wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Moving forward
#1 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 12:34:42 PM

Wazuans, my considered opinion is this:

With 20 days to go to the elections, and with the ICC suspects still running, and with the unlikelyhood of the Supreme court barring them from running, I think it's time we thought of the best way forward. Especially, given the following reasons.

1. The Hague process has lost legitimacy. We cannot have a presidency that is at variance with international institutions.

2. We cannot subject the Hague process to the conditional of political victory, or loss.

3. Whichever side wins the elections, we will suffer great pains if we don't restructure our Economic or better put, 'world' system.

I propose that we think together on how we can best live in our country, despite any outcome of the coming elections.

I pray that we may focus on:

1. Maintaining peace and flourish in our country.

2. Maintain and promote friendly relations with the nations of the world, and international institutions.

3. Healing of historical injustices and afflictions we haven't been able to face.

I ask that all of you may come with a positive attitude and avoid mentioning political candidates as solutions.

Otherwise, you are most welcome.
richdad
#2 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 12:38:54 PM

What are the so called historical injustices? Can someone please share.
Keep it simple
#3 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 12:45:41 PM

richdad wrote:

I'd say they are events whose occurrence has caused the citizen harm, and grief; and the justice system has been unable to comfort and heal the agrieved citizen.
#4 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 12:47:30 PM

richdad wrote:

One very well known is this:

Jungus came in Kenya in 18-something, chase them kiuks from their fataero rands on the srops;kiuks became squatters by the roadsides in their own rands...

Fast forward to 1963 Beberu gave "us" independence, Mzee takes the fataero rands left behind, keep a huge chunk to himserf, give cronies a few blocks...

Several squaters camping by the roadside and market centres in Central province are quickly hurdled into Nakuru bound trains, they are scattered along the rail line from Naibacha all the way to Eldoret!

With their fertility rate being exponential-potential, they quickly fill the allotted prots and move inwards causing several madoadoa...

Ni hayo tu!

#5 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 12:53:20 PM

Historical injustices - 1969 shootings in Kisumo!
#6 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 1:11:43 PM

When dealing with historical injustices, how far back, should we go? And why?
#7 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 1:52:40 PM

Historical injustices - 1969 shootings in Kisumo!

yo to expand on this for the likes of @richdad...
Kaka M
#8 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 3:09:17 PM

Wazuans, my considered opinion is this:

With 20 days to go to the elections, and with the ICC suspects still running, and with the unlikelyhood of the Supreme court barring them from running, I think it's time we thought of the best way forward. Especially, given the following reasons.

1. The Hague process has lost legitimacy. We cannot have a presidency that is at variance with international institutions.

2. We cannot subject the Hague process to the conditional of political victory, or loss.

3. Whichever side wins the elections, we will suffer great pains if we don't restructure our Economic or better put, 'world' system.

I propose that we think together on how we can best live in our country, despite any outcome of the coming elections.

I pray that we may focus on:

1. Maintaining peace and flourish in our country.
Could you please expound on the third point above that I have made bold.Meanwhile
IMO peace and progress can be achieved if the common Mwananchi got himself busy and stopped depending on politicians for handouts etc. If all people were busy with economic activities to address their needs they would never have to run after politicians and engage in lawlessness etc.
The politicians would also go seeking out the people and if they find people busy growing vegetables, rearing animals and marketing their products, making furniture etc etc they would have to approach them with real solutions of people who are above being incited.
With most adults being productive individually or through self help groups the government would have more avenues for collecting taxes which would in turn be useful for the government to finance development projects.

2. Maintain and promote friendly relations with the nations of the world, and international institutions.

3. Healing of historical injustices and afflictions we haven't been able to face.

I ask that all of you may come with a positive attitude and avoid mentioning political candidates as solutions.

Otherwise, you are most welcome.

#9 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 3:10:23 PM

When dealing with historical injustices, how far back, should we go? And why?

Usianze na mambo ya philosophy kwa hii thread jamaneni.
Like asking us "what is justice and can we have history without injustice"

#10 Posted : Monday, February 11, 2013 3:12:23 PM

richdad wrote:

d'oh! A very hazy subject under investigation by the TJRC
5 Pages123>»