wazua Sun, May 19, 2024

19 Pages«<171819
Harambee Stars
#361 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 10:40:32 PM

What if winning isn't a priority to FKF and other stakeholders except fans? I mean players can go pro, and other funds distributed amongst the officials and politician instead of wasting money on friendlies, expensive coaches and the like.

Afterall, the game is already rigged. We can't win the world cup. So why bother winning all these games?

The Harambee stars performances may be a dynamic equilibrium point of competing and probably legitimate forces and we shouldn't even complain. Afterall, we shine in other games!

#362 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 10:52:59 PM

Alba wrote:

@Robinhood,
Who said "We do not lack talent"? we have always assumed that kenyans are blessed "with talent"? who said that? what metric? Why do you assume that there is something "special" in the 582,650 km2 that is Kenya that is not found elsewhere? What is this special thing found in the people west and south of Mandera, North and west of Lunga Lunga, east and south of lokichogio. what is this "thing' you think you have that serendipitously found itself here and no where else? kenya is blessed with talent is an unsubstantiated claim and everything built on that premise is nice sounding B.S.

This is a classic case of masukuma fighting with his own shadow . No one on wazua has said Kenya is blessed with talent. No one has said there is something special in Kenya.

But it is a fact that Kenya has more talent than the teams they routinely lose to nowadays. Kenya has in the recent past fielded a team with players who play in the top leagues of England, Italy, France etc. Players who featured in the champions league. And with all these players they have lost to teams like Eritrea, Lesotho, Botswana, Somalia etc. These are teams with players playing in much lower leagues and sometimes are amateurs. A player who is playing in the Champions league is likely more talented than a player in the Eritrean league. If you do not understand this basic concept then maybe you are an airhead.
Kenya lost to these teams not because “hatujui ball”. We lost mostly due to poor planning:
Against Botswana, Kenya arrived mere hours before the match and lost 3-0. All the goals were scored in the last 15 minutes. The players said they were tired from the long journey
The same scenario happened against Cape Verde when Kenya players went through a 10 hour travel ordeal of waiting for their flight at Wilson airport

On top of that Kenya never trains together nor plays friendlies. In 2014, Wanyama pleaded for friendlies and instead the government sent them on holiday in Brazil to watch the world cup. Meanwhile Lesotho were busy training. The next month Lesotho beat Kenya.

This scenario has repeated itself over and over for the past 15 years. In the few moments where Kenya had some good organization, the team did well. When Job Omino was KFF chair, Kenya qualified for the Africa Nations cup three times in a row. And that was when only 8 teams qualified. In the late 90s with Fabisch, Kenya recorded good results against some of Africas to teams beat Algeria 3-1, Cameroon and that Nigeria team that won the Olympic gold medal.

In 2004, Kenya qualified for CAN again beating teams like Cape Verde and Togo who consistently beat us now. Heck even last year Kenya recorded a good result away to Congo. It is clear from these results that Kenya has the talent to compete. But we keep getting derailed by poor management. Others can see this clearly. Even manambas on the street. Only Masukuma seems to lack the cognitive ability to grasp this basic concept. And since he can’t grasp it, he just keeps creating straw men arguments to fight with and continues to fight with his own shadow.

all these are excuses!! we peg our "unoma" on one off wins.... these are nothing. my thoughts are kenya tries to punch above her weight in everything... spreading ourselves too thin. it's like kenya wants to be the 1st country to industrialise in sports. hao Lesotho una dharau hapo with their 2m people don't do anything else but football. they have very nice hills to run but they don't. they play football in a nutty way similar to the english. it's an extended family affair. same thing to west africans.... the only other countries that do the things we try to do are russia, usa, uk and somtimes sa and australia. we are busy bodies. the reason we rank well in rugby in africa is because we don't have much competition coz to some countries rugby is like croquet.... something white people take stabs off. mara cycling... mara b-ball, mara footballl... don't you know that you are a heavily indebt , poor, corrupt, 3rd world country?
sitaki.kujulikana
#363 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 11:05:13 PM

Alba wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
@alba Kumbe wewe ni jama wa wikipedia, keyboard warrior, do you have any knowledge of rugby starting with Nakuru.

