Last week results

Issue Number Auction Date Average Interest Rate
2143/091 13th January, 2016 11.398
2124/182 14th January, 2016 13.164
2050/364 14th January, 2016 13.803
#102 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:43:07 AM

Results for 2 year and 10 year auction:

2yr coupon @ 15.760% (+98bps). Market avg. @ 16.181% (+79bps). Subs 74%. Bids 30.4b. Acceptd 20.2b. Bid rejection rate for 2yr & 10yr at 27% & 18% respectively. 10yr yield @ 16.132% (+325bps). Market avg. @ 16.585% (+355bps). Subs 34%. Bids 5.9b. Acceptd 4.0b.

Out of 35B they need the government just raised 24.2B...kuna shida kubwa sana.
Spikes
#103 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:01:51 AM

2yr coupon @ 15.760% (+98bps). Market avg. @ 16.181% (+79bps). Subs 74%. Bids 30.4b. Acceptd 20.2b. Bid rejection rate for 2yr & 10yr at 27% & 18% respectively. 10yr yield @ 16.132% (+325bps). Market avg. @ 16.585% (+355bps). Subs 34%. Bids 5.9b. Acceptd 4.0b.

Hakuna shida only the rates are not attractive vis-a-vis other investment options.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#104 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:08:49 AM

Spikes wrote:

Hakuna shida only the rates are not attractive vis-a-vis other investment options.

this rates are attractive its only that investors know how hungry the govt is and the limited options it has other than giving in to higher rates
#105 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 12:24:58 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Spikes wrote:

this rates are attractive its only that investors know how hungry the govt is and the limited options it has other than giving in to higher rates

You pay 83.33 for every 100...13.36% net return...not bad at all.
#106 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 9:14:30 AM

https://www.centralbank....16/2126-1822052-364.pdf

Results for the 182 and 364...
PeterReborn
#107 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 9:40:50 AM

https://www.centralbank.go.ke/images/docs/tbillsresults/2016/2126-1822052-364.pdf

Applause Applause We are headed to 15%
Consistency is better than intensity
#108 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 9:43:49 AM

PeterReborn wrote:
https://www.centralbank.go.ke/images/docs/tbillsresults/2016/2126-1822052-364.pdf

Past 15%...look at the 364 day they only took 1.475B they are missing collection targets...
hisah
#109 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 4:17:34 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Past 15%...look at the 364 day they only took 1.475B they are missing collection targets...

Still undersubscribed episodes continue on the long end since investors snubbed the 2yr tax free bond in Dec 2015. Gravitating towards the bidless blackhole...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#110 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 5:16:51 PM

hisah wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

Still undersubscribed episodes continue on the long end since investors snubbed the 2yr tax free bond in Dec 2015. Gravitating towards the bidless blackhole...

I think we are just postponing the inevitable...for the 1.2016.2 and 1.13.10 reopen gava missed collection by around 11B for the tbills 91,182 and 364 issued this Jan another 5B + so where will they get 16B from to plug this deficit....?rates will have to go high when they are forced to take higher bids in auctions in subsequent months or do another eurobond or was it a Surkuk bond...Samurai bond maybe...
lochaz-index
#111 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 7:34:03 PM

hisah wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

I think we are just postponing the inevitable...for the 1.2016.2 and 1.13.10 reopen gava missed collection by around 11B for the tbills 91,182 and 364 issued this Jan another 5B + so where will they get 16B from to plug this deficit....?rates will have to go high when they are forced to take higher bids in auctions in subsequent months or do another eurobond or was it a Surkuk bond...Samurai bond maybe...

Both treasury and its fiscal agent are in cahoots trying to hoodwink the market with cheap talk of a sukuk bond and a tranquil money market. The sooner they give up this pretence the sooner sh*t hits the fan. Mr market could see this payday coming from a mile away... No way we are dodging it.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#112 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2016 7:17:00 AM

lochaz-index wrote:
hisah wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

Both treasury and its fiscal agent are in cahoots trying to hoodwink the market with cheap talk of a sukuk bond and a tranquil money market. The sooner they give up this pretence the sooner sh*t hits the fan. Mr market could see this payday coming from a mile away... No way we are dodging it.

Man Dr.Njoroge has played this well....Look at 1.2015.5 and 1.2012.10 results below...

https://www.centralbank....-2015-5fxd1-2012-10.pdf

Most guys have missed by a country mile...too much liquidity with maturing bonds...
Will the money find its way to the equities side and cause a probable rally?
#113 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2016 3:25:24 PM

kasibitta wrote:
hisah wrote:
This month the Central Bank of Kenya offered a 9-year Treasury Bond for a total amount of up to Kshs 30 Billion. The total number of bids received
was 719 amounting to Kshs 16.575 Billion. The weighted average rate for successful bids was 14.952%.

IFB 9...undersubscribed big time.

https://www.centralbank....s/9mortizedIFB1Bond.pdf

Tax free and undersubscribed!?

do we say lack of confidence? or people want better rates?...

Teach me teacher:

Coupon rate and Redemption yield ndio nini tofauti?

#114 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2016 1:39:11 PM

https://www.centralbank..../treasury-bond-on-offer

@Impunity IFB 10.
#115 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2016 1:49:27 PM

https://www.centralbank.go.ke/index.php/treasury-bond-on-offer

@Impunity IFB 10.

Thanks @maka.
IFB is tax free...wacha nijifiche huko kidogo as I wait for KQ shares (and others) to hit sub 2 bob.

The Great
#116 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2016 2:08:35 PM

@Impunity IFB 10.

Thanks @maka.
IFB is tax free...wacha nijifiche huko kidogo as I wait for KQ shares (and others) to hit sub 2 bob.

Jifiche Real estate. U remember the inverse relationship between property and equity markets!
"Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own."
#117 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2016 2:54:26 PM

The Great wrote:

@Impunity IFB 10.

Thanks @maka.

Jifiche Real estate. U remember the inverse relationship between property and equity markets!

Real estate niko ndani, just waiting to cash out at opportune time.

Hii pesa nataka ficha kwa IFB ni ile nilitoka naye huko equity market.

KQ ikifika sub 2 bob then I will head back to equity again.

Ebenyo
#118 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 8:24:09 AM

Do treasury bills and bonds attract witholding tax ?
if i invest kshs 50000 treasury bond at 12% interest rate,what will be the net return? are there any hidden deductions and charges? if i invest kshs 100000 at treasury bill for three months what will be my net return?
Towards the goal of financial freedom
Speculz
#119 Posted : Sunday, May 15, 2016 9:39:07 AM

Ebenyo wrote:
Do treasury bills and bonds attract witholding tax ?
if i invest kshs 50000 treasury bond at 12% interest rate,what will be the net return? are there any hidden deductions and charges? if i invest kshs 100000 at treasury bill for three months what will be my net return?

This could be of help... https://www.centralbank....ke/index.php/calculator

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
chikonde
#120 Posted : Monday, May 16, 2016 3:10:27 PM

Death and taxes, death and taxes the only guarantees in life.