are the redundant workers who's jobs have been taken up by digitization but the bank will need to hire techies, developers, database engineers and different kinds of analysts who's pay is not cheap, apart from that these kind of jobs require continuous improvement and training, incentives to make sure the bank retains them etc.

So KCB should concentrate on making more money because staff costs are bound to go up..no question about that.
kimanimsc
#712 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 6:35:43 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Dividends-9 billion-45%

Listen my friend.

Staff costs will continue to rise. Why?

Because those being let go are the redundant workers who's jobs have been taken up by digitization but the bank will need to hire techies, developers, database engineers and different kinds of analysts who's pay is not cheap, apart from that these kind of jobs require continuous improvement and training, incentives to make sure the bank retains them etc.

So KCB should concentrate on making more money because staff costs are bound to go up..no question about that.

KCB begins job cuts to counter technology and Kenya rate cap
NAIROBI, April 20 (Reuters) - Kenya's KCB Group, the country's biggest lender by assets, said it has offered employees voluntary early retirement in a bid to save 2 billion shillings ($19.36 million) each year.

KCB, which also operates in five neighbouring countries, had already said it would cut an unspecified number of jobs, mainly due to technological changes and the capping of commercial rates in Kenya last September.

Kenya has been a global pioneer in technological innovations in finance, launching the M-pesa mobile phone cash transfer system a decade ago and the first mobile phone-based bond last month.

The cost of the proposed buyouts, which are being offered in line with local laws, will take a year and a half to recover, KCB said on Thursday.

Staff have a month to apply, and the group plans to complete the exercise in the middle of June, sources at KCB told Reuters.

KCB said the cuts would help it align its staff with a banking industry that had "been dimmed by legislative and regulatory reforms". It also said technological changes were now attracting non-traditional firms into the sector.
Ebenyo
#713 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 10:10:57 PM

This is a good step in the right direction.This will help stop the further increase of staff costs.
Ebenyo
#714 Posted : Tuesday, April 25, 2017 8:58:50 AM

Now that a correct measure has been taken to tame the spirallling wage bill,there is this vote called 'Other operating expenses' which should also be addressed.In 2015 it consumed kshs 11,738,084,000.In 2016 it rose to kshs 14,978,945,000 which is 27% increase by kshs 3,240,861,000.
This is the second highest expenditure.
I went through the intergreted report to see its breakdown but couldnt find it.When the least expenditure is ksh 188,292,000 for directors emoluments,i think shareholders should also know the itemized breakdown of this other operating expenses which consumes 14 billion.
I hope we are not blindfolded vice versa.

Loans and advances tops the revenue at kshs 51,208,848,000 followed by govt securities at kshs 10,866,513,000.I think the company should invest more in govt securities to increase this amount.
kcb mpesa mobile loans is classfied as 'other fees and commisions' which generated kshs 6,064,473,000.The company should improve here.They can make more than kshs 10 bilion here if they improve.
#715 Posted : Tuesday, April 25, 2017 11:20:44 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
Now that a correct measure has been taken to tame the spirallling wage bill,there is this vote called 'Other operating expenses' which should also be addressed.In 2015 it consumed kshs 11,738,084,000.In 2016 it rose to kshs 14,978,945,000 which is 27% increase by kshs 3,240,861,000.
I went through the intergreted report to see its breakdown but couldnt find it.When the least expenditure is ksh 188,292,000 for directors emoluments,i think shareholders should also know the itemized breakdown of this other operating expenses which consumes 14 billion.

Loans and advances tops the revenue at kshs 51,208,848,000 followed by govt securities at kshs 10,866,513,000.I think the company should invest more in govt securities to increase this amount.
kcb mpesa mobile loans is classfied as 'other fees and commisions' which generated kshs 6,064,473,000.The company should improve here.They can make more than kshs 10 bilion here if they improve.

Those KCB mpesa loans are expensive yet very convenient plus they increase your loan limit you once you clear a loan on time
Ebenyo
#716 Posted : Tuesday, April 25, 2017 12:00:44 PM

Shak wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Those KCB mpesa loans are expensive yet very convenient plus they increase your loan limit you once you clear a loan on time

@shak,hope they do something about it.CBA made about 8 billion in mshwari last year so i hope kcb is not that far.
Ericsson
#717 Posted : Tuesday, April 25, 2017 5:37:59 PM

KCB trading ex-dividend
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
watesh
#718 Posted : Tuesday, April 25, 2017 6:30:23 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

KCB are just waaaaaaay to lazy when it comes to KCB Mpesa....its cheaper than Mshwari but waaaaaay slower and its not the go to mobile loan platform. It's more of a 2nd thought. This is a gold mine but i fear they will always trail behind CBA which has already expanded their product outside the country.
#719 Posted : Tuesday, April 25, 2017 7:40:16 PM

watesh wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

KCB are just waaaaaaay to lazy when it comes to KCB Mpesa....its cheaper than Mshwari but waaaaaay slower and its not the go to mobile loan platform. It's more of a 2nd thought. This is a gold mine but i fear they will always trail behind CBA which has already expanded their product outside the country.

Well put...why would it take 24 hours for payment to be settled while mshwari is a few seconds...you pay a loan a few hours later your balance is still the same.
Horton
#720 Posted : Tuesday, April 25, 2017 8:19:45 PM

watesh wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

Well put...why would it take 24 hours for payment to be settled while mshwari is a few seconds...you pay a loan a few hours later your balance is still the same.

Mshwari charges u 7.5% right off the bat