Send me a ping when you have something useful to contribute to this debate

ping @Alba, smile
#364 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 11:08:32 PM

if you want brownie points for being regional wanoma in multiple things... I suggest then we try archery or airpistol shooting....or synchronised swimming or even maybe.... rhythmic gymnastics! I am sure we will beat some peace corp expats in random countries in the area. but when it comes to football? we shall not beat countries that have exclusive focus on it hata kama they are in war... regardless of "talent" or whatever you think this territory is endowed with.
#365 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 11:53:22 AM

After watching David Alaba's story on Road to Euro 2016, i have realised that Kenyans' have nothing to offer in the world of football. Hata tupige kelele how, NOTHING. smile
Alba
#366 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2016 8:32:02 PM

all these are excuses!! we peg our "unoma" on one off wins.... these are nothing. my thoughts are kenya tries to punch above her weight in everything... spreading ourselves too thin. it's like kenya wants to be the 1st country to industrialise in sports. hao Lesotho una dharau hapo with their 2m people don't do anything else but football. they have very nice hills to run but they don't. they play football in a nutty way similar to the english. it's an extended family affair. same thing to west africans.... the only other countries that do the things we try to do are russia, usa, uk and somtimes sa and australia. we are busy bodies. the reason we rank well in rugby in africa is because we don't have much competition coz to some countries rugby is like croquet.... something white people take stabs off. mara cycling... mara b-ball, mara footballl... don't you know that you are a heavily indebt , poor, corrupt, 3rd world country?

The above bolded sections show how masukuma likes to bare his ignorance for the whole world to see. There are numerous countries even in Africa that do well in multiple sports.

Lets look at Naija for example. We know they are good in football. But their men and women's basketball teams have also been African champions in the last 10 years. At the 2014 commonwealth games, Naija won 7 gold medals in weightlifting and power lifting.
Naija also excels in sprinting, boxing etc etc

What about Tunisia
They are excellent at football, do well in rugby. Their mens basketball team were also Africa champions recently. They also have some world class long distance runners like Ghribi. Their women's volleyball team is fairly decent.

I do not have to tell anyone about South Africa which tops Africa in rugby, swimming, tennis, cricket etc and has decent teams in football, athletics, boxing etc.

Now to to South America and you will find that Brazil and Argentina excel in football, basketball, volleyball. Argentina are also world class in rugby.

New Zealand may be known as a rugby nation of only 3 million people but in recent history their football and basketball teams have also qualified for the world cup and done well.

In Europe, countries like Italy and Spain excel at football, basketball, tennis, volleyball, athletics etc. Italy even has a world class rugby team.

Heck you do not have to go far to find countries that do well in multiple sports. Our own neighbours Uganda play football, they are passing in basketball, their rugby team has beaten Kenya on many occassions and they also have some world beating athletes.

So the idea that Kenya is spreadings itsefl too thin is Further evidence of masukuma's penchant for posting ignorant jibber jabber.

And there is nothing wrong with a country of 40 million people playing multiple sports.

Note: Kenya won only 6 gold medals at the 2015 All Africa games, all from athletics. Egypt won a whopping 85 gold medals, Nigeria, South Africa, Tunisia and Algeria all won 30 or more gold medals from a wide variety of sports. So the notion of a country spreading itself too thin as masukuma claims is ridiculous. In fact the opposite might be true.

If Egypt can win 85 gold from various diverse sports, Kenya should aim to win at least 15. It has happened before. Kenya was not always this dependent on athletics. We used to win medals in other sports. In boxing, Kenya were commonwealth games champions in the 1970s and 80s

Alba
#367 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2016 8:20:29 PM

Nigeria legend Kanu Nwanko is in the country. In an interview, he re-iterated what some of us have been saying on this thread

Kanu who is in the country on a five day visit courtesy of pay per view station StarTimes said Kenya has a potential of having a pool of talented footballers who if properly managed can be harnessed into budding players.

With the likes of Victor Wanyama who plays for the English Premier League (EPL) side Southampton and Kenyan born Divock Origi of Belgium featuring for Liverpool is a testament of the immense talent Kenya has,” he said.

The Nigerian superstar said lack of football structures and mismanagement by the federation was to blame for the poor football standards in Kenya.

“When I last played against Kenya, Harambee Stars put up a good show but having watched the team in the recent past they are a pale shadow of their performance about 20 years ago,” he said

Just saying
Source
#368 Posted : Thursday, March 23, 2017 4:05:59 PM

Kenya 1 UG 0

Half time...Goals scorer non other than Engineer 35th minute...
#369 Posted : Thursday, March 23, 2017 5:17:36 PM

Game ended 1-1
Alba
#370 Posted : Thursday, March 23, 2017 6:21:11 PM

I was really hoping to have a tournament like CECAFA to test Okumbi's true mettle.

I think the improvement stars have shown is due to the fact that they are playing more friendlies which enhances cohesion. And also basic organization like travel arrangements are being addressed. So the team is not arriving at destinations mere hours before the game as they did under Nyamweya.

