wazua Sun, May 19, 2024

7 Pages<12345>»
Faulu Kenya now beats T-Bills for fixed deposits
Pesa Nane
#41 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 12:44:17 PM

jerry wrote:
@guru, (1) are you saying you can't invest 90.9M at 10% interest in a fixed acc and get 100M at end of the period? (2) if in your scenario above you give 90.9M to CBK and not 90M to get 100M there's nothing like upfront!! H-a-a-k-u-n-a-a-a ...

@jerry, clear your brain's cache and re-read @guru's post. An archimedes moment -EUREKA- will just happen. smile smile
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
jerry
#42 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 3:01:45 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
jerry wrote:
@guru, (1) are you saying you can't invest 90.9M at 10% interest in a fixed acc and get 100M at end of the period? (2) if in your scenario above you give 90.9M to CBK and not 90M to get 100M there's nothing like upfront!! H-a-a-k-u-n-a-a-a ...

@jerry, clear your brain's cache and re-read @guru's post. An archimedes moment -EUREKA- will just happen. smile smile

It's a Sunday and it's clear enuf! Why don't you ans me directly...(1)...(2)...
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#43 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 3:24:11 PM

Lets just agree that the discount we get on the tbills acts as the interest upfront!

Because the points given by @jerry are valid!
jerry
#44 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 3:46:06 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
Banker wrote:
Are we really holding this discussion ? With a t-bill you earn your discount upfront less witholding tax and give CBK the net.

A bank FDR is always more liquid and less punitive than a t-bill. Should you require your money before the maturity of the tenor, you can always get it back from the bank and the worst is that you will forfeit the interest. But a 182-day t-bill would be a nightmare to liquidate.

A little secret. If you have a reasonable figure (>5mn),walk in to a newly opened branch of any top-tier bank and ask the manager to give you the best rate. You will be shocked how much backward he is willing to bend. If the figure is 100 million, you will just have secured yourself a lunch date with the CEO.

Aih mboss! Ati nini?

I have just done a cheque for KSh90,576.05 which I will invest in one-year t-bill - issue 1897/364.

This money will earn 12.504% interest and come 14 April 2014, I will get my KSh90,576.05 back plus KSh9,423.95 interest..... making a total of KSh100,000.

Clearly, the interest will be paid AFTER maturity!!

@chiaroscuro. Your example was "hijacked" and distorted I'm afraid. What we need to factor-in is witholding tax! The idea that you must have had 100,000/= but gave CBK less doesn't hold water.
jerry
#45 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 3:56:31 PM

guru267 wrote:
Lets just agree that the discount we get on the tbills acts as the interest upfront!

Because the points given by @jerry are valid!

Thanks @guru267. Let's keep the Wazua spirit alive.
tonicasert
#46 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 4:49:40 PM

Interesting....
Thing is, there's no upfront interest. Ppl get confused with the round figure aspect, which if you ignore, its all the same i.e. cbk is using the maturity amt in round figure for their convinience and mkt norm
cnn
#47 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 7:52:40 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Banker wrote:
Are we really holding this discussion ? With a t-bill you earn your discount upfront less witholding tax and give CBK the net.

A bank FDR is always more liquid and less punitive than a t-bill. Should you require your money before the maturity of the tenor, you can always get it back from the bank and the worst is that you will forfeit the interest. But a 182-day t-bill would be a nightmare to liquidate.

A little secret. If you have a reasonable figure (>5mn),walk in to a newly opened branch of any top-tier bank and ask the manager to give you the best rate. You will be shocked how much backward he is willing to bend. If the figure is 100 million, you will just have secured yourself a lunch date with the CEO.

Aih mboss! Ati nini?

I have just done a cheque for KSh90,576.05 which I will invest in one-year t-bill - issue 1897/364.

This money will earn 12.504% interest and come 14 April 2014, I will get my KSh90,576.05 back plus KSh9,423.95 interest..... making a total of KSh100,000.

Aih Mboss! Interest is paid upfront!!

You had KES 100,000/- to invest but CBK has taken KES 90,576.05 and left you with your interest of KES 9,423.95 (net of withholding tax). Now go invest that interest of KES 9,423.95 and watch yourself beating the Faulu FDR returns

@mwekezaji ..suppose he had kSh 90 577 in his acaccount ,you still insist he has kSh 9423.95 to invest after he makes the cheque to CBK ?....interest is paid at maturity less witholding tax ...closed .
mwekez@ji
#48 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 9:30:41 PM

cnn wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Banker wrote:

Aih mboss! Ati nini?

