Investor
Property
Impact of 30% rental income tax on housing development in Kenya
Time will tell whether this will have a negative impact on housing development in Kenya. I personally think it will. 1. A good number of investors in this sector have bought property to rent. Imagine buying 2-2 bed flats at 9m. You get rent of 15K*2=30K less tax @30%. Is it worth investing 9million to end up with 20K per month ?. I see people rather putting their monies in other investment eg T/Bills etc where even with a rate of 9%, you are likely to end up with more than 50k pm. 2. People who still want to invest in properties will prefer areas where it is difficult for the tax man to touch them. So I am seeing more of mlolongo type of houses more than the elegant apartments coming up in Eastlands. 3. That rate of 30% is high. It should be graduated like PAYE but at lower rates to encouraged investment in this sector or even zoned. The pricing of flats/houses in Lavi, Kile, Runda is such that the investors may be able to pay tax but with rents of 5-28K in Eastlands, Ronga, Kitengela, Busia, Nyeri, Nakuru and other kenyan towns, I foresee alot of issues. 4. If you borrow to buy a flat and then rent which majority do. Where does this leave you with the tax thing. The INTEREST that you pay the banks on 4.6m is well over 60K pm @20% interest. Yet your rental income is 15-18k. It is not much different when you borrow to build flat(s). 5. Most likely landlords will pass this tax to tenants. If you stay in middle class areas eg Langata, South B, Jamhuri, prepare to consider moving to Ronga, Kasarani, Eastlands, Kite etc DOH
Bachuma Gate wrote:Time will tell whether this will have a negative impact on housing development in Kenya. I personally think it will.
1. A good number of investors in this sector have bought property to rent. Imagine buying 2-2 bed flats at 9m. You get rent of 15K*2=30K less tax @30%. Is it worth investing 9million to end up with 20K per month ?. I see people rather putting their monies in other investment eg T/Bills etc where even with a rate of 9%, you are likely to end up with more than 50k pm.
2. People who still want to invest in properties will prefer areas where it is difficult for the tax man to touch them. So I am seeing more of mlolongo type of houses more than the elegant apartments coming up in Eastlands.
3. That rate of 30% is high. It should be graduated like PAYE but at lower rates to encouraged investment in this sector or even zoned. The pricing of flats/houses in Lavi, Kile, Runda is such that the investors may be able to pay tax but with rents of 5-28K in Eastlands, Ronga, Kitengela, Busia, Nyeri, Nakuru and other kenyan towns, I foresee alot of issues.
4. If you borrow to buy a flat and then rent which majority do. Where does this leave you with the tax thing. The INTEREST that you pay the banks on 4.6m is well over 60K pm @20% interest. Yet your rental income is 15-18k. It is not much different when you borrow to build flat(s).
5. Most likely landlords will pass this tax to tenants. If you stay in middle class areas eg Langata, South B, Jamhuri, prepare to consider moving to Ronga, Kasarani, Eastlands, Kite etc
Has this been effected? This will have adverse consequences. The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
lets wait wether the finance guy will touch it, fingers crossed LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 761 Location: Nairobi
kyt wrote:lets wait wether the finance guy will touch it, fingers crossed The easiest and the most practical answer to landlords is to increase rent. When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Marty wrote:kyt wrote:lets wait wether the finance guy will touch it, fingers crossed The easiest and the most practical answer to landlords is to increase rent. Increasing rent pay with stagnant wages facing high inflation as well as interest rates and an econ slowdown will be a tough call to the tenant. For a while the landlords will have to absorb that tax if it happens.$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Marty wrote:kyt wrote:lets wait wether the finance guy will touch it, fingers crossed The easiest and the most practical answer to landlords is to increase rent. Rental income has always been taxable under the income tax act however many people with rental income have not been declaring this income to KRA. on the other hand KRA has not been aggressively pursuing people with rental income probably because they lacked a mechanism of identifying and following the defaulters! The good news to KRA and bad news to defaulters is that technology has come to the aid of KRA i.e use of GIS(Geographic information system) in zeroing in on all the landlords. The truth is that this will certainly have a negative impact on the real estate industry and bearing in mind most of the people are tenants, the real property investors will certainly have to look at alternative investments with higher returns if passing on of the tax liability to the tenants is not possible!
DIGITALI:what you are saying is not true.Even those other investments which landlords might invest in are still taxable.So,where is the difference??That argument does not hold water.No one stops investing because of taxes.Taxes and death are two things we don't like...but we must deal with them.Lie to non investors.....
Rank: Member Joined: 3/26/2012 Posts: 232 Location: Nairobi
Digitali wrote:Marty wrote:kyt wrote:lets wait wether the finance guy will touch it, fingers crossed The easiest and the most practical answer to landlords is to increase rent. Rental income has always been taxable under the income tax act however many people with rental income have not been declaring this income to KRA. on the other hand KRA has not been aggressively pursuing people with rental income probably because they lacked a mechanism of identifying and following the defaulters! The good news to KRA and bad news to defaulters is that technology has come to the aid of KRA i.e use of GIS(Geographic information system) in zeroing in on all the landlords. The truth is that this will certainly have a negative impact on the real estate industry and bearing in mind most of the people are tenants, the real property investors will certainly have to look at alternative investments with higher returns if passing on of the tax liability to the tenants is not possible! I concur with you.. Rental income has always been taxable under Section 15 (i) of the Income Tax Act unless it changes today. Njiraini is just trying to reach YOU defaulters and with the ambitious 1.4T budget he will surely reach you My folks told me that my very first word was 'billionaire'
Increasing rent is not a solution as such.KRA will still tax the increase,hence the landlord's taxable income will go up.Now,you whiners pay tax!! That's the only way out.personally,I pay more than sh 500,000 a year in taxes.Let's share this burden together!!!!
