wazua Thu, Mar 28, 2024

86 Pages«<5657585960>»
Treasury Bills and Bonds
MatataMingi
#1141 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2019 3:47:43 PM

Hi Maka and others.
We eventually have a 2 year Bond - my favorite.
The Yield Curve suggests a coupon of 10.75%
Any up or downside on this in your opinion ?
Thanks
#1142 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:12:24 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
Hi Maka and others.
Thanks

Why buy this bond yet 1 year t-bill is just about this price & when compounded would surpass this return.
#1143 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 2:10:43 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
Hi Maka and others.
Thanks

Why buy this bond yet 1 year t-bill is just about this price & when compounded would surpass this return.

If the 2 year comes at that implied yield of 10.75%
it will be better than reinvesting the 364 day at current rates of 9.58% by around 15k.....
Beler
#1144 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 3:21:02 PM

Thank you for sharing this. I don't worry about inlflation too. I will manage my risk-reward ratio and see how the price movement on the market how they improve or not.
MatataMingi
#1145 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 4:55:51 PM

Thanks @ Angelica_ann & Maka, for your input.
My BIGGEST problem if the inefficiency of CBK.
I have been investing in Bonds since 1975.
I was living in Nairobi and my office was very close to CBK.
However, I retired in 2005.
To get out of the hassle of living in Nairobi, with no job, I moved the the North Coast near Kilifi.
Therefore, every time, I need to rollover a maturing Bond/ Bill, or buy a new one, I need to travel all the way to Mombasa CBD, about 60Kms. The Mombasa CBD is worse than Nairobi in terms of traffic and general drivers - with hundreds of Boda Bodas and Tuk Tuks.
Therefore I prefer bonds - specially 2 years.
The reason? I am 71 years old, and will only invest in short term Bonds.
My questions:
- Why can't CBK make it easier for regular investors to put their bids online.
- Why can't I have have online access to my account. I currently have about 15 Bonds & Bills.
- I can't even request a statement online or by phone. I have to fill a form and deliver it to CBK.

I can do ALL the above and more online on my SCB & I & M accounts.

Rant over.
#1146 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 5:25:50 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
To get out of the hassle of living in Nairobi, with no job, I moved the the North Coast near Kilifi.
Therefore, every time, I need to rollover a maturing Bond/ Bill, or buy a new one, I need to travel all the way to Mombasa CBD, about 60Kms. The Mombasa CBD is worse than Nairobi in terms of traffic and general drivers - with hundreds of Boda Bodas and Tuk Tuks.
My questions:
- Why can't I have have online access to my account. I currently have about 15 Bonds & Bills.
- I can't even request a statement online or by phone. I have to fill a form and deliver it to CBK.

Rant over.

Great, encouraging to the 'younger' folks #bills/bonds!!!
Taurrus
#1147 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 4:25:58 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

Very sad indeed, am based Dubai and my last two T-bills Rollover didn't go through even after indicating am applying from Dubai. Reason I think cause CBK doesn't have a dedicated counter/person/email for diaspora applications. It all depends on the good will of the person reading your mail first from that group email.
#1148 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 6:21:14 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

Wah...those are 43 years of bills & bonds trading...haya ni matata mingi kweli.
I bet you worth some 300 Miao in liquidity by now.

@angelica-Ann shika kamata.

Ebenyo
#1149 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 6:53:34 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

This is a challenge to all of us who live far from cbk offices.I have experienced the same.
What I did for my case recently,was to plead with the first guy who picked my call.After explaining my long distance,he sent me the bond application form by email.I then downloaded it filled it and scanned it back to him.I was glad it went through.I recently received my statement and saw the bond I purchased.
To make sure that I will need him again in future,I took his private mobile number.Alafu nikamtumia kabamba kwa mpesa ya kusema hasante ndio siku ingine asinilenge nikimhitaji.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Towards the goal of financial freedom
rwitre
#1150 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 7:11:01 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

This is a challenge to all of us who live far from cbk offices.I have experienced the same.
What I did for my case recently,was to plead with the first guy who picked my call.After explaining my long distance,he sent me the bond application form by email.I then downloaded it filled it and scanned it back to him.I was glad it went through.I recently received my statement and saw the bond I purchased.
To make sure that I will need him again in future,I took his private mobile number.Alafu nikamtumia kabamba kwa mpesa ya kusema hasante ndio siku ingine asinilenge nikimhitaji.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Surviving in 254
mv_ufanisi
#1151 Posted : Saturday, January 19, 2019 10:13:37 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

You can get CBK statements by requesting them from r&rm@centralbank.go.ke
#1152 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 10:20:48 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

Yep highest ever....
jmbada
#1153 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 10:23:35 AM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

Yep highest ever....

First repurcussion of IFRS9......gava paper attracts the lowest capital charge. Hence is the best rated borrower in any regulatory regime.
#1154 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 2:54:45 PM

jmbada wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

Yep highest ever....

First repurcussion of IFRS9......gava paper attracts the lowest capital charge. Hence is the best rated borrower in any regulatory regime.

The liquidity level is very high. are this banks/financial institutions or fund managers/pension funds?
#1155 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 3:02:55 PM

jmbada wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

Yep highest ever....

The liquidity level is very high. are this banks/financial institutions or fund managers/pension funds?

Banks on the 2 year... FMs on the 15 year... Sasa kama wamenyima watu pesa...Businesses are failing left right and centre....
MugundaMan
#1156 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 3:10:38 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
My questions:

Rant over.

Mumbradhee,

The billion shilling questions are;

1. Do your envelopes containing your statements and or withholding certificates sometime have shoeprints on them?
2. Are unanswered phonecalls a staple for you at CBK?
3. Does dealing with CBK seem like wrestling a stone age Tyrannosaurus?

If your answer is yep yep yep to any or all, then please stand in line with the rest of us in the CBK complaint queue where NOTHING about the above has been resolved over the past 20 years!

The only thing CBK does well is deposit payments in account pap on time on the dot every single time. Hakuna kengine.
Chaka
#1157 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 3:59:17 PM

What if one is physically challenged or otherwise or even walking/standing is an issue due to for e,g arthritis ?

MugundaMan wrote:

If your answer is yep yep yep to any or all, then please stand in line with the rest of us in the CBK complaint queue where NOTHING about the above has been resolved over the past 20 years!

The only thing CBK does well is deposit payments in account pap on time on the dot every single time. Hakuna kengine.

#1158 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 4:39:03 PM

Chaka wrote:
What if one is physically challenged or otherwise or even walking/standing is an issue due to for e,g arthritis ?

MugundaMan wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Yawa @Chaka please re-read bwana @mugandama's statement to understand.
Chaka
#1159 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 5:02:45 PM

Pardon me ..I have not been to CBK in a while..I though @MM was speaking literary i,e that there is a complaints counter at CBK...my bad Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Chaka wrote:

MugundaMan wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Yawa @Chaka please re-read bwana @mugandama's statement to understand.

MugundaMan
#1160 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 5:26:33 PM

Chaka wrote:

Then all we can say is Lo siento, yaaani Förlåt, yaaani pole, yaaani shorry, yaaaani sinto muito, yaaani , yaani maaf, yaaani мне жаль, yaaani أنا آسِف