You had KES 100,000/- to invest but CBK has taken KES 90,576.05 and left you with your interest of KES 9,423.95 (net of withholding tax). Now go invest that interest of KES 9,423.95 and watch yourself beating the Faulu FDR returns

@mwekezaji ..suppose he had kSh 90 577 in his acaccount ,you still insist he has kSh 9423.95 to invest after he makes the cheque to CBK ?....interest is paid at maturity less witholding tax ...closed .

2 lessons to @cnn

1. Minimum investment in TBills is KES 100,000/- and thereafter in multiples of KES 50,000/-

2. Discount is the only return an investor earns on Treasury bills and it is awarded upfront. To a layman, this discount is the interest.

Read more here >>> http://www.centralbank.go.ke/in...ategorised/222-read-more
jerry
#49 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 9:44:05 PM

@mwekez@ji.. I'm not able to open the CBK site using my phone but what we need is the step-by-step workings leading to 90,576.05 starting with 12.504%.
Ngong
#50 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 10:00:41 PM

jerry wrote:
@mwekez@ji.. I'm not able to open the CBK site using my phone but what we need is the step-by-step workings leading to 90,576.05 starting with 12.504%.

I have done this above using the figures just go through the maths!
NOTHING UPFRONT!

Using @jerry example:
Give CBK 90 bob instead of 100bob
Get 100bob after 12 months!
Jameni hii upfront discount/interest iko wapi?
Ama tujoin masomo ya wazee kwa ufupi ngumbaru!

YOU JUST ASSUME CBK HAS GIVEN YOU THE 10 BOB NOW
THEY HAVENT!
Pesa Nane
#51 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 10:19:44 PM

Ngong wrote:

Using @jerry example:

THEY HAVENT!

@Ngong, with above example, try and see it in this way:

If you pay 90 purchasing an item (Tbill) worth 90 and get 100 after 1Yr, that is an INTEREST of 10. Nothing upfront, agreed?

Now, if you pay 90 purchasing and item (Tbill) worth 100, you keep the DISCOUNT of 10 upfront. Right?

So, TBill DISCOUNTS are upfront!
mwekez@ji
#52 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 10:26:23 PM

jerry wrote:

Where,
P = Price per Ksh 100 which investor will pay
r = interest rate or yield per annum quoted by the investor
d = days to maturity or tenor (91, 182 and later 364 days)

P = 100[1/{(1+(12.504/100 x 364/365)}] = 88.913

This implies for every Ksh 100 investor wishes to lend to the Government, s/he will pay KES 88.913 on the value date (the day the government borrows) and receive KES 100 on maturity date (the 364 day). This translates to a net return of KES 11.087 per KES 100. Therefore for Ksh 100,000, the investor will pay the Government an amount of

100,000 x 88.913/100 = 88,913

Giving a discount of

100,000 - 88,913 = 11,087

then 15% withholding tax on the discount is paid upfront

11,087 x 15/100 = 1,663.05

Meaning s/he writes a cheque to CBK of

88,913 + 1,663.05 = 90,576.05

And the net return (net of withholding tax) is

100,000 - 90,576.05 = 9,423.95

The 9,423.95 is available upfront

The above calculations have been modeled in the following calculator

http://www.centralbank.go.ke/index.php/calculator

Summary of the results

http://www.centralbank.go.ke/im...182%20and%201897-364.pdf

CC @Ngong et al

Pesa Nane
#53 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 10:46:10 PM

For Kes. 1,000,000 deposited for 12 months Fualu gives interest of Kes.102,000 (12%)

CBK's 364-day T-Bill gives Kes. 95,395 in interest.

A Bank fixed deposit is now beating CBK T-bills down, I haven't seen this for a very loooong time.

How safe is this Faulu thing?
Why are guys still oversubscribing T-Bills at the rate of over 300% when we have "free" money at Faulu Kenya?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

@Impunity, guys have hijacked your thread with impunity!! smile
For Sport
#54 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 10:50:21 PM

Ngong wrote:

THEY HAVENT!

