Party Hopping should be enhanced
We need it back. I had this feeling that attempts to curtail the same were moves to stifle freedom, thereby choking democracy whose key tenet is FREEDOM OF CHOICE. Let the people decide, let the aspirants hop to wherever. We are the eventual ultimate consumers n choosers at the grand finale refereed by IEBC. . This new system is thoroughly flawed for a number of reasons: 1. The people's choice may be knocked out on any technicality at the party level. Oduol, Oburu n the rest should have met at the final IEBC showdown, which is credible n allow the people to decide, Same with the othaya fiasco, kipipiri, etc. 2. Political outfits have no {financial, moral, physical} capacity to hold credible elections, and it follows that a nomination exercise should not be used to send aspirants to the dustbin. Let the pple decide thru IEBC during the finals.. 3. Voter apathy during nominations. This may again lock out potential candidates whose class of voters whine in office all day waiting for the general elections as their candidates of choice are embarassed at the nominations n locked out. . Let them hop, let us choose. This is far more democratic. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Mary Wambui Vs Whatever Mugambi with Jimmy in the middle should be included in that list. Should have been a walker in the park for the tisha! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Add any other aspirant who felt unfairly treated, to confirm at the finals that indeed pple don't want him/her kabisa. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
IEBC should dedicate a day of FREE TRANSFERS rather than have the mess happening outside their offices as at now. A crowd of angry "losers" have filed numerous complaints, how long will arbitration take, n will decisions made be fair n acceptable? To forestall the acrimony n public anger, weka free transfers ikuwe kesho, watu wahame, tuamue kwa debe. Of course the nyongos n kimunyas alongside their sympathisers will be up in arms. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@thimioni, I absolutely agree, I don't wanna witness what happened again young able leaders locked out by some party idlers..... ..I shed tears frm what I witnessed, just won't let opponents milk it.. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:@thimioni, I absolutely agree, I don't wanna witness what happened again young able leaders locked out by some party idlers..... ..I shed tears frm what I witnessed, just won't let opponents milk it.. Hahaha unaficha chida? You just explain, pple will understand lol! I have seen explanations for kimunya n Tisha. We say it like it is. Watu wahame. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
I said the same earlier.
Political parties belong to individual who do whatever they want with them. They have no respect to voters wishes, are not governed by any rules to ensure fairness in nominations. Candidates should not be left at the politicians mercy. Come March 4th, we only have the candidates passed by the political parties.
eduu, on point. Attempts to lock in aspirants are aimed at benefiting certain party honchos n stalwarts at the expense of other potential leaders. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Did anyone read Mukhisa Kituyis article on Sunday? He opined that Parliament was not fully in charge of the legislation process in the new katiba. Thus the strict rules.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
yeah man, wazuans, facebook n twitter fellows don't understand. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Lolest! wrote:Did anyone read Mukhisa Kituyis article on Sunday? He opined that Parliament was not fully in charge of the legislation process in the new katiba. Thus the strict rules. Its these rules that will be our undoing. We want FREEDOM, these shitty parties should never be allowed to determine our future. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Lolest! wrote:Did anyone read Mukhisa Kituyis article on Sunday? He opined that Parliament was not fully in charge of the legislation process in the new katiba. Thus the strict rules. The main reason why I consciously voted NO the new katiba if you ask me, was the fact that the laws were drafted and passed by a team of activists and divorcees who had a bone to pick with Moi(and past regime). These were a bunch of guys who either had their balls crushed at Nyayo house in case of men or had their hairs pulled off in case of women. I am yet to regret my decision to vote NO. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
McReggae wrote:yeah man, wazuans, facebook n twitter fellows don't understand. I can imagine how you were chedding that single tear after your aspirant was "rigged out" of Laini Sabaa ward. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Impunity wrote:Lolest! wrote:Did anyone read Mukhisa Kituyis article on Sunday? He opined that Parliament was not fully in charge of the legislation process in the new katiba. Thus the strict rules. The main reason why I consciously voted NO the new katiba if you ask me, was the fact that the laws were drafted and passed by a team of activists and divorcees who had a bone to pick with Moi(and past regime). These were a bunch of guys who either had their balls crushed at Nyayo house in case of men or had their hairs pulled off in case of women. I am yet to regret my decision to vote NO. Nonsense. This is not the fault of the new constitution, this pure disrespect of democracy at the political party level. We have a very progressive constitution, I have read that many law experts agree on this point, and some people are within their rights to be pissed with Moi, me included. I have no illusions, if I met him I would tell him he deliberately and for many years robbed peasants of livelihood. PEASANTS!!!!! Some legacy for a former head of state.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/7/2010 Posts: 1,279 Location: nbi
BS- rights and privilliges come with responbilities. One of those is that a politicians and political parties despite many undesirable manners not behave like K-street workers moving about looking for opportunities to unveil themselves or for anyone willing to enter... The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Party Hopping should be enhanced