wazua Mon, May 27, 2024

19 Pages«<1516171819>
Harambee Stars
Matoe
#321 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 9:36:27 AM

Alba wrote:
Stars couldbe banned by CAF for the fracas.

Meanwhile someone please identify the chap being interviewed at 1:15. Testing wazua knowledge.

Kenya one! Mahmoud Abbass
#322 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 9:47:21 AM

I read somewhere that Guinea Bissau is a "minnow"... minnows ni nyinyi!! hii tabia ya kujaribu kila kitu and spreading yourselves thin will always end up in situations like these. Disappointment... sasa tuende tuBlame coach and management e.t.c. kumbe shida yetu ni HATUJUI BALL!! you know if a guy has been divorced once and claims the wife was the problem - you can side with him. But if he has been divorced 10 times and still claims each of the wives was the problem.... you would be doing your intellect a disservice to believe him. So to me it's fixing problems where there are none... "activity" instead of "productivity". Poleni sana... Kenya ndio "minnows" if you disagree give me examples to support your position and not serendipitous meetups that we draw with some "big team".
Alba
#323 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 4:16:55 PM

Alba, maybe you one day shall tell me why we even have football in Kenya. Still waiting for 1 hooligan to be arrested.

There was a Gor Mahia fan who was arrested last year and sentenced to 6 months for forcing his way into the stadium. This is good.

But this past Sunday, the hooliganism was by Harambee stars fans and it is not politically convenient for the bigwigs like Wario or the police chiefs to condemn harambee stars fans. So it is likely that nothing will happen. This despite the fact that the camera clearly shows who was hurling rocks. Arresting them would set a clear example and warn future hooligans.
Alba
#324 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 4:26:26 PM

Alba, maybe you one day shall tell me why we even have football in Kenya. Still waiting for 1 hooligan to be arrested.

http://gormahia.net/late...le-against-hooliganism/

We still have football because it is the game that most youth play and which draws the largest number of fans.

There are Kenyans who play really well. Mariga, Oliech Wanyama, Mike Origi, Arnold Origi, Mambo etc have all had succesful careers in Europe sometimes lasting 10 years in the top flight. You cannot last 10 years in a top European league if you cannot play. Especially if you are Kenyan. And now young players like Olunga, Were and Masika are also headed towards succesful careers. So there are Kenyans who can play.

In past years, Harambee stars was not this mediocre. So fans are still hoping that someday people will be voted into office who can actually raise the standards. There are some basic things that stars can do to avoid losing to the likes of Guinea Bissau

1. Play friendlies: The team needs to gel and get an understanding and learn how to coordinate. This is critical

2. Get a competent coach: The current coach (Okumbi) has never accomplished anything so his appointment was a head scratcher

3. Select players on merit: At least two players who played against Bissau were selected because they are Mwendwa's favourites.

In the long term, Kenya needs to invest in structured youth development. There is no short cut to success. If you want a succesful national team, you have to start grooming talented players all over the country as early as age 13. In Europe it starts at age 7.

Other African countries have youth programs. Kenya often does not even enter U17 or U21 tournaments. It should not be a surprise therefore that the senior team cannot win. The fact that some Kenyan players can even play in European leagues is amazing. They are succeeding despite the odds. Its like a person who never went to primary or secondary school but learned on his own and went on to succeed at Oxford University or Harvard.

#325 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 4:41:11 PM

We were defeated by possibly one of the worst managed nations in the world.Coups every two years , no infrastructure and poverty stricken population of 2M.
I doubt they have any youth football structures there.
Alba
#326 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 4:57:50 PM

We were defeated by possibly one of the worst managed nations in the world.Coups every two years , no infrastructure and poverty stricken population of 2M.
I doubt they have any youth football structures there.

Guinea Bissau may be poorly managed. But they have a very high number of emigrants to countries like Portugal. So they are able to call upon these mercenaries who have never actually lived in Guinea Bissau but have parents or grandparents from there.

Look at their wikipedia page. You will find that all their players are based on Portugal and almost all of them were raised in Portugal.

As an example,, the scorer is a fellow called Cicero. Read his wikipedia page and it says he was born in Portugal and is a product of Braga's youth system. Braga is one of the top teams in Portugal.

So while Cicero grew up Portugal, learning under highly qualified youth coaches, who sharpened his skills and got rid of bad habits, enforced good habits etc etc

Meanwhile our own Wanyama and Oliech grew up in sijui Dagoretti, kicking ball ya jwala until he was 16, playing barefoot , repeating bad football habits until they were ingrained, playing with fake rules etc etc. Wanyama describes how he was playing barefoot as "mguu chuma"

I hope you realize that playing with ball jwala means you never learn to head a ball properly nor control a high ball because ball ya jwala never leaves the ground

The fact that Mike Okoth. Mariga Oliech and Wanyama succeeded in Europe is due to their raw talent. Had they been in structured youth development, they would have excelled even more. Oliech would've been one of the premier league top scorers. Mambo would also have been in the premier league.
Alba
#327 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 5:00:53 PM

This is how Kenya youth learn football. No coaches to teach them proper fundamentals, no equipment so you can learn to strike dead balls, nor direction, poor playing surface that hinders them from learning how to make proper passes

And this is the Braga U13 team where Cicero who scored for Cape Verde learned how to play football with proper coaches, good playing surfaces, proper nutrition, psychiatrists, role models, mentors, boarding facilities....

