wazua Wed, May 8, 2024

Likoni Ferry tragedy....
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 8:59:40 AM

Lorry rums into a ferry leaving at least 11people dead including school children, angry passengers sink the lorry.
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 9:19:43 AM

What is the fate of the driver?
Its high time we did away with these archaic means of crossing channels.
We need suspension bridges, you done here ferries carrying people in Los Angeles or Hudson Bay!

#3 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 9:32:41 AM

oh NO! Brakes failure or was he just on a suicide mission?
poor kids.

#4 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 9:35:03 AM

@Mc when did this happen??
#5 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 9:44:39 AM

such bad/sad news in the morning. poor souls! POLE
#6 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 9:51:59 AM

@Mc when did this happen??

Early morning rush today!

#7 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 10:19:25 AM

So sad!! At this time and age we still think ferry is most efficient way to cross this small stretch!!! I think a bridge is long overdue!!

PK mentioned early this week in an interview that this is one of his priorities...
Kaka M
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 10:31:33 AM

Pole sana to those affected, its so sad.
#9 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 10:37:48 AM

Rest in peace. If they can do a bridge it will save many a life and time. Too many deaths there. I remember sleeping whilst waiting for the ferry for an hour, inebriated at an ungodly hour, from Tandoori... with check-in time at work not so far away.

#10 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 11:02:24 AM

If you do a bridge across the LIkoni channel, how will ships access the kilindini harbour?
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 11:06:15 AM

So sad!! At this time and age we still think ferry is most efficient way to cross this small stretch!!! I think a bridge is long overdue!!

PK mentioned early this week in an interview that this is one of his priorities...

I said so before PK that we need a suspension bridge-gate or a hydraulically operated bridge to allow Steamers to pass through.

#12 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 11:08:22 AM

mwenza wrote:
If you do a bridge across the LIkoni channel, how will ships access the kilindini harbour?

See post no. 11 above.

#13 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 11:17:04 AM

mwenza wrote:

See post no. 11 above.

What is a suspension bridge GATE?
#14 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 11:40:18 AM

@impunity ni mhandisi?
#15 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 12:05:09 PM

mwenza wrote:

See post no. 11 above.

This is a special purpose bridge suspended over a large mass of water and with an electrically actuated hydraulic gate; an operator through some levers actuates the gate to open hence allowing a big Ship/Steamer to pass through the gate while the traffic is stopped at either side of the highway.

#16 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 12:52:56 PM

The way we construct bridges haki.
I am afraid of scenes such as these.

an operator through some levers actuates the gate to open

Huyu atalala na joto.

Somebody tell me 'A ship can't come to an abrupt stop if a bridge is in the vicinity?
Cz many container ships keep getting stuck under bridges and destroying containers.
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 12:56:35 PM

We need something like this: Give the contact to chinese...

Or an undersea tunnel like the one connecting UK and France:

#18 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 12:58:55 PM

The above,can a ship like the Oasis of the Sea pass under it?
oh i bet it opens.sawa
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 1:10:52 PM

The above,can a ship like the Oasis of the Sea pass under it?
oh i bet it opens.sawa

Kama hii:

#20 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2013 1:15:13 PM

mwenza wrote:

See post no. 11 above.

This is a special purpose bridge suspended over a large mass of water and with an electrically actuated hydraulic gate; an operator through some levers actuates the gate to open hence allowing a big Ship/Steamer to pass through the gate while the traffic is stopped at either side of the highway.

By their very nature of design, suspension bridges cannot be discontinuous in mid span. They therefore can not be openable in the middle.