wazua Mon, Apr 29, 2024

8 Pages<1234>»
Best ways of saving money during these hard times.
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2008 3:22:00 AM

Swapped my 1.3 litre car for a 2.2 litre monster in November last year. Bad decision. Problem is I'm too proud to go back. I have learnt to use matatus where possible.
Kioko_Nesa
#22 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2008 5:06:00 AM

@SimonKabs

Tell your guys to use polythene instead of those CDs that goes for Ksh 150 there u save more than Ksh 149.50. Do a quick math; you go 6 rounds per nite including morning glory those are two packets costing Ksh 300. so per month will cost something like Ksh 9,000

He he he he he he he he he he he he

Am still kidding.

Kioko
Hezz
#23 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2008 5:10:00 AM

If a new person read the thread about what sk'ers do for a living and then read this thread they'd be totally confused.

@simonkabz: Wewe ni wazimu.

@Pondi & Mlefu: You guys crack me up. I'd like to meet you!

Growing older is mandatory. Growing up is optional.
Mankenya
#24 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2008 5:27:00 AM

Save on tissue.......tumia kamuti like the one u use to stir dawa at the Carnivore then wash it thus always carry it in your pocket/purse.
jake
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2008 2:23:00 PM

Xtina

I dont cook and i do find maself better off,consider my diet

Breakfast I prep ma own tea plus 2 ndaokitu
jake
#26 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2008 2:27:00 PM

Xtina

I dont cook and i do find maself better off,consider my diet

Breakfast I prep ma own tea plus 2 ndaokitu 17bob

Lunch 2 chaposNdengu/Beans/ Githeri/Cabbage Max 40 bob

Supper Ug/2 chapos/Beef/Tilapia/Fillet Max 50 bob

Where else do you get a balanced diet plus lesser time cooking?

Pablo
#27 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2008 2:59:00 PM

Walk to work. South B to Tao - 40 min. Nairobi west to upperhill - 30min. You save fuel possibly 300/- per day and Gym 4k p.m. Total saving 11,500/-.

With that you can take a coop loan of 450k invest it in Access Kenya (or whatever you fancy) and be a millionaire by the time you clear the loan using the the amount you saved by walking on weekdays!!

Weekend you can continue to do your mwenjoyo.

Be fearful when everyone is greedy,be greedy when evereone is fearful
kafein
#28 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 7:19:00 AM

take senator instead of tusker.

eat at home not in hotels.

get someone to be getting for u cheaper veggies from shags

use pit latlines to avoid water wastage,u can hamia na huko ruai au mwiki

good is not good where better is expected
Mbenje
#29 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 9:22:00 AM

for those not yet married and in relationships,move in with your partner (girlfriend or boyfi) and cost share. two is better than one.

implementation will be the only problem. and then you have palepale as you wish.

mk
dijkstra
#30 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 9:25:00 AM

-Never throw a round of beer when hanging out with your buddies; esp on Fridays...instead drink slowly and pay exactly what you've consumed; as they get drunk,they will start buying rounds.

-Yeah; yeah senator keg will cost you a maximum of 100 bob per seating; that's one beer at the cheapest joint in tao. NB: If you take too much,Keg may affect your performance when you meet your other half in bed. Solution: put in some instant coffee in the last one or two mugs..ave seen this happen esp in Zimmermann. It also clears that smell.

-Eat Mutura (20bob) and supu (5bob) for your supper.

-If you live in Kangemi/Kinooo/Uthiru; walk from tao to Museum Hill and get a ma3 at 10bob less the usual fare.

-If you have to drink in tao; pop in Reke Marie,Dot or some other joint in downtown and have enough of beer at RRP before venturing akina Jazz,Verandah,Club Sound,ET AL

-Reduce the number of times/weekends your girl friend visits your diggs. Also avoid offering to drop her when she leaves..why spend 300bob on fuel while she could take a ma3 at 20bob.

-If you own a car; avoid giving a lift (esp to huge dudes) when coming to work; your car consumes more fuel as the weight increases; not forgetting the shocks..NB: these dudes will just say thank you and will not even share with you what they've saved on fare. Also obey traffic rules to avoid giving bribes/fines to police/courts.

-If your company pays over time; do not feell guilty to inflate the number of extra hours you have put in each month.

-When on leave,avoid shaggs as much as possible and if you have to go there spend less than 24 hrs .. esp if you are one of the few from your village who live/work in nairobi.

-Avoid situations which may impregnate your chick. Use a condom even if she say the days are fine..

Mankenya
#31 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 9:39:00 AM

To save money 100% commit suicide. Dead man don spend no dalla.....
Mtu Biz
#32 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 9:53:00 AM

Wa!

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

Mtu Biz
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 10:05:00 AM

@ Simonkabs ..... ati pellets!! hilarious..

@ kioko_nesa.... i dont get it,you always post oh God this and the Lord that halafu now you're talking mambo sijui polyehtene bags na CDs!!

ati just kidding! SK inaharibu vijana wetu

..... the sons of Zeruiah .....
Sola Scriptura

nessie
#34 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 1:50:00 PM

you pple you'v all made may day.YOU cracked me up.
@DIJKSTRA. very interesting thou you sound mean. I hp your not a mean person thou.
@PABLO. VIATU ZITAISHA JO! NA JASHO JE?
Pablo
#35 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 2:39:00 PM

Image is nothing,networth is everything.

Tumia rollon an ununue viatu mingi.

Be fearful when everyone is greedy,be greedy when evereone is fearful
jokes
#36 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2008 2:40:00 PM

maze pondi and et al,u guys are hillarious,ati .................................wah! hata siwezi,i wouldnt like to meet you guys with my chick. she would off on mi so fats wacha tu. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ..................cant stop laughing ati una kazia sh*t. ha ha ha ha
Juma
#37 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2008 7:18:00 AM

-Kick out 'squatting' in-laws.
-Wash your own car - that daily 50/- to the watchie can top up safcom shares (better idea,have the in-laws wash it!)
-recycle jana's ugali and combine with today's
#38 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2008 5:36:00 AM

Take your children to public schools and save money to send them to great universities abroad. If they are bright,they will pass the national exams well enough to be admitted to foreign universities - remember,there isn't as much competition 'out there'.

And your kids will get the added benefit of getting in touch with 'the reality on the ground here in Kenya'. You don't want them going through life thinking that poverty is something you read in the newspapers....
miser
#39 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2008 8:30:00 AM

The golden rules:1)Live below your means,2)Delay gratifications!,3)Be a 'miser'! 4)Have a budget.Consider this.Employed 4yrs ago.Net salary 60k(House allowance included of 30k).Expenses per month:Rent(bedsitter)-6k,Parent-6k,Food-8k,Utilities-2k,Entertainment-2k,Transport(no car)-3k,Papers(2 per wk)-0.8k,Misc.-3k,Lunches(not daily)-3k and personal care-3k. Total=Approx 36k.Savings:A)5.5k for personal insurance,B)2k- pension,C)NSSF-0.2K,D)current bank balance 150k and E)shares at NSE(buying price)-900k.
Carthage
#40 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2008 10:25:00 AM

@Miser

Judging by the way write you must be the Ultimate Miser. How do you manage to fit all those sentences in such scanty space?

Boss! I agree saving is a must but to some reasonable levels.

All aboard the ARMADA!