wazua Mon, May 6, 2024

7 Pages123>»
Faulu Kenya now beats T-Bills for fixed deposits
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 6:45:14 AM

For Kes. 1,000,000 deposited for 12 months Fualu gives interest of Kes.102,000 (12%)

CBK's 364-day T-Bill gives Kes. 95,395 in interest.

A Bank fixed deposit is now beating CBK T-bills down, I haven't seen this for a very loooong time.

How safe is this Faulu thing?
Why are guys still oversubscribing T-Bills at the rate of over 300% when we have "free" money at Faulu Kenya?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

subaru
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 7:40:46 AM

the big question is how viable is this faulu rate or is it a way of raising capital
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 8:38:44 AM

For Kes. 1,000,000 deposited for 12 months Fualu gives interest of Kes.102,000 (12%)

A Bank fixed deposit is now beating CBK T-bills down, I haven't seen this for a very loooong time.

Why are guys still oversubscribing T-Bills at the rate of over 300% when we have "free" money at Faulu Kenya?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Faulu rate is 13% net.No hidden charges unlike unit trusts or T bills.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 8:44:25 AM

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

The ad I saw said 12%

What hidden charges are there on T-Bills?
mwekez@ji
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 9:08:22 AM

Here is the ad @mawinder. &i have never seen hidden charges in T Bills. Wacha kudanganya wazuans

#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 9:17:00 AM

Its just a question of how secure you feel between faulu and cbk
mwekez@ji
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 9:26:59 AM

@Impunity, hesabu zakukanganya. 364 day Tbill is attracting an interest rate of 12.676% which is higher than the 12% being given by Faulu

364 T Bill rate link >>> http://www.centralbank.go.ke/im...ts/1978-182-1895-364.pdf
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 10:55:00 AM

Interestingly, they don't have their financial reports in the website.... makes you think, doesn't it?

Also, earlier this morning, I thought I saw two ads in that website: one saying that fixed deposits are paying 13% and another one saying 12%.

It is also not clear whether what they are advertising is after or before withholding tax.... now talk about "hidden" charges!
hisah
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 11:01:45 AM

mukiha wrote:

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

The ad I saw said 12%

What hidden charges are there on T-Bills?

Hidden charges kwa T-Bills?! Clearly someone doesn't know what they're talking about Shame on you
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Ngong
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 12:06:50 PM

He was emotional just come from politics!
Amesema pole!
#11 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 12:11:33 PM

Ngong wrote:
Amesema pole!

Ditto.But my friend was given a rate of 13% by Faulu.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 12:12:33 PM

Ngong wrote:
Amesema pole!

he is missing throwing dirt at Mc... who has since disappeared.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 12:32:51 PM

Ngong wrote:
Amesema pole!

Siasa iliisha. Mpaka 2017.
Pesa Nane
#14 Posted : Tuesday, April 02, 2013 7:21:43 PM

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

How much and how safe go hand in hand.

If interested in how much only, then join @saitoti and 'earn over 200% guaranteed'. smile smile
Rink. http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=23375
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 7:59:12 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
@Impunity, hesabu zakukanganya. 364 day Tbill is attracting an interest rate of 12.676% which is higher than the 12% being given by Faulu

364 T Bill rate link >>> http://www.centralbank.go.ke/im...ts/1978-182-1895-364.pdf

T-Bill computation is NOT done in the simple layman way you are imagining...the %age for T-Bill may e higher than that of Fixed bank depos but in absolute terms the results from computation is not the same.

How many strong D's did you score in maths in your entire lower classes?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 8:47:10 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:

T-Bill computation is NOT done in the simple layman way you are imagining...the %age for T-Bill may e higher than that of Fixed bank depos but in absolute terms the results from computation is not the same.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

You don't need to know the math; CBK announces the effective rate and then does all the workings for you and tells you how much to pay.

As an investor - not a mathematician - all you need to know is the interest rate in order to make your decision!
holycow
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 9:09:48 AM

mwekez@ji
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 9:46:03 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

SMH ... that choice of words .... na wewe ni chief #Shame

.... you should know that interest on TBill is paid upfront unlike in Fixed Deposits. Reinvest the interest and watch the returns shoot way up past the already juicy levels

.... bottom line: The Tbill return is higher than Fixed Deposit return. Thats why Faulu (and other banks) will take your money, put it in Tbills and make profit out you

.... tafakari hayo
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 10:06:15 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

.... you should know that interest on TBill is paid upfront unlike in Fixed Deposits. Reinvest the interest and watch the returns shoot way up past the already juicy levels

.... bottom line: The Tbill return is higher than Fixed Deposit return. Thats why Faulu (and other banks) will take your money, put it in Tbills and make profit out you

.... tafakari hayo

No; No; No!

This is a common misconception. T-Bill interest is paid ON MATURITY.

The fact that you pay, say 97,000 for a 100,000 Bill doesn't mean that you are getting the 3,000 interest up-front!

And when you roll-over the bill, the payment you get is not the interest but a refund...same as the change you get in a shop....even though it is numerically equal to the interest!
mwekez@ji
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 03, 2013 10:33:48 AM

mukiha wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

.... tafakari hayo

No; No; No!

This is a common misconception. T-Bill interest is paid ON MATURITY.

The fact that you pay, say 97,000 for a 100,000 Bill doesn't mean that you are getting the 3,000 interest up-front!

And when you roll-over the bill, the payment you get is not the interest but a refund...same as the change you get in a shop....even though it is numerically equal to the interest!

My simple language was intended for good clarity. … Otherwise I can say that the discount (which in layman understanding is the “interest”) on the TBill is awarded upfront. Read more here >>> http://www.centralbank.go.ke/in...ategorised/222-read-more