Ali Baba - My topic is not about landlords not paying the tax. It about the impact on housing development. It will help if we discuss on that line. DOH
If you pay 30k rent but you agree with the landlord that for tax purposes, the rent will be quoted at 10k or 8k [but you still pay him/her 30k] then what next? Will the government/KRA set minimum rents depending on the house? This thing is just too easy to beat [for residential]. If a landlord gives you an option: Say you pay 30k and cough up an extra 9k in taxes or say you pay 8k and he coughs up the 2.4k taxes or you share it, which option will you take? By the way, taxes will always be passed to the consumer!!! For those of you thinking that this burden is for the landlord, you had better think again! If you are a tenant, prepare to carry the burden or move to "vitongoji duni"! Habari ndiyo hiyo. These money is coming straight out of YOUR pocket!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Ali Baba wrote:Increasing rent is not a solution as such.KRA will still tax the increase,hence the landlord's taxable income will go up.Now,you whiners pay tax!! That's the only way out.personally,I pay more than sh 500,000 a year in taxes.Let's share this burden together!!!! And you are about to start paying more if you are a tenant!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MAICHBLACK: I think you are very ignorant of the Income Tax act. I said increasing rent to cover taxes increases taxable incomes.therefore the cycle continues.I would not agree to pay 30k rent and say rent is 10k to cheat the taxman.Schemes for cheating taxman,I would not be involved.If I pay 30k rent....let it remain 30k,what the landlord does with KRA is not for me to be involved.besides its illegal to help another taxpayer evade taxes.I think you are a tax evader.Mr Njiraini,push on....let us all share the tax burden.Flush them out from every where.ITS MENE MENE TEKEL for tax evaders!!
He he he!! Ati,a tenant like me be involved in landlord's tax evasion schemes??Are you trying to send me to Kamiti maximum because of a few shillings/month??That is the joke of this month.Someone evades taxes by himself/herself!!!
Ali Baba wrote:MAICHBLACK: I think you are very ignorant of the Income Tax act. I said increasing rent to cover taxes increases taxable incomes.therefore the cycle continues.I would not agree to pay 30k rent and say rent is 10k to cheat the taxman.Schemes for cheating taxman,I would not be involved.If I pay 30k rent....let it remain 30k,what the landlord does with KRA is not for me to be involved.besides its illegal to help another taxpayer evade taxes.I think you are a tax evader.Mr Njiraini,push on....let us all share the tax burden.Flush them out from every where.ITS MENE MENE TEKEL for tax evaders!! Vitriol masks valid points and makes even otherwise intelligent individuals look as stupid as hell. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Digitali wrote:Marty wrote:kyt wrote:lets wait wether the finance guy will touch it, fingers crossed The easiest and the most practical answer to landlords is to increase rent. Rental income has always been taxable under the income tax act however many people with rental income have not been declaring this income to KRA. on the other hand KRA has not been aggressively pursuing people with rental income probably because they lacked a mechanism of identifying and following the defaulters! The good news to KRA and bad news to defaulters is that technology has come to the aid of KRA i.e use of GIS(Geographic information system) in zeroing in on all the landlords.The truth is that this will certainly have a negative impact on the real estate industry and bearing in mind most of the people are tenants, the real property investors will certainly have to look at alternative investments with higher returns if passing on of the tax liability to the tenants is not possible! even if they zero in using GIS technology, how will they know if the units are occupied - well they could go ahead and use some form of infrared technology to detect body movement in the individual units. is it practical ? I don't think so.
Maichblack:then I apologize for the vitriol.Si ni sawa sasa??
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Ali Baba wrote:MAICHBLACK: I think you are very ignorant of the Income Tax act. I said increasing rent to cover taxes increases taxable incomes.therefore the cycle continues.I would not agree to pay 30k rent and say rent is 10k to cheat the taxman.Schemes for cheating taxman,I would not be involved.If I pay 30k rent....let it remain 30k,what the landlord does with KRA is not for me to be involved.besides its illegal to help another taxpayer evade taxes.I think you are a tax evader.Mr Njiraini,push on....let us all share the tax burden.Flush them out from every where.ITS MENE MENE TEKEL for tax evaders!! hasira ya nini, there are those who evade tax and those who comply.
NAKUJUA: it will help a lot.It may not prove but it will reduce evasion.Plus they have officers in the field who will be walking around verifying such.Also,if you have built a house and its not occupied,it shows you have a source of income which maybe is not taxed and this will help reduce evasion even from other sources.Let's say a mitumba trader or say jua kali people,they evade taxes(most of them) and invest in plots and houses.If WE(taxpayers and KRA)find out that you have a house,then it will not help compliance but zero in on mitumba income.Sounding good??I like what I'm hearing from Githae.All Landlords must be brought to "Times Tower umbrella".Good.Very good.I love you Githae and Njiraini.God bless KRA.
....I meant....it will help NOT ONLY COMPLIANCE,but zero in on other sources....
Investor
Property
Impact of 30% rental income tax on housing development in Kenya