wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

Kabila langu
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 4:09:00 PM

...najivunia kuwa Mkamba. Kuna swali la clan gani hapo pia? pia hio nitajibu. If that makes me a tribalist,so let it be... I don't give a hoot.... kubafu...
PATTIE
#2 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2009 11:14:00 PM

ehe wewe mkamba,so what?

and me a kenyan,so what?

hence,what's in a tribe?

@ngums : God always sees you hata ukifunga macho
#3 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 5:50:00 AM

Now that the D-day has come,come to think of it,what tribe will those children whose parents are from different tribes use? Am sure there are parents in this site who are in this situation. Kabila litakuwa la mama ama baba? Assuming a luhya lady married to a kiuk hence the kid's name is Vivian Nafula Njoroge? Hii tribe thing is just misleading!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
Mpenzi
#4 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 5:56:00 AM

@Wendz
Traditionally,most African communities are patriarchal so the children take the man's tribe. But nothing stops someone who objects to such patriarchy from inventing new 'tribes' eg
Lunje-Kiuk
Kale-Kao
Luo-Taita
#5 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 5:57:00 AM

A part from the tribal qusestion,what other questions will I be 'enumerated' on?

The Hague...or Local Triburnal ama TJRC.

Mpenzi
#6 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:02:00 AM

@Impunity
A census is not simply about the total number of people in the country. It attempts to collect as much data as possible in relation to the socio-economic situation in the country. So you will find such diverse questions such those dealing with levels of education atttained,kind of fuel used in the household,mobile phone and internet connectivity etc
Djinn
#7 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:11:00 AM

I think the calls for people to state that they are simply 'Kenyan' are rather naive. When they enumerate tribe,it helps track a couple of things - rural-urban migration - and then in turn they can know whether to allocate resources for certain economic activities e.g. fishing,tea growing,diary farming,etc - lets face it,there are no giriama tea plantations and neither are there masai fishermen nor are there somali cotton growers - tribes have always been associated with certain economic activities - thus when we see that in the main urban (AND cosmopolitan) areas like Nairobi and Mombasa,there is a huge inflow from certain areas - then we know we are not putting enough money into fishing,pastoralism (veterinary services,boreholes,etc),farm inputs (coffee,tea,wheat growing areas,etc). So lets cut the bulls*** and state our tribes and forget those empty drums advocating for being simply 'Kenyan'. Question: How will it benefit politician X to know that there are 124,564 members of tribe Y in Mombasa? If they want to do them harm,how will they find all those people? Will they criss cross miritini,ganjoni,nyali,bamburi,etc until they find each one?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Fundaah
#8 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:14:00 AM

may be they want accurate data of the above chart .......but it may not be relevant to me.....

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Litro
#9 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:45:00 AM

Personally i dont have a problem stating my tribe. Likewise i dont expect any person of sound mind to have a problem with this question either.

If you dont state your tribe what will change....you will still be from that same tribe 10,20,30....years down the line. They are at it again (activists,foreigners,wannabe middle incomers et al) trying to dissuade us against answering this question. Futher more you will still state your name and from that name one can still extract your tribe,E.g Rosemary Nafula Kitur- Kalenjin (Fathers tribe),Sospeter Nyambane Omondi- Luo (Fathers tribe as well). Kwani what do you think data compilation will be all about after the enumeration??
#10 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:50:00 AM

i am a kikuyu...sioni how this will change if i call myself a kenyan?
#11 Posted : Monday, August 24, 2009 6:55:00 AM

Me thinks people exaggerate the tribe issue. I will answer it very proudly,in fact. Am a very proud embracer of our cultural diversity and the more the tribes we have in Kenya,the merrier.

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..