wazua Sun, Feb 23, 2025

Kikuyus in Congo? Gorillas in the mist
ali
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 10:19:06 AM

The movie was shot in the Congo forests, lake kivu area i believe.
But what puzzles me is the Okuyo speaking blacks in the movie. There's a scene where everythng said is in Gíkúyú language.
Which leaves me wondering why use a language thats so far from the scene?
Why not use like kinyarwanda which is spoken around the kivu? Or kibatoro in Uganda?
Eg 'úyú ní mùrogi (she's a witch.)
'ìra mùtumia úyù aturie ndu' (tell this woman to kneel down)
nií ndî múndú mùgo (i'm a medicine man)
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 11:25:16 AM

ali wrote:
The movie was shot in the Congo forests, lake kivu area i believe.
But what puzzles me is the Okuyo speaking blacks in the movie. There's a scene where everythng said is in Gíkúyú language.
Which leaves me wondering why use a language thats so far from the scene?
Why not use like kinyarwanda which is spoken around the kivu? Or kibatoro in Uganda?
Eg 'úyú ní mùrogi (she's a witch.)
'ìra mùtumia úyù aturie ndu' (tell this woman to kneel down)
nií ndî múndú mùgo (i'm a medicine man)

These are third generation. Run away during colonial rule. Own shops and grow maize in eastern DRC and western Uganda
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 11:46:55 AM

heheheheh this is just too funny! in congo forest? If I met a kyuk there I would laugh my heart off. How do they look like now?? gosh
I know hata amazon we have one or two.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 11:58:09 AM

they are remnants of bantu migration.
ali
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 12:33:06 PM

Come to think of it, the place is beautiful and if i have relatives there, i wont mind having a plot of forest.
Insurgent
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 12:52:02 PM

ali wrote:
Come to think of it, the place is beautiful and if i have relatives there, i wont mind having a plot of forest.

Hutus are bantus and speak a language the Kikuyu are able to understand.

"One man gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty. A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed." Rev Canon Karanja.

#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 1:00:40 PM

heheheheh this is just too funny! in congo forest? If I met a kyuk there I would laugh my heart off. How do they look like now?? gosh

No need to laugh....You might have read John Kiriamiti's "My life in crime".In the 70s when John was on the run from the law,he travelled to some remote town in Zaire (DRC) and as he begged for food and shelter,he encountered a Kikuyu businessman running a kiosk......and well,sometimes in August of "96,we were window shopping with a friend in Yaounde.We entered a shop and started conversing in Ki-slope.As we turned to leave,the lady at the counter asked,"Kai mukuendaga ati"....we froze
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 1:04:11 PM

@essyk,
You wouldn't mind to know that in Western UG (Mbarara).There is a community of Slopians who settled here in 60s and are serious maize farmers.One of the richest family in this community happens to be from Ting'ang'a and are very close relatives of minister Kimunya.
Kaka M
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 1:18:21 PM

Recently in Tz I said hi to guys whom I heard speaking kyuk n was busy telling em I come from Kenya also turned out they are from Burundi but even the times they travel to Kenya they are able to understand some local bantu languages.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 1:29:37 PM

.One of the richest family in this community happens to be from Ting'ang'a and are very close relatives of minister Kimunya.

We entered a shop and started conversing in Ki-slope.As we turned to leave,the lady at the counter asked,"Kai mukuendaga ati"....we froze

I see now.Those in congo are descendants of Kiriamiti! while smbody else sowed wild oats in Uganda looong ago.LOL @ Tinganga!!
from tingaga to mbarara??

That's shocking esp the case of that lady shopkeeper!!

#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 1:33:53 PM

[quote=essyk]

I see now. Those in congo are descendants of Kiriamiti! and smbody else sowed wild oats in Uganda looong ago.

That's shocking esp the case of that lady shopkeeper!!

