Investor
Property
Labor costs for two maisonnetes
Wazuans:
I want to construct 2 4-Bedroom maisonettes and act as my own contractor with consultation from an engineer and an architect.
I have located an experienced lead fundi but I do not have a good sense of what the labor costs around ngong/kiserian would be.
He quoted 500,000 KES to construct upto the point when the maisonettes are roofed (i.e no plaster, no frames, wiring or plumbing of any kind). Is this reasonable?
Thanks for your thoughts/comments.
ell the best experience i have seen is to let somebody organize everything for you . there are people who know how to do just that and you will have stress free building experience. definitely you need an expert in building coz you aren't that which you will pay your contractor might be less that the loss you might cause by your shoddy contracting .yes i understand you need to do cost saving but at what cost ? weigh the two option sand see hireign acontactor is the bestw ay
Thanks for your thoughts techie. I get what you are saying, however, I am trying to teach myself how these things are done... I have a good reliable team made up of an architect, a QS an engineer and fundi/foreman..Was looking for answers for what the going rates of costs might be. techboy wrote:ell the best experience i have seen is to let somebody organize everything for you . there are people who know how to do just that and you will have stress free building experience. definitely you need an expert in building coz you aren't that which you will pay your contractor might be less that the loss you might cause by your shoddy contracting .yes i understand you need to do cost saving but at what cost ? weigh the two option sand see hireign acontactor is the bestw ay
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
Assuming you have the land, approved plans and money to start this is how its done. 1.Get one good hardware,not exactly the one everybody is going,be a friend you wil know why later. 2. Don't contract anybody even the head fundi,let all be casuals,payed every sat. 3.Head fundi is 1000/day, fundi is 800/day, mtu ya mkono 400/day. 4.One site guy cum storeman alias wachie 24 hrs 6500/month 5.Never carry more than 2K with you pay using mpesa,unless after site u plan to go for a drink @ matasia Forget the 1/2 A million he is asking.
Ngong: You are the BEST! These are the costs I was looking for! Your other advice is also much appreciated. The pay by Mpesa option has been valuable in more ways than one, including acting as a receipt/evidence that I have paid... Ngong wrote:Assuming you have the land, approved plans and money to start this is how its done. 1.Get one good hardware,not exactly the one everybody is going,be a friend you wil know why later. 2. Don't contract anybody even the head fundi,let all be casuals,payed every sat. 3.Head fundi is 1000/day, fundi is 800/day, mtu ya mkono 400/day. 4.One site guy cum storeman alias wachie 24 hrs 6500/month 5.Never carry more than 2K with you pay using mpesa,unless after site u plan to go for a drink @ matasia Forget the 1/2 A million he is asking.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 10/13/2011 Posts: 67 Location: Kenya
I agree with @Ngong above. During Koroga(Foundation and slab), the fellows might ask for 100 shillings more which is fine. Be careful with trench digging coz they also overcharge though it also depends on how deep they have to dig to reach murram.Roofing, plumbing and electrical wiring is better contracted but do not engage a broker, just contract the guy doing it with his watu ya mkono.
If digging septic, get a reliable guy coz many disappear when they reach hard rock.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/17/2008 Posts: 567 Location: Nairobi
The fundi is giving you a very good deal if he is providing all the KYMs and Fundis. Benchmark labour to be between 25% and 33% of the project cost and youll see how this works out. Your payment plan for the amount is equally important. You should always have his money and let like 25% be paid when everything is done and dusted.
However even before u talk costs get his recommendations and actually talk to them.
Thanks Captain! I did not know that there are brokers for electricians/plumbers/roofers! Thanks for the warning. CaptainGG wrote:I agree with @Ngong above. During Koroga(Foundation and slab), the fellows might ask for 100 shillings more which is fine. Be careful with trench digging coz they also overcharge though it also depends on how deep they have to dig to reach murram.Roofing, plumbing and electrical wiring is better contracted but do not engage a broker, just contract the guy doing it with his watu ya mkono.
If digging septic, get a reliable guy coz many disappear when they reach hard rock.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/9/2011 Posts: 786 Location: Mashinani
Dahatre wrote:Thanks Captain! I did not know that there are brokers for electricians/plumbers/roofers! Thanks for the warning. CaptainGG wrote:I agree with @Ngong above. During Koroga(Foundation and slab), the fellows might ask for 100 shillings more which is fine. Be careful with trench digging coz they also overcharge though it also depends on how deep they have to dig to reach murram.Roofing, plumbing and electrical wiring is better contracted but do not engage a broker, just contract the guy doing it with his watu ya mkono.
I would rather do a labour contract. Im currently doing my 300 m2 house and upto roof, labour cost is way below 500k Peace in our Homeland.
kamundu wrote:Dahatre wrote:Thanks Captain! I did not know that there are brokers for electricians/plumbers/roofers! Thanks for the warning. CaptainGG wrote:I agree with @Ngong above. During Koroga(Foundation and slab), the fellows might ask for 100 shillings more which is fine. Be careful with trench digging coz they also overcharge though it also depends on how deep they have to dig to reach murram.Roofing, plumbing and electrical wiring is better contracted but do not engage a broker, just contract the guy doing it with his watu ya mkono.
I would rather do a labour contract. Im currently doing my 300 m2 house and upto roof, labour cost is way below 500k whats your construction cost per square metre ?
