wazua Mon, Nov 25, 2024

Best Goal in The History of English Premier League
#1 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 4:37:09 PM

As part of the 20 year celebrations, Wayne Rooney has been awarded The best goal in the history of EPL. His exquisite overhead shot against Man City was voted as the best ever goal in the EPL

Best Ever Goal in the EPL

Best Goal in 20 Seasons!!!

The previous holder of the title - unveiled when EPL was celebrating was another Man U player - who else - David Beckham.

Congrats Wayne Rooney.
#2 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 4:56:22 PM

I hope by an englishman......Coz Cisse's goal against chelsea was unbeatable in as many decades
msafiri
#3 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 5:43:55 PM

What about the best goal in the history of the Kenyan Premier League? -John Barasa's goal in the recent 1-0 Win by Sofapaka over Tusker FC would be a good contender. (Can't provide any vid clips thoughsmile
When you see clouds gathering, prepare to catch rainwater. - African proverb

kiriita
#4 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 6:15:39 PM

freiks wrote:
I hope by an englishman......Coz Cisse's goal against chelsea was unbeatable in as many decades

Voting closed long before that stunner. The runners up were goals by Bergkamp & I think Henry - nationality was not an issue.
TiggerTiggy
#5 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 7:59:40 PM

was a fantastic goal but i prefer denis berkamps wonderful strike
Buster
#6 Posted : Friday, May 04, 2012 8:18:58 PM

kiriita wrote:
freiks wrote:

Voting closed long before that stunner. The runners up were goals by Bergkamp & I think Henry - nationality was not an issue.

This is not about being English. The whole world was invited to vote via the EPL website. Despite being a Manutd Guy, I voted for the Bergkamp goal. I still marvel at it whenever I watch it.

This is how I voted;

Best Goal - Bergkamp
Best match - Manutd v Mancity 4-3
Best Save - Jussi Jaaskelainen against Manutd
Best Celebration - Cantona

#7 Posted : Saturday, May 05, 2012 8:45:10 AM

Rooney's goal was good but i don't think its the best we've seen in 20 years, i bet if it was La Liga it wouldn't even have been goal of the season. I think the reason why it won was probably because it was against Man City, scored by an English man (majority of the voters are British) and it was just last season.
#8 Posted : Saturday, May 05, 2012 12:22:56 PM

@Taz, majority of the voters are british? Really? That's so weak.That's like saying most Arsenal fans would vote for Wright rather than Bergkamp or Henry. It was a vote and fans across the world voted, and Rooney won. Period!
#9 Posted : Sunday, May 06, 2012 7:52:09 AM

@Jus Blazin....Yes most of the voters were British, i bet the 'rest of the world' voted for the other goals. Hata wewe unajua thats not the best we have seen in 20 years. Last year it was nominated by FIFA as Goal of the year but its Neymar's goal which won.....it wasn't really that good but it showed what people thought of Rooney's overhead kick.

http://www.guardian.co.u...test-goal-premier-league
#10 Posted : Sunday, May 06, 2012 11:29:48 AM

Last year it was nominated by FIFA as Goal of the year but its Neymar's goal which won.....

@TAZ - You really need to get serious! You wanted Neymar's [Who has never played in the EPL] goal to be voted the best goal in the EPL?

Have you done Set Theory? EPL is a subset of the World. Given that Rooney's goal was in the short list for the best goal in the world last year and won the best goal in the EPL makes a lot of sense!

And for your info, the voting was done online. Everyone who watches EPL from wherever in the world had EQUAL opportunity to vote for their best goal! Hiyo ingine yote ni kelele!
#11 Posted : Sunday, May 06, 2012 1:43:36 PM

[quote=TAZ]Last year it was nominated by FIFA as Goal of the year but its Neymar's goal which won.....it wasn't really that good but it showed what people thought of Rooney's overhead kick.

http://www.guardian.co.u...est-goal-premier-league[/quote]

Here is Neymar's goal, it wasn't that good but voters thought it was way better than Rooney's goal. What i mean by that is that outside the EPL people don't think Rooney's goal was that good.....I believe the EPL has seen some fantastic goals over the years, we've also seen so many overhead kicks as well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmreVZtcMRo

You also need to open the link attached on my previous post to see what other online fans think of the vote. His goal deserved to be goal of the season lakini should not even have been a contender for best goal in 20 years. Here's other links

http://thekop.liverpoolf...log/6045321/173471.html

http://www.dailymail.co....ue-goal-20-seasons.html Scroll down to the comments part.
#12 Posted : Sunday, May 06, 2012 1:48:42 PM

You give me a liverpool link to read comments about what "other fans" think about Rooney's goal being voted the best in the history of EPL? What, are you high???
#13 Posted : Sunday, May 06, 2012 1:55:16 PM

#14 Posted : Monday, May 07, 2012 9:15:36 AM

Kweli kazi ya Mutua ni ngumu!!!
#15 Posted : Monday, May 07, 2012 12:11:57 PM

Personally I think goals should be rated in categories i.e. volleys, overhead kicks,half volleys,scissors,shots, half liners a la` Becks and Suarez, one man runs e.g. Ben Arfa recently,etc etc , all on their own, based on difficulty of execution (Crouch's volley against Man City where he had to control and volley at a go with back to goal, Papis's wonder half volley),importance (whether they were game deciders)etc etc. For me Rooney's goal is not the best in 20 years of the EPL but I would definitely put it in the Top 20 greatest goals and in the Top 10 greatest overhead kicks (in the EPL)....but that's just me.
#16 Posted : Monday, May 07, 2012 12:48:27 PM

after that link by Taz on Neymar.. i have wandered off to what Gaucho used to do on the pitch.. and to be honest Messi is nothing any close to Gaucho... or Maradona, or Ronaldo or Zenedine, or Pele... far.. very far

#17 Posted : Monday, May 07, 2012 12:53:28 PM

as for the best EPL goal.. Not that ive ignored it.. but its bound to be forgoten cos its just a goal.. no assists no superb run just some acrobatics..

How much emotions does it evoke? what is a last minute wonder goal like Zizous champions league goal..
Is it like Beckham last minute saviours...? a good thing comes with a lot of emotions.. thats why football is more than just a game..