They don't take the 10 bob. This debate won't end. Depends on how you prefer to do your mental accounting.
jerry
#55 Posted : Sunday, April 14, 2013 11:02:34 PM

Ngong wrote:
jerry wrote:

NOTHING UPFRONT!

Using @jerry example:

THEY HAVENT!

@Ngong. Don't forget interest rate as you argue ur case. Note that 10/= is 10% of 100/=. So if the ruling interest rate is 10% and you get 100/= in 12 months after giving out 90/= that would be upfront!

However from the CBK website if you invest Ksh 98.128 at 7.65% p.a. you earn Ksh 1.872 [note that 98.128 plus 1.872 equals 100 for convenience only!] in 91 days. And I declare this is not upfront as we find out from the following calculations;
7.65% of Ksh 98.128 is Ksh 7.506792. In 91 days you would get 7.506792 divided by 365 times 91. Did you get 1.871556 or simply 1.872?
You get interest on what you give and it's NOT UPFRONT!
mwekez@ji
#56 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 9:16:13 AM

jerry wrote:
Ngong wrote:
jerry wrote:

NOTHING UPFRONT!

Using @jerry example:

THEY HAVENT!

@Ngong. Don't forget interest rate as you argue ur case. Note that 10/= is 10% of 100/=. So if the ruling interest rate is 10% and you get 100/= in 12 months after giving out 90/= that would be upfront!

However from the CBK website if you invest Ksh 98.128 at 7.65% p.a. you earn Ksh 1.872 [note that 98.128 plus 1.872 equals 100 for convenience only!] in 91 days. And I declare this is not upfront as we find out from the following calculations;
7.65% of Ksh 98.128 is Ksh 7.506792. In 91 days you would get 7.506792 divided by 365 times 91. Did you get 1.871556 or simply 1.872?
You get interest on what you give and it's NOT UPFRONT!

Your logic is incorrect. Test it on the 364 day TBill in post 52 and take note. While there, notice that the formulae used by CBK is a discounting formulae and hence all reference to a discount that is awarded upfront. The fact that you are used to Fixed Deposits where interest is accrued and paid at the end of the period does not mean all other investment products have to work like those Fixed Deposits. Open you mind and learn. I would also advise you to seek the guidance a finance expert who can explain it to you on a one-to-one discussion. With that, I lay to rest my case.
SittingPretty
#57 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 9:19:56 AM

For Sport wrote:
Ngong wrote:

THEY HAVENT!

They don't take the 10 bob. This debate won't end. Depends on how you prefer to do your mental accounting.

And neither can you get your hands on the 10 bob till after 364 days!
I think all parties are justified on how they look at it! Discount or er is it interest!!! And I thought rocket science was confusing!
Timely advice is as lovely as golden apples in a silver basket. Proverbs 25:11
cnn
#58 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 9:32:36 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
cnn wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Banker wrote:

Aih mboss! Ati nini?

2 lessons to @cnn

1. Minimum investment in TBills is KES 100,000/- and thereafter in multiples of KES 50,000/-

2. Discount is the only return an investor earns on Treasury bills and it is awarded upfront. To a layman, this discount is the interest.

@mwekezaji...i have taken part in several T bill auctions,so i am aware of the investments requirements.
I used the above example for illustrations purposes only...extrapolate the same to any amount between kSh 100 000 to the tenor limit of 20 million shillings...fact is you will not have a dime more on the amount you pay to CBK until maturity date.
mwekez@ji
#59 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 9:45:30 AM

cnn wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
cnn wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
Banker wrote:

Aih mboss! Ati nini?

2 lessons to @cnn

@mwekezaji...i have taken part in several T bill auctions,so i am aware of the investments requirements.
I used the above example for illustrations purposes only...extrapolate the same to any amount between kSh 100 000 to the tenor limit of 20 million shillings...fact is you will not have a dime more on the amount you pay to CBK until maturity date.

…. i therefore wonder why you were asking where the chap will get his discount upfront for further reinvestment. fact is discount is the only return on TBill investment and it is awarded upfront. On maturity, one does not get a dime more than their principal.
Pierce
#60 Posted : Monday, April 15, 2013 10:04:42 AM

Would a cash flow approach help to demistify the whole concept? At what point is the interest/discount available to the investor in cash...