8 Pages«<23456>»
Profit Warnings
bird_man
#61 Posted : Monday, February 01, 2016 10:33:30 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
No wonder Safaricom can never give a Kenyan the CEO post. I can only imagine what a guy can do with all those tenders

My friend, with the Structures/systems at Safcom even Ciano hawesmake.

Unless of course the systems are dismantled - which will be a challenge.

I thought there was a Commercial Director was was sacked becuase of tendering issues at Safcom less than 2 years ago?

Structures and systems are nothing.What matters is culture....
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
enyands
#62 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 12:12:07 AM

bird_man wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:
No wonder Safaricom can never give a Kenyan the CEO post. I can only imagine what a guy can do with all those tenders

I thought there was a Commercial Director was was sacked becuase of tendering issues at Safcom less than 2 years ago?

Did anyone see poaching incidents when R.Leakey was head of kws? What followed when Africans took over? The worst thing safcom can do is put a local guy the likes of Ciano or nyairofi governor.mtashangaa.its just a bad culture planted during the kanu Era of this country and made worse in successive regimes .
Problem is that this culture is trained by parents ,teachers and even clergy men.
Mike Ock
#63 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 12:15:59 AM

Mike Ock wrote:

Corrupt guys in Kenya don't need loose systems to work their magic. They loot blatantly without shame. As long as there is 200m spare for the judge, utado?
#64 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 9:58:49 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Every year a number of people are fired for such issues and others.

The good thing is that it is not by chance or by accident. It is because of the structures. You don't survive for long at Safcom if you are corrupt. It doesn't matter who you are. You would be a genius to do it for more than a year.
#65 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:02:45 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Corrupt guys in Kenya don't need loose systems to work their magic. They loot blatantly without shame. As long as there is 200m spare for the judge, utado?

By the time Safaricom take you in front of a judge, the have already worked on you internally. And their investigations are thorough. You can't fight back. Several people are fired every year and they don't even dare fight back ati wrongful dismissal sijui nini!!!
#66 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:10:39 PM

This is how Safaricom does it!
enyands
#67 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:28:40 PM

Someone with a foreign culture heads it.proves the point iv been trying to hammer. Wacha uweke people with kenyan culture utaona how safcom will make profits in the opposite directions .
#68 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:39:18 PM

enyands wrote:

Someone with a foreign culture heads it.proves the point iv been trying to hammer. Wacha uweke people with kenyan culture utaona how safcom will make profits in the opposite directions .

Policies and structures are not created by the CEO.
jgithige
#69 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 10:54:14 PM

enyands wrote:

Someone with a foreign culture heads it.proves the point iv been trying to hammer. Wacha uweke people with kenyan culture utaona how safcom will make profits in the opposite directions . [/quo

Safaricom initially was a department in the defunct Kenya post and telecommunication. The rest is history
"Blowing out someone else candle won't make yours shine brighter"-Anonymous
enyands
#70 Posted : Tuesday, February 02, 2016 11:10:15 PM

jgithige wrote:
enyands wrote:

Someone with a foreign culture heads it.proves the point iv been trying to hammer. Wacha uweke people with kenyan culture utaona how safcom will make profits in the opposite directions . [/quo

Safaricom initially was a department in the defunct Kenya post and telecommunication. The rest is history

True ,somebody had to force in a different and unique culture and it trickled down to the policy makers. Michael Joseph to be precise had to create a vision and policy makers followed the vision to come up with a frame work.
Someone has to have a clear vision and that's usually the role of ceo or MD.so if the culture yake is mbovu, the vision will be and so as the policy. This is just how I see it and I could be wrong .
muandiwambeu
#71 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 12:17:30 PM

enyands wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Mike Ock wrote:

Did anyone see poaching incidents when R.Leakey was head of kws? What followed when Africans took over? The worst thing safcom can do is put a local guy the likes of Ciano or nyairofi governor.mtashangaa.its just a bad culture planted during the kanu Era of this country and made worse in successive regimes .
Problem is that this culture is trained by parents ,teachers and even clergy men.

this is a country of plunder, impunity and spoils. am fearing for safcom. at this rate of firing, someone will pull and odero style and fire the killer stinger missile Sadaams style. the judgement will make babies riot inside their mothers wombs. Sad
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#72 Posted : Saturday, January 28, 2017 7:39:08 AM

Thiong'o wrote:
snipermnoma wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
FY 2015
1. Home Afrika
2. SGL
3. Express
4. Crown Paints
5. E A Cables
6. Sameer Africa
7. Britam
8. KQ
9. Mumias
10. Uchumi
11. C & G

Have i forgoten any or wrongly included some?

12. TPS
13. BOC
14. Atlas
15. ARM
16. StanChart

17. Pan African Insurance
18. Liberty

Liberty Holdings pushes number of NSE profit warnings to 18
1. Pan Africa Holdings,
2. Britam,
3. UAP Holdings
4. Express Kenya,
5. Standard Group,
6. Sameer Africa,
7. Atlas Development,
8. BOC Gases,
9. TPS Eastern Africa,
10. Crown Paints,
11. Standard Chartered,
12. Uchumi Supermarkets,
13. ARM Cement,
14. Mumias Sugar,
15. Car & General
16. East African Cables.
17. Liberty Kenya Holdings
http://www.businessdaily...4/-/emnv4d/-/index.html
Missing from Authors list…
1. Home Afrika
2. KQ

Not adding to 18?

EABL craftily misses out on the list by a mere 3%.. CIC ndani.. KQ to appear only on a profit resumption notice

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#73 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2017 9:32:55 PM

Sanlam uses creative accounting to escape it's own profit warning http://www.businessdaily...06902-ud1m89z/index.html

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Ebenyo
#74 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 9:16:19 AM

So far we have 2 profit warnings:
1.NSE
2.CIC
Could have been 3 but sanlam have withdrawn their
notice.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Pesa Nane
#75 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 12:37:59 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
So far we have 2 profit warnings:
1.NSE
2.CIC
Could have been 3 but sanlam have withdrawn their
notice.

3. Limuru Tea

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Elephant Man
#76 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 1:39:29 PM

@ pesa nane - please post profit warning ya Unga. It was published the same day as the half-year announcement, but on a different page of the Nation newspaper. Asante
Pesa Nane
#77 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 2:07:27 PM

Elephant Man wrote:
@ pesa nane - please post profit warning ya Unga. It was published the same day as the half-year announcement, but on a different page of the Nation newspaper. Asante

Ebenyo
#78 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 8:56:40 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

i have browsed unga website,no half year results.
i have checked nation paper since friday,nothing.
when was the profit warning posted?
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Pesa Nane
#79 Posted : Monday, February 27, 2017 9:28:54 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

i have browsed unga website,no half year results.
i have checked nation paper since friday,nothing.
when was the profit warning posted?

Check out the very last detail on the statement
#80 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2017 9:40:39 AM

Mumias Sugar adds their name to the list.. Daily Nation page 23

*someone should show me how to post images*