#328 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 6:11:28 PM

Alba wrote:
This is how Kenya youth learn football. No coaches to teach them proper fundamentals, no equipment so you can learn to strike dead balls, nor direction, poor playing surface that hinders them from learning how to make proper passes

And this is the Braga U13 team where Cicero who scored for Cape Verde learned how to play football with proper coaches, good playing surfaces, proper nutrition, psychiatrists, role models, mentors, boarding facilities....

How do you explain losing to Zambia ,Ethiopia and Rwanda?
#329 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:04:11 PM

Alba wrote:

Excuses galore smile
Alba
#330 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:21:05 PM

As I said before, most of the time Kenya loses to Eritrea, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Comoros, Botswana , Guinea Bissau etc, it is due to poor planning and / or poor preparations and poor decisions by FKF.

As for Zambia, they take football a lot more seriously than Kenya. Plus Zambia has some good youth teams. For example, in 2007, their U20 team qualified for the FIFA world cup.

The reasons why one country does better than another in football are myriad and complex. There is no single reason that explains everything. I will explain more later
#331 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:26:26 PM

mbona tunaona countries zingine ni "minnows"? why the sense of entitlement? mbona madharau kwa teams zingine? kila saa mkiingia kwa hiyo uwanja ujue your opponent is the best in their country. tuwache madharau madhara na kujisikia wanoma bila proof! kenya imewahi fanya nini cha maana EVER on football?
#332 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:42:43 PM

mbona tunaona countries zingine ni "minnows"? why the sense of entitlement? mbona madharau kwa teams zingine? kila saa mkiingia kwa hiyo uwanja ujue your opponent is the best in their country. tuwache madharau madhara na kujisikia wanoma bila proof! kenya imewahi fanya nini cha maana EVER on football?

Kenya is minnows in football. Compare even the population vs number of professionals plying their trade out of the Country!!! Hatujui ball!!!
#333 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:46:55 PM

Kenya is minnows in football. Compare even the population vs number of professionals plying their trade out of the Country!!! Hatujui ball!!!

Watu 40M tunashindwa mbaka na Somalia... SURELY!! Tuitikie tu mara moja yaishe...tunapenda ball LAKINI hatujui ball. hatupendi kukimbia LAKINI tunajua kukimbia.
Alba
#334 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 7:55:07 PM

This masukuma likes fighting his own shadows.
No one on wazua has referred to Guinea Bissau as minnows and no one has said "sisi ni wanoma"
#335 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 8:31:31 PM

poor organidation is rampant all over the continent.Nigerian FA is more shambolic than FKL.
Tukumbali tu,hatujui futaa!
Alba
#336 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 8:42:16 PM

poor organidation is rampant all over the continent.Nigerian FA is more shambolic than FKL.

Eti Naija disorganized compared to Kenya. Wewe ndio ukubali kwamba hujui chochote kuhusu ball.

At least unlike Kenya, Naija actually plays high quality friendly matches before qualifiers.

Naija for all their faults are unlikely to hire a coach who has not accomplished anything the way Kenya just did.

And Naija has very active U17, U20 and U23 teams unlike Kenya which rarely enters youth tournaments and when they do , the team is assembled 4 days before the match. In fact Naija U23 recently beat Brazil in a friendly.

Again youth teams are important because they are the feeder teams to the senior national teams. Players who have been playing together since their youth have a better cohesion on the field.

There are different levels of disorganization. Kenya is among the worst. Nigeria is in the middle tier and teams like Tunisia, Egypt Cape Verde, Algeria, South Africa etc have low levels of disorganization.

Finally and most importantly , Naija takes football a lot more seriously than Kenya. I will explain later why this is important.
#337 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 9:24:07 PM

Alba wrote:

Eti Naija disorganized compared to Kenya. Wewe ndio ukubali kwamba hujui chochote kuhusu ball.

At least unlike Kenya, Naija actually plays high quality friendly matches before qualifiers.

Naija for all their faults are unlikely to hire a coach who has not accomplished anything the way Kenya just did.

And Naija has very active U17, U20 and U23 teams unlike Kenya which rarely enters youth tournaments and when they do , the team is assembled 4 days before the match. In fact Naija U23 recently beat Brazil in a friendly.

Again youth teams are important because they are the feeder teams to the senior national teams. Players who have been playing together since their youth have a better cohesion on the field.

There are different levels of disorganization. Kenya is among the worst. Nigeria is in the middle tier and teams like Tunisia, Egypt Cape Verde, Algeria, South Africa etc have low levels of disorganization.

Finally and most importantly , Naija takes football a lot more seriously than Kenya. I will explain later why this is important.

Our youth teams also try to compete.Only that they are thrashed in the preliminary stages.
#338 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 9:35:04 PM

people are beating around the bush.... HATUJUI BALL!! SISI NI MINOWS. utasikia tumechapwa na South Sudan soon. I guess we need to cut our loses and know where our strength is - China plays football too you know... they just don't seem to invest all their emotions on it.
#339 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 9:37:17 PM

Alba wrote:

Our youth teams also try to compete.Only that they are thrashed in the preliminary stages.

thrashed properly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#340 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2016 10:06:05 PM

it's more of disorganization, mismanagement, last minute planning and overall lack of seriousness and preparedness.

How come we do well in better managed sports like Rugby, Volleyball, Athletics....