wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

7 Pages123>»
KQ orderd to reinstate sacked workers!!!
#1 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 1:06:08 PM

The industrial court has ordered KQ to reinstate the over 400 sacked workers by tommorrow!!!
wilyum
#2 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 1:12:08 PM

wah,wot nxt?
ProverB
#3 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 1:23:56 PM

The industrial court has ordered KQ to reinstate the over 400 sacked workers by tommorrow!!!

Heheheheheheh!!! the law is an ass indeed. smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#4 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 1:38:12 PM

wtf??

on what grounds??
eboomerang
#5 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 1:59:03 PM

ProverB wrote:

Indeed !

Even though KQ had a clear business reason to carry out the exercise, they conducted it in a very unprofessional manner.

The HR director was making very contemptuous statements in public, and based on his statements, some of those workers will not be in a position to get gainful employment in other local companies.

The law does not appreciate arrogance.
kollabo
#6 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 2:14:41 PM

Any statement from Naikuni?
#7 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 2:15:55 PM

guru267 wrote:
wtf??

on what grounds??

Wrongful termination!
#8 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 2:21:29 PM

KQ says they are aware of the ruling and their lawyers are studying the ruling and will annouce their next steps in due course!!
Jamani
#9 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 2:52:46 PM

Just thinking of the effects to shareholders and share price......
hisah
#10 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:10:00 PM

The drama... http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/wbu4h0/-/index.html

I wonder what happens to KK and the other firms that have taken the same retrenchment option. This is going to open a serious pandora's box as lawsuits start flying in on all sorts of flimsy excuses. Is KE going to state that employment is a permanent contract come what may!!!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#11 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:10:08 PM

KQ says they are aware of the ruling and their lawyers are studying the ruling and will annouce their next steps in due course!!

...Riika was still reading the award last time i heard,and so far things look bad.Things are thick for KQ and for all other employers who plan on retrenchment,The court has defined processes to be undertaken.
Jaina
#12 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:12:02 PM

This will be tricky.

Can the court also order the workers to refund KQ the cash they recieved as part of the lay-off package?.

And KRA to refund the "re-instated Workers" the tax paid from the layoff money.

Something is very messy from the court ruling
jerry
#13 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:16:45 PM

ProverB wrote:

Business:Masters grant to your slaves justice and fairness, knowing that you too have a master in heaven. Colossians 4:1
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Layman
#14 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:24:25 PM

Even the county commissioners ignored court rullings, so were the teachers, lectureres and nurses. Kq will obviously ignore the rullings.
Pesa Nane
#15 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:28:01 PM

guru267 wrote:
wtf??

on what grounds??

Political machinations in the name of 'wrongful termination'. Didn't the kangaroo house know that this excess baggage was not terminated but rather retrenched?!!
My sympathy to KQ (public) shareholders. Watashikishwa adabu for the sake of 453 well compensated strikers. Sad Sad
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#16 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:37:10 PM

Jaina wrote:
This will be tricky.

Can the court also order the workers to refund KQ the cash they recieved as part of the lay-off package?.

And KRA to refund the "re-instated Workers" the tax paid from the layoff money.

Something is very messy from the court ruling

...not all those retrenched had taken their cash thats why they rushed to court...lakini kuna wale ma hungry walikuwa wameshachukua KQ screwed up bg time.
marting
#17 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 3:59:10 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause
Corporates need to learn that there is a proper path to follow when "down sizing"
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
just blindingly rushing a process without the due diligence needed and empathy in handling of hard working Kenyans, simply wont pass.
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! rethink the situation & they go for "take 2"
as a friend of mine stated, this shld be on IMAX Laughing out loudly
.Success is Intentional.
kollabo
#18 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 4:35:12 PM

Where is the KQ lawyer who refused to "freeze" when an MP is talking?
tony stark
#19 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 4:37:21 PM

marting wrote:
Applause Applause Applause Applause
Corporates need to learn that there is a proper path to follow when "down sizing"
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
just blindingly rushing a process without the due diligence needed and empathy in handling of hard working Kenyans, simply wont pass.
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! rethink the situation & they go for "take 2"
as a friend of mine stated, this shld be on IMAX Laughing out loudly

Does the highlighted statement also refer to KQ staff? Have you used their service the whole lot of them need to be replaced and their enumeration be based on the service they offer!
#20 Posted : Monday, December 03, 2012 4:39:29 PM

Naikuni need to go home! Kwani what hold does this idiot have over Kenya? Share price is dropping