Thanks Pablo: Looove the diverse opinion of Wazuans! Here is what I am thinking of doing, which blends what you suggest and what Ngong and the Captain suggest above: 1. Have the fundi estimate labor costs for the whole project up to plastering. Electrician, plumber and roofer would give me their separate estimates. 2. Chop the project into smaller but complete phases (e.g Koroga/ground floor slab, walling, stairs and first floor slab etc). 3. Have him estimate labor costs for each of these discrete phases separately. I would gauge whether his estimates are reasonable based on the costs Ngong gave me. Each of the phases would have its own payment schedule. If we disagree at any stage, we can part ways after a phase is done. BTW he comes vetted. I have spoken to some of his former clients and they seem happy. I am planning to go see some of his handiwork pretty soon. More alternative thoughts welcome. Pablo wrote:The fundi is giving you a very good deal if he is providing all the KYMs and Fundis. Benchmark labour to be between 25% and 33% of the project cost and youll see how this works out. Your payment plan for the amount is equally important. You should always have his money and let like 25% be paid when everything is done and dusted.
However even before u talk costs get his recommendations and actually talk to them.
What if I may ask, are your labor costs? kamundu wrote:
I would rather do a labour contract. Im currently doing my 300 m2 house and upto roof, labour cost is way below 500k
Rank: Member Joined: 1/13/2011 Posts: 297 Location: Nairobi
1. "I am trying to teach myself how these things are done..." if this is your genuine intention,you have to be on site so no need for head fund earning extra. pay him as a normal fundi let him assemble his team.
2. Fundis over quote on Labour contracts, use daily rates as the basis but ensure they know what they have to deliver daily/ duration of tasks/phases. Pablo has a formula of 1 fundi does 120 ft/day ensure that they know this and if it falls short kata pesa!
3. Never get too firendly with fundis on site i have found that erodes their repect for you and affects their performance
Wewe sasa ukitaka vita na hawa watu kata pesa as you say and you will never win with them no matter how kali you are.
I have done several constructions for my self but every time I contract I get alot of unnecessary conflicts. One almost turned tragic. It happened I got a good fundi from my friends site and he told me the best thing is I contract him labour and he will do a good job and there was no doubt about that. So every time I paid him as agreed he will go ahead and pay his crew half amounts and claim I havent given him enough which was a lie. So this saturday I had a sick person who I had to discharge from hospital,the process to longer past 7pm. I had to pay 1000 shs, to be served at Equity bank upper hill so I get all his cash.I met with him as agreed at a point and gave him all the cash. On getting to my compound at around 9 pm night, I found all the other fundis and WWM waiting for me with faces that suggested this is a final game! I asked them what the matter is and quickly said tupe pesa zetu. I asked again which money? The told me niwache upumbavu and I should not waste their time they have some important matter to do. I told them I owe them nothing since I have given cash to the fundi. They said I am a liar since I always give tokens. Luckily I had my sick person with me who told them I have actually given out their cash. They left promising to come back since the fundi had switched his phone off. So they headed to the fundis home some nyumba za mabati about 20 houses or so. When they knocked his door,he just shouted Wezi and his neighbors came out with all kinds of weapons...
Dahatre wrote:Wazuans:
I want to construct 2 4-Bedroom maisonettes and act as my own contractor with consultation from an engineer and an architect.
I have located an experienced lead fundi but I do not have a good sense of what the labor costs around ngong/kiserian would be.
He quoted 500,000 KES to construct upto the point when the maisonettes are roofed (i.e no plaster, no frames, wiring or plumbing of any kind). Is this reasonable?
Thanks for your thoughts/comments.
@Dahatre, my submission would be a huge %age of the labour cost is absolutely determined by the model you opt to take e.g if you are naive in matters construction my advise would be to contract the labour in phases i.e how much for foundation? then ground flr walling, shutter, 1st flr walling, roofing etc. it will save you lots of pain. in case you have time and expertise to supervise then contract a foreman to monitor quality of work but be there to ensure work is done (volume)...i tricky piece if you ask me, those fundis can kula jaro even when you are right there!! remember it takes a thief to catch a thief! my estimates from a recent building 290sqm labour cost varies between 30 and 34% of the cost of material for the super structure (foundation to roofing) and about 50% for finishes (plaster, keys, fittings etc) Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
[/quote] @Dahatre, my submission would be a huge %age of the labour cost is absolutely determined by the model you opt to take e.g if you are naive in matters construction my advise would be to contract the labour in phases i.e how much for foundation? then ground flr walling, shutter, 1st flr walling, roofing etc. it will save you lots of pain. ] I agree with this. I just completed building my mum a house, my very first project. I used a cousin to supervise and he contracted fundis in phases. I am surprised that building is not so expensive. I am all for phased contracts. Keeping it all in the family
Thanks all for your thoughts. @foz appreciate the advice especially the one about not getting too friendly with the fundis. I have been known to do that.
@Ngong that sounds awful! I have heard worse though, where inexperienced people get employed and get injured in process and the owner becomes liable....scary thought!
@Mo and Anika I plan on doing the phased contract model for many reasons including concern over liability in the case of injury.
i am going through a similar challenge, will you be supplying the tools also like a cement mixer wheel barrows etc or will the fundi?
Investor
Property