However the 1-0 wins over teams like Liberia and Mozambique aren't impressive and neither is a 1-1 draw at home with Cranes.

Long story short. I am not convinced with Okumbi. I am concerned that Kenya will yet again fail to qualify for AFCON 2019.
Alba
#371 Posted : Sunday, March 26, 2017 10:54:43 PM

DRC had two legit goals dissallowed. They should've won 3-2 today. Nick Mwendwa and Stan Okumbi can thank referee Davis Omweno. he was man of the match today.
#372 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2018 7:03:47 PM

Never felt more Kenyan. Kasarani was full house. I was there. The energy, the love, the patriotism.

For sure sports can bring all Kinyans together.

Cameroon 2019 tuko Ndani!
#373 Posted : Sunday, October 14, 2018 7:44:11 PM

Never felt more Kenyan. Kasarani was full house. I was there. The energy, the love, the patriotism.

For sure sports can bring all Kinyans together.

Cameroon 2019 tuko Ndani!

Applause Applause Applause Applause
MugundaMan
#374 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 9:44:44 AM

Stars did well but level of play was very shoddy. Poor crosses, wasted opportunities, komboras that missed the goal by a country mile..the list is endless. They will not make it very far if play does not improve. Save for Wanyama and Olunga and perhaps the defence I did not see much of note happening during the game. Ethiopia is not much of a competitor, how will they handle the powerhouses of African football with this level of play. Let them work hard to improve otherwise sorry to say it they will not go far.
radiomast
#375 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 4:29:55 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Stars did well but level of play was very shoddy. Poor crosses, wasted opportunities, komboras that missed the goal by a country mile..the list is endless. They will not make it very far if play does not improve. Save for Wanyama and Olunga and perhaps the defence I did not see much of note happening during the game. Ethiopia is not much of a competitor, how will they handle the powerhouses of African football with this level of play. Let them work hard to improve otherwise sorry to say it they will not go far.

Didn't they beat Ghana recently?

They have done really well when you consider all the poor preparations. Coach not being paid for months, shoddy travel plans, team not training for long enough, lack of friendlies. The usual garbage. Give them support and they will go places.

Their best aspect is the defence which is solid. Bryan, Denis, Omar, Musa, Marcelo, Philemon & Matasi.
MugundaMan
#376 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 5:14:14 PM

radiomast wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

They have done really well when you consider all the poor preparations. Coach not being paid for months, shoddy travel plans, team not training for long enough, lack of friendlies. The usual garbage. Give them support and they will go places.

Their best aspect is the defence which is solid. Bryan, Denis, Omar, Musa, Marcelo, Philemon & Matasi.

This is sad indeed. Why these things happen year in and year out is baffling to say the least. Incompetence and the usual ufisadi at the MOY&S?
#377 Posted : Monday, October 15, 2018 7:06:15 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
radiomast wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

This is sad indeed. Why these things happen year in and year out is baffling to say the least. Incompetence and the usual ufisadi at the MOY&S?

It shouldnt baffle you.....
#378 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 7:21:15 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
radiomast wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Its the road side declarations made by politicians such as DP and Sonko that contribute to the disorganisation within govt and by extension to the national team. Why can't they insist on a well organised Football body in Kenya, with a budget and plan for the year complete with remuneration for coach and players, money for travel and accomodation etc. so as to allow the team operate smoothly and within a plan.

But ours is "if you win the govt will give 50 million". And some clown dishing out Usd. 30K on camera, all for political expediency.

Please politicians, allow the systems to work. If you go to Kasarani, enjoy the game, cheer and go home, if you want to reward players, do it discreetly by supporting the system that guarantees their success.

Otherwise, congrats to Harambee stars, we have not had such a comprehensive victory in along time, and Ethiopia is a good team.
#379 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2018 8:11:22 PM

The big money can still help develop the game in the country by betting the way they did.

Must wins may need to have huge bets, normal and fifty fifty games low bets. They could bet on coaches, and squads too, such that the most promising teams can have the heavier bets. Best coaches etc. As long as they pay.

It's time that FKF took bet management as seriously as the rest of the country.
Alba
#380 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 4:49:12 AM

I agree with Obi. For some reason sports ministry is the most poorly staffed. For as long as I can remember, the sports minister has always been incompetent. Since the Moi days when Nyiva Mwendwa was sports minister to the Kibaki days when Hellen Sambili was sports minister and later Wario.

And now Achesa is the sports minister. This is a man who is barely literate. Apparently did not even finish standard 8.