And there is nowhere we are told the shopkeeper and his wife came backsmile
ali
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 2:39:04 PM

I do know hutus, luhyas, bagandas, they are all bantus. Infact if u go to Rwanda, many places have kikuyu like names. However, there's language variances. The morphemes could resemble but still, the languages are different.
Thiong'o
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 3:31:19 PM

KAZI NI KAZI.... WIRAWIRA*

Kibaki said "Wewe fanya kazi, na kazi ndio hio, na hio ndio iko.Kwani utafanya ingine gani?.Kiuks have given it a serious thought. Many Kenyans have been traveling abroad to seek green pastures. Many are nurses who eventually take their husbands with them.

Unfortunately, these men can't find decent jobs and find themselves doing the rat race or funny jobs just to make ends meet.

So one of them finds a job as a zoo attendant. But as there are not many wild animals in UK zoos, the institution decides to hire people and have them pretend to be zoo animals - dressed in real animal skins so as to keep zoo attendance figures up.

One Kiuk happily takes up one of the jobs dresses up in a monkey skin doing all sorts of acrobatics swinging from tree to tree.
As he is busy entertaining people, he accidentally falls in a lions den. The lion roars so loudly that the "Monkey" shouts “WUUI NGAI, NINDAKUA UMUTHI !!!!!!!!” Then the lion approaches the ALMOST DEAD "monkey" and says "*Ni kii wee uroiga mbu ta mwana?"* tiga wana meni ! turute wira.

For the resident the event on that day ticket sales almost doubled!! bcoz people thought it waz a unique thing to see a monkey chat with a lion. Yet till now, nobody knew that those animals were well and truly HOME BOYS! YAANI MA-MEN !! ( *andu-a-nyumba*)

C&P -The fast & furious Posted: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:05:23 PM
vin
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 3:46:52 PM

This what i have relly missed for some days.A good laugh.

KAZI NI KAZI.... WIRAWIRA*

Kibaki said "Wewe fanya kazi, na kazi ndio hio, na hio ndio iko.Kwani utafanya ingine gani?.Kiuks have given it a serious thought. Many Kenyans have been traveling abroad to seek green pastures. Many are nurses who eventually take their husbands with them.

Unfortunately, these men can't find decent jobs and find themselves doing the rat race or funny jobs just to make ends meet.

So one of them finds a job as a zoo attendant. But as there are not many wild animals in UK zoos, the institution decides to hire people and have them pretend to be zoo animals - dressed in real animal skins so as to keep zoo attendance figures up.

One Kiuk happily takes up one of the jobs dresses up in a monkey skin doing all sorts of acrobatics swinging from tree to tree.
As he is busy entertaining people, he accidentally falls in a lions den. The lion roars so loudly that the "Monkey" shouts “WUUI NGAI, NINDAKUA UMUTHI !!!!!!!!” Then the lion approaches the ALMOST DEAD "monkey" and says "*Ni kii wee uroiga mbu ta mwana?"* tiga wana meni ! turute wira.

For the resident the event on that day ticket sales almost doubled!! bcoz people thought it waz a unique thing to see a monkey chat with a lion. Yet till now, nobody knew that those animals were well and truly HOME BOYS! YAANI MA-MEN !! ( *andu-a-nyumba*)

C&P -The fast & furious Posted: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:05:23 PM
[/quote]
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 6:26:21 PM

OMG !!!!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I AM DEAD!! LOL. LMAO!! I CAN LITERALLY VISUALISE THE SCENE!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
You made my day!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 7:56:35 PM

Is this not Kislopes? Well it is Kirundi but I can understand most of what the kid says especially the counting:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bX8gS0eXHU
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 9:57:45 PM

@njunge, so its true that Kimunya family is from Tinganga? Had heard of it but assumed ni stori tu
eduu
#18 Posted : Tuesday, February 28, 2012 11:02:03 PM

pariah
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 4:19:19 AM

Is this not Kislopes? Well it is Kirundi but I can understand most of what the kid says especially the counting:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly good evening fine f*** you Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause Applause did i hear that right
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 29, 2012 9:59:14